We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside Inn with Some Charm”
Review of El Rey Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Court
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 February 2009

After reading an article in the NY Times about visiting Santa Fe in the winter that had a recommendation for the El Rey Inn, my wife and I decided to try it. We were able to stay for three nights in a deluxe size room with a king size bed and working (real wood) fireplace for an internet special rate of $114 per night (taxes included). This was a discount of 25% from their normal rate.

The ERI is located just a few miles from the downtown plaza and can easily be reached within ten minutes. The drive up from ABQ airport took a little over an hour. At first we were uncertain of our hotel choice when we saw it located on a very busy street with just about every type of business imaginable between the I-25 exit for Cerrillos Road and the ERI. In fact, the ERI is located across the street from a used car lot, gas station, and a Teriyaki Bowl restaurant. Fortunately, the property extends far enough away from the street so that the tranffic noise was never a problem.

Our room (#23) was roomy and clean. It had two separate wash basins (one in and one outside the bathroom) made things convenient. The fireplace was easy to use and the wood was well stocked. One quirky thing about this room was that there is no light switch by the door when you come in. We had to fumble our way to the lamp on the desk a few steps away upon entering the room. Also, one annoying thing we had to contend with on our last night was a smoke alarm low battery signal coming from the next room. It beeped every 30 seconds or so. Perhaps because we visited in the off-season, the maintenance people don’t get around to each room as often as they should.

The front desk and servers for the complimentary breakfast were friendly without being too chummy or intrusive. We liked that. The breakfast was nothing special, cereal, toast, yogurt, boiled eggs, salsa, and cheese. Also available on request were tortillas and fresh fruit. To drink, coffee, tea, juice, and milk were available. I also used the free computer in the sitting room to check the weather on the internet each morning. It ran kind of slow but did the job.

Overall, it was a nice experience. We especially enjoyed having the fireplace in the room. Also, we appreciated the reasonable prices of water ($1 for a 500 ml. bottle) and soft drinks ($0.75 for a 12 oz. can) from the vending machine.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ka7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2009

We went to Santa Fe for a long anniversary weekend. We picked the El Rey Inn because of its Route 66 history. What a great choice! Our room was a King Deluxe, with a small sitting area and kiva fireplace, as well as a fridge and microwave. The fire was laid for us every day, and the wood replenished. It was perfect for a January stay! The bed was reasonably comfortable (a little too firm for me, but just right for my husband). The bathroom is tiny, but the sink is in a separate area from the tub and toilet, so it's workable. We were in the back area of the Inn, so no traffic noise. We tried both spas. The indoor is okay, but the outdoor is much better. It's located in a small enclosed courtyard, and has a gas fireplace. We only had breakfast once, because we were always still full from those terrific Santa Fe restaurants, but enjoyed the one time we went. They had English muffins, toast, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and juice.
We may just make this an annual trip, because we so enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sijid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We go to Santa Fe 2 to 3 times a year and the El Rey is like going home. The staff is very accommodating and friendly and attend to any of our needs promptly. The rooms range from Santa Fe quaint to modern luxury and are priced accordingly. Some rooms have fire places which make winter visits cozy and warm.The landscaping is beautiful and relaxing in the warm months. The breakfast is more than adequate with an ample variety and a sweet staff. The lobby, rooms and architecture have a very nostalgic look of Southwest motor court days and it would be easy to spend entire days relaxing in the gardens listening to the water fall in the fountains. The pool is great and is constantly being upgraded with pool furniture etc. Cerrillos Road is busy but drops off to little traffic about 9:00 at night. Most nights in the summer there is little need for air conditioning if one opens a window. Security is good at El Rey and we have always felt safe in our stays. They have also installed wireless computer routers on the property. We have always enjoyed El Rey and have reservations for this year again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank norteant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

First time stop in Santa Fe in frequent trips between Denver and Scottsdale, so decided to try something out of the ordinary and other than Albuquerque. Room was small but perfect for an age 60+ couple. Not fancy furnishings, but again with touches that harkened back to the day when these places were know as motor hotels. Exterior retains the look of the mid-1930's. Altho along a busy street, our room was in the rear and far removed from the roadside noise. Manager was very helpful, directing us to places to eat and sights to see. Since it was Jan, pool was closed. However, the spa was hot, clean and refreshing. Not particularly cheap, but a good price for a look at what an overnight travel stop along US Route 66 was before the Interstate system.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikesuefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We had a most wonderful weekend in Santa Fe. The snow was fantastic and we got in some great ski days. Was also a chance for us to stay at our favorite hotel the El Rey. We have made similar visits to the El Rey the last 15 years and it never ceases to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BenNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I have stayed at the El Rey twice. Once 7 years ago and then recently on a ski trip. It has not changed. It is an old motel (1930s) that has been lovingly cared for and updated over the years. Each room is different and has its own charm. The staff is wonderful. All the bedding and linens were super clean and of nice quality. The first time we stayed in the 2 bedrom apartment that has a full kitchen. This time we stayed in the king deluxe (#47). It was perfect for my self and 2 kids. If you like new and modern hotels, this is not for you. If you want a good experience, try the El Rey.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mlbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights over the XMAS holiday, as recommended by Fodor's. I checked the room first and liked the look of it and took it for $108/night (they immediately applied the AAA discount without asking for proof), which seemed reasonable considering the season.
After a day the room's idiosyncrasies became clear. It had a tall drop-down desk which doubled as a TV stand. However, it was unusable as a desk because when sitting in the chair I had to raise my elbows too high to comfortably (and ergonomically) use my computer or write. At 5'10", my own height was not the issue. And sitting on the top, the TV was abnormally high, around 5'. The room had no table for eating (except that desk), though there was a small fridge. There was a plastic table & chairs on the balcony, which of course I could not use in December. The room also had poor lighting. All the bulbs were dim with the exceptions of the shower/toilet portion of the bathroom and the reading lights in the ceiling directly over the bed, which were very bright. Trying to shave using the sink was difficult, and none of the other mirrors had decent supporting light (bring a flashlight for makeup, ladies). And the walls were thin - I could hear voices from the adjacent room, and they were not shouting.

That said, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast area and food were nice. The hotel is located on the main commercial drag just a few miles from the Plaza, too far to walk but not a long drive. While my overall experience was mixed, I would definitely check around before staying here again. Some sensible furnishings and stronger light bulbs would sure go a long way.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NoVaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.7 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
959 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Court

Address: 1862 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Rey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
El Rey Inn
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Court Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing