We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Second Home”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our first stay at Hotel Santa Fe was in 1992. With the exception of a few year hiatus for the care of elderly parents, we return every year for 7-10 days during October/November. The staff are always friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and your stay a pleasant experience. When they say, "How are you today?", you feel that they are really interested. The Junior Suites are clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff obviously take pride in their work.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool provide quiet and a great sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so very much for returning and staying with us again. We are all delighted to be your “second home” and look forward to welcoming you back next October/November!

Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season!!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    400
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
309
721
81
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

From the front desk check-in throughout the stay I experienced the best that hospitality has to offer. The room was an unexpected suite with custom made details that made it a Wow! For example, a hand painted faux feature wall, rounded curves on the door frames, textured material on all upholstering and with the bedding the spoke of Santa Fe, local art. I had the Lavender Spirit treatment at the spa with Lance. Divine. Next, I met Sabine, the restaurant manager for the quaint bar and restaurant, Amaya, in the heart of the hotel. She has trained her staff to deliver care and sincerity with their service. I felt welcomed and elected to have both lunch and dinner in house because they made me welcome in their cosy and beautiful space. And the food, well it was beautifully presented and local. This group has the magic. They know how to turn it on perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TropicalParadise888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I got up early this morning to read our tripadvisor.com reviews and you have “made our day”!

Your kind, gracious and encouraging words will be circulated to all the staff at the Hotel and Spa.

Thank you, thank you, thank you so very much for staying with us! Please come back soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in The Hacienda section of the hotel. The rooms were very nice as was the service. The bed was extremely comfortable. The decor was nice and the bathroom was large and very clean. All of the staff - from the front desk to the day and night "butlers" were friendly and accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

As a side note, the Spa isn't much of anything. They offer the usual services like facials, massages, and body treatments. The Spa is very small so there wasn't much of a small other than the treatment rooms. In addition, the available hot tub which is on another floor was out of order our entire stay.

My other disappointment was the hotel's concierge. She didn't seem to have much helpful information. For example, when asking for her recommendation for where to rent a bicycle, she said she would look for that information online. Since I too had the Google available, I could do the same. She also sent us out to the Taos Pueblo (an hour drive) on a day that the Pueblo was closed to the public. I would think she would know about this or check before she recommend we visit.

Back to the positive - I found the restaurant Amaya's food, atmosphere, price and service to be very good. My family chose to have dinner there twice during our stay. Given how many good restaurants Santa Fe has, this is a compliment to Amaya.

I highly recommend this hotel and have already told some friends about it.

Room Tip: Stay in The Hacienda section if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so very much for recommending us to your friends.

I do apologize for the shortcomings of our concierge and we certainly should have know/done better! But thank you at t eh same time for bringing this to my attention.

We will commence renovating/construction of the Spa deck this winter and apologies for the hot tub being out of order, but hopefully you were directed to our other hot tub adjacent to the pool.

Many thanks for staying with us.

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTTSDALE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a getaway weekend in November, and while the setting was quaint, and the employees were friendly - I was disappointed in the accommodations and overall condition of the hotel. The first night I was kept awake half the night by the people upstairs walking around, and by sounds drifting in through the corridors. The water pressure in the shower was less than adequate, making it difficult to rinse the soap and shampoo. The free shuttle service was a great feature and sure made it easy to visit the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
I am distressed to learn of your shower problem as we always almost have “too much pressure” - very strange, but I hope you brought this to our attention so it was fixed? (Room #?)

Please give us another chance to take care of you as all of our guests are so very important to us! Apologies for the overhead “clompers” which can certainly be rectified if brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Santa Fe is a fine hotel in a great location, only minutes away from the Plaza. You can walk or take a shuttle bus over at certain points throughout the day.

Points for the hotel include a nice staff, a wonderful lobby with interesting art and a surprisingly great restaurant.

I used HotWire and got a great rate, my room was very nice, if a bit small for what I would've been used too. Had I paid a normal rate I think the room would have been a little disappointing but for the HotWire rate it was well worth it. Also, they need better pillows.

Overall though, a nice hotel worth your consideration.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Reason88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We can change out pillows anytime upon request - as we have different types available!

Many thanks for staying with us and perhaps upgrade to a suite next time if you need more space.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of friends who had just returned from a stay here. Excellent customer service started when I made the phone reservation and got information from Donna, the concierge. Everybody at the hotel was friendly and professional. The public areas were comfortable and welcoming. Used free hotel shuttle. Our room was very clean and furniture was comfortable.

Room Tip: The basic room is very small. Upgrade to at least a small suite. Our room on the 2nd floor was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013wanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Many thanks for staying with us and your kind words will be specifically passed on to Donna, our Concierge. Please thank your friends from us all for recommending you stay with us!! And yes, please stay in a Junior Suite next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Haceinda for my birthday weekend. Everything from the butler service, the special birthday treats, the breakfast buffet, the cocktail hour, the drivers, to the beautiful room and confortable bed was fantastic. The hotel was convenient to walk to the plaza and Canyon Road (although the sidewalks in Santa Fe aren't great). We walked most places during the day and used the drivers at night. A car always showed up within just a few minutes following a call. We had lunch at the Hotel restaurant one day and it was very good. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pghgirlsthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We think you are “fantastic” too for writing such a kind and encouraging review.

We also can’t wit for your return! Happy Birthday to You!!

ka - thã wia - Happy Birthday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing