We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I spent the night here on my honeymoon. We were doing a road trip from Dallas and the hotel caught our attention based on good reviews. We really were hoping to avoid chain hotels and stay places that felt unique to the area. I am so happy we decided to stay here. The customer service was top notch: Gabe checked us in and was very nice and helpful. He provided us with a map and information on things to see and do. We stayed in a junior suite and it was perfect for us. We had a little balcony overlooking the courtyard and a cozy living room. I also was glad to see it had a nice desk where I could complete an assignment at. The decor was interesting and warm. I liked that the hotel had a few notes that emphasized being "green", but it wasn't preachy or in your face. Soaps smelled great! Even though it was supposed to snow that night, we were able to use the outdoor pool and hot tub. Felt great after our long drive. The food at the hotel's Amaya was also fantastic and it had the intimate atmosphere I was hoping for. I had the beet salad for brunch and (no exaggeration) it was the best salad I have ever had.

Prior to coming to this hotel, my husband had always said he would never go skiing with my ski- happy family because he hates the cold. Now he says he will try skiing, but only if we stay at this hotel during the ski trips. Hearing him say this made my whole trip! We will definately be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_Lutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

So many congratulations to you both and thank you so very much for staying with us!

Your fantastic words of encouragement are so greatly received and we are also delighted to learn that your husband will now ski with “the ski-happies” - marvelous.

I am concerned to discover that you were apparently working at the desk during your honemoon, but hopefully it was brief?!

We look forward to welcoming all of our back this next winter for some fun skiing!

Again, many, many thanks.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Before traveling to Santa Fe, I had made arrangements for my cousins to stay together at a sister hotel operated as a B&B. Unknown to us (7 people,) there was a major wine-tasting/restaurant event at the same time we were to arrive. The sister hotel was overbooked. Hotel Santa Fe literally jumped through hoops to relocate all of us into their facility and made arrangements for daily breakfast coupons as well as an amazing dinner with wine in their 5-star restaurant--all because we had been inconvenienced. We were delighted with the service at Hotel Santa Fe and would return in a heartbeat!

Ann B. in Fort Worth

Room Tip: My 2nd floor room had a private veranda shaded by lovely trees on the entrance patio below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We hope your “heartbeat” will bring you back soon! Many apologies for the inconvenience you were caused at our sister hotel, but I am delighted to learn that everything worked out well!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I planned a retreat for my firm at The Hacienda and Spa. They really had a nice time. The evening reception was good. They had the Amaya dinner buffet and the Land of Enchantment breakfast which offered a nice variety of good food. We had a group of 54 people who needed to be shuttled around town to 5 different restaurants, and the shuttle service was on top of their game. Many people also took advantage of the spa, which I heard booked up quickly.
One attorney wrote, "In all seriousness, the retreat was a very enjoyable trip and just a really good weekend overall. Thanks again."
Kudos to ALL of the staff for making their stay a great one!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We thank you so very much for booking your retreat with us and are delighted to learn that everything went well. I hope that you will return if not as a group, but individually in the not too distant future!

Again, many thanks for staying with us.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We just loved staying there! We were suppose to stay at another hotel located just outside downtown and changed to Hotel Santa Fe at the last minute. We are so happy we did! The hotel was awesome, the staff is great and would recommend this hotel to anyone!!! Five Stars!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 336 and room was great. King room with a separate living room! Very enjoyable and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your “last minute” change and we are so delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I just got back from a four day stay with my 27 year old daughter. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with the warmest and most accommodating staff I have encountered anywhere. My daughter celebrated her birthday during our stay and staff made it very special by sending champaign and chocolate covered strawberries to the room. The Spa was absolutely great (although not cheap - but then you get what you pay for). We loved the restaurant and thought the food was exceptional (only chose the southwest items from the menu). If I had to come up with a criticism, it would be that the morning coffee laid out in the lobby of our third floor was not really hot - they need better insulated containers. No big deal though since everything else was great. Location good since close enough to the plaza to walk. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

And we hope you will come back soon! Apologies for the coffee not being hot enough - I will look into those thermos coffee pots and see if they can be improved upon!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here with my wife for our honeymoon and the entire trip was great. The entire hotel looks like it is made from adobe so we were able to have fun even outside just taking pictures of the place. There is a heated pool and jacuzzi and robes provided in the rooms (we had a junior suite so I am not sure if all rooms come with them), and the staff helped us get brochures and maps to see the city. We are from Dallas so there help and the free hotel shuttle service was great.

The restaurant had very good food (5 stars) and if you order the bar specials it is fairly cheap for hotel food. My wife and I ate on $30 between the two of us with alcohol included.

The only drawbacks we saw were a small shower and outdated microwave/tv in the room. Also, if you don't order specials at the restaurant it can get expensive quickly.

All together this was arguably the best hotel we have stayed at and we will be back in the future for ski trips to some of the nearby slopes.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnival_Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Booked on-line (thru Hotwire?) so got a bargain rate. Lobby is beautiful! literally warm and welcoming with a New Mexican fireplace for relaxing with a drink. Furniture and art are of a very high quality. The bathroom in my non-"concierge" level room was disappointing--water wouldn't drain from tub during shower, no fan to evacuate air. This (and most other hotels of this quality) are earnest in their desire to be "green"...then why all the extra decorative pillows that most of us never use?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

So sorry to learn that your tub was slow to drain and wish we knew the room number! There is indeed a rooftop fan in the bathroom which due to location appears to be silent/non-existent.

Very many thank fo staying with us and please call us direct next time to obtain the best rate!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,401 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,824 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £107 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing