We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice decor and a good restaurant, but a bit pretentious.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice decor and a good restaurant, but a bit pretentious.”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Although the lobby was very dark, the art and decor were nice and the restaurant fix price menu in the restaurant was great value. We were initially put off by the pretentiousness of the butler service as it seemed that we needed to use this service, and tip, for anything we needed to ask about (e.g., no change of water glasses, no coffee next day, etc.) However, overall the staff members were friendly and helpful (although nothing but the art was Native American). We were disappointed to find that the flute and guitar entertainment in the lobby was only on Friday and Sat. evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Sadly most of our Native American Associates have long since departed to work at their casinos, which the respective pueblos have built over the past 12+ years!! We would never want to be presumed pretentious, but only helpful, friendly and sincere - so I am sorry to learn you were given the wrong impression! We love all (nearly!!) our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    397
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
305
717
81
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here at last minute on a trip back to California from Dallas. Booked this hotel on Hotwire, it was billed as a 4 star and it really was not. The room was small but very comfortable, the bed outstanding.
If our room was any indication they all could use some painting and the carpet was dirty. The same holds true for the common area. If they did this I would certainly give it a higher rating. The shuttle to the plaza area was great since the hotel is about a mile from the plaza. It did make it easy to explore without trying to find a parking place. The fitness center is very nice, did not use the spa. At the right price this is a nice property. I would probably check out the hotels closer to the plaza on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawksurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I really liked parking my car and enjoying the hotels shuttles back and forth to town center. Nice pool. Hotel staff nice and friendly and helpful. My only comment was to add a safe and enlarge mirror for we ladies.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite, with balcony, and we loved our room. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are well furnished and very comfortable, and the location is ideal. The hotel is about a five minute walk to historic downtown Santa Fe and very close to Railtown. Check in and check out was seamless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasedinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words and I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights for our 19th anniversery. I was suprised at the lack of detail and the value of the room vs what we paid for it. They do not have full room servie. No carts so you can enjoy your food at a table and no menu in the room. Room out of date no flat screen T.V.'s, no coffee makers, and the bathroom is something I would expect to see at a exprss or budget hotel. The ice machine was broken on our floor. The room service trys were not taken out of the hall the entire day. The towels were clean but had old stains on them the sheets on the bed were worn and should have been replaced. We stayed in the Jr. Suite and paid over $800.00 for the room and a couple of extras and I feel like we could have done much better. It was like staying at a 3 star and paying 4-5 star pricing.

Room Tip: Not a good value for what they are charging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
I am obviously disappointed to learn of your unhappiness with your stay as we constantly strive to provide the best service and environment possible. The TVs are gradually being replaced, but you can imagine the cost of replacing 300 of them all at once!! The trays left in the hallways is certainly unacceptable and thank you for bringing that to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Not knowing anything about the Santa Fe area, we decided to choose the only Native American owned hotel in Santa Fe for the true Santa Fe experience. We were not sorry. The hotel and staff were truly a Santa Fe experience with local color and flavor. The restuarant was also first class with foods that reflect the heritage and local cuisine. Staff and room service was also first class with the concierge service truly helpful. Finally, the location was within walking distance to the market place and many of the wonderful eating areas. A winner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you so very much for your kind remarks. Please come back soon. You are obviously “a winner” too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our home in Santa Fe for our 3-night long weekend was the Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda, about a 15 minute walk from the Plaza. We booked it online knowing very little about it other than it claims to be the only Native American-owned hotel in the city and it was one of the few places within walking distance of the Plaza that still had rooms available for under $200/night. Good enough for us. My husband and I really lucked out because we booked a regular king bedroom for $169/night but they upgraded us to a jr. suite (a $265/night value), so we had an additional living area with a pull-out sofa, desk/table, wet bar area, and television. It's a large hotel, at least to us--we mostly stay in smaller inns or B&Bs when we travel--but it doesn't have that impersonal feel I associate with other hotels of similar size. And may I just say here that I LOVE that it doesn't go over the top with Southwestern kitsch? It's mostly understated Southwestern elegance in the public spaces and in our room, and I love the many sculptures and local art featured all around the property. My one other trip to Santa Fe I stayed in a B&B that was dripping with southwest knickknacks, albeit expensive-looking ones, so this was a refreshing change. All of the staff members we encountered were extremely pleasant, as was the property in general. All other things being equal, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,123 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,507 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,519 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
565 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing