We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday to the USA”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family holiday to the USA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just ok. Room good and clean as expected. No excesive noise from outside or other guests. Courtesy cab good. Lobby and bar area far too small for hotel. Would have liked to have met with other guests but never a spare seat. Restaurant food only average. Reception area far too small for size of hotel. Top end of market but nothing exceptional. Not the best hotel we have stayed in on this trip but the most expensive. From overseas so unlikely to visit Sante Fe again any time soon but if we did would consider other options first.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main roads and rail area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are indeed a smaller boutique-type hotel and our outdoor space provides greater flexibility most months of the year, although I acknowledge that over the Christmas/New Year holidays, our fireside/lobby space can be a little congested. Indeed, we are adding on to our patio space this Spring to allow greater indoor activity and space.

Wishing you safe travels and hopefully you enjoyed the City of Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    397
    147
    52
    26
See reviews for
305
717
81
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Fe over Xmas and were bowled over by the gracious kindness of the staff. We had the King Deluxe Suite. It was big enough for me, the husband and our teenage daughter plus all of our cold weather gear (there was a lot of it). The sofa bed mattress was nice and fluffy and the king bed was really roomy. The room itself was clean and tidy. All of the amenities of the room are there - the honor bar, toiletries, etc. The hotel charges a fee of $18 for other goodies - coffee and tea in the morning, newspaper, shuttle into town and other places, sunrise yoga and more. A portion of the fee goes to supporting the arts in Santa Fe. Pricey, yes, but worth it if you want gracious service and a king bed (hard to find in SF).

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor away from Cerillos Rd which can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havnaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I am so delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and that we took good care of you and your family.

Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope you will return and stay with us again. Wishing you a wonderful New Year!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Nice, quiet hotel with an excellent restaurant. The menu changed nightly which was good (variety!) and bad (we wanted what we ate two nights ago!). Our trip included breakfast, which was extremely limited and didn't include any meat, which we thought was a little odd. The music was also mind-numbingly repetitive. However, we started eating on the balcony the second day and it was less noticeable.
The service was great. There was a hotel shuttle to the plaza that ran on an on-call basis, and they would come pick us up anywhere. The hotel was also close enough to the plaza that we could walk if we wanted. There were several restaurants and shops nearby, which was fantastic for people who like to eat and shop. We like to do both. The shuttle driver also mentioned that the capitol had a free gallery, which was a tremendously useful piece of advice.
They also provided chocolates from Senor Murphy's every night with the turn down service, and there was a small gas fireplace in the room.
The only thing we didn't love was the (undisclosed) resort fee they charged us at the end of the week. It was about $25/day, which isn't much, but we would have preferred to know about it up front.
Overall, two thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rbnhoodga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for the “thumbs up” and your kind words are greatly appreciated.

I will certainly look into the music issue and you certainly should have been advised of our $18 A.R.T./Resort Fee at the time of making your reservation.

Please come stay with us again and in the meantime, we all wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Excellent service from the front desk upon arrival and throughout our stay. The location is a fairly short walk to downtown. The rooms need updating especially the bathroom. The bed is comfortable with nice bedding. A little pricey based on the quality of the room. A dog was allowed in the area near the bar which turned us off from sitting there.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for staying with us and apologies for the dog issue which we do not normally allow except in the case of a service dog.

Happy New Year to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed at most of the hotels near the Plaza. This time we stayed 7 blocks way from the Plaza. WHAT A TREAT. This is a higher end hotel. Great and caring staff. Perfectly clean rooms. PLUS, they will drive you to anywhere you want to go within a 3 mile radius. This hotel must not be missed. Oh and by the way -- pricing for accommodations is far less than the competitors. We will be staying here again and telling everyone we know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind and encouraging words which are greatly appreciated.

Please do come back soon and your recommendation to your friends is marvelous.

Wishing you and your family a very wonderful New Year!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Went there in October around the balloon fiesta in albuquerque , we enjoyed our stay so much ! Lovely place and we will be returning soon! The rooms are clean and the food is great . It has such a wonderful atmosphere! They even offer a shuttle into town! Sincerely mary

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryspower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Mary,

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us past October and hopefully you also had aa great time at the Balloon Fiesta.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Wishing you very Happy New Year!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband, our dog and I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Santa Fe on our way back to our home in Boston. We couldn't have made a better choice. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and exceedingly comfortable. Plus, they are super pet-friendly. All the hotel staff were great with especial thanks to the bartender and the breakfast waitstaff. We were able to have meals with our pet seated in the lounge with a wood-burning fire next to us. It couldn't have been more welcoming. Many thanks and we hope to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MartineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
And we do hope you will indeed come back soon! Many thanks for staying with us and we all wish you a Happy New Year! Safe travels!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing