We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, nice room, shuttle service when you'd rather not walk”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, nice room, shuttle service when you'd rather not walk”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Santa Fe is a walking town inside the Paseo. Hotel Santa Fe is very near the Paseo on the west side, so quite a walk from the concentration of galleries on Canyon Drive. Fortunately they have an excellent shuttle service, which is also great when you want to have wine or margaritas with your dinner, or avoid paid parking lots a little closer in. Last night our driver made an impromptu stop at the Haagen Daz shop to drop off shuttle passengers who decided they needed dessert. He dropped the rest of us at the hotel and swung back to pick up the ice cream adventurers. Great service! The hotel is charming. A Native American flute player in the lobby lounge on weekend evenings, and coffee/tea station near the elevator on each floor are great amenities. We got a deal on a suite and enjoyed it. Just don't go for the continental breakfast here. It's hard to make oatmeal this bad, even for $11. Otherwise, however, this can be a lovely, more affordable close-in lodging option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    406
    150
    53
    26
See reviews for
312
738
81
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I recently completed a 7400 mile journey that included 14 hotels in 11 states. Among many lovely stops along the way, the Hotel Santa Fe was the stand-out hostelry of the entire trip. Another reviewer spoke of how the place lowered his blood-pressure. I can relate. Whether from the helpful but unobtrusive staff, or the quiet, indigenous music wafting through the lobby, or the gentle candle-lit public spaces, there was a distinct air of calm pervading the place. Even the elevator cars' walls were upholstered with carpets with native-designs.

For that matter, nothing seemed to faze the attentive staff: I changed the dates of my reservation mid-stream while on my trip, I asked for advice about taking the Railrunner trains, I needed to have my room made up in mid-afternoon, I wondered about the propriety of walking wet through the lobby from the pool... Each question was handled politely and correctly. By the way, the peaceful outdoor pool and whirlpool were the perfect capstones to a busy day exploring this most compelling of cities.

Though my room was a tad small, it was by no means uncomfortable, and boasted a real balcony with a view of the mountains. (I even left the door open overnight in order to catch the gentle breezes.) Carafes of tasty fresh coffee were kept filled near the elevators on each floor. And the ample lobby breakfast buffet was an especially attractive morning treat.

The hotel is an easy walk to the RailRunner train station (a block away), the New Mexico Capitol (three blocks) or the Plaza (seven blocks), though the distinctive purple hotel vehicles are charming in their own right, and available to take guests around Santa Fe. For me, the Hotel Santa Fe was an ideal place from which to catch an early-morning train to Albuquerque. It was handy to the Railyard shops and Farmer's Market. It was also a convenient spot from which to wander Santa Fe's lovely art-laden sidestreets and alcoves.

NO QUESTION: I have now FOUND my hotel in Santa Fe. After having driven lots of miles, it was like giving myself over to an unexpected and not unwelcome enforced relaxation, that stayed with me even after heading for home. Bravo Hotel Santa Fe!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Loved our stay at The Hacienda. Wonderful, friendly staff. Great room, very clean. Staff freshens room in the evening, and bring fresh towels.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurseshark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Over a four night stay, I was disappointed in this hotel.

Firstly, my room had no refrigerator at a time when this appliance is standard equipment in most hotel and motel rooms. I carry insulin with me along with soft drinks and food. Without a fridge, it was very difficult to keep anything chilled.

Secondly, the bathroom had no fan to circulate the air, an amenity that also is pretty much standard in better hotels.

Thirdly, I found service in the dining room lacking. Sat down one night and after ten minutes of only receiving a glass of water, I got up and left. Apparently the wait staff was too busy conversing among themselves.

And finally, when my recent credit card bill arrived, I found a $7.37 charge for breakfast on it when in fact I hadn't eaten a meal in the dining room in two days. Granted, the amount was not large, but if each guest is charged the same, the fraudulently obtained monies mount up.

The hotel was hard to find, there being no on-street markings for a passing motorist. This may reflect Santa Fe's zoning laws in the downtown area, but is a negative for the first time patron.

I enjoyed my stay, but the above points reflect negatively on a hotel that claims to be first class. Second class is more like it, particularly when the daily room rate of $216 inclusive of taxes is taken into account.
.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The service at the front desk and the concierge desk was responsive and cordial. From the first step inside the door to our last goodbye, the staff was welcoming, friendly and informed. I had the chance to see two rooms, as I moved to a Jr. suite; the double room and the suite were both so comfortable; had a great view of the swimming pool and jacuzzi in a brightly sunlit suite. Beds were superb.

The decoration and amenities are tasteful and authentic. I was especially delighted by the sculpture and paintings. I am an art professional and was traveling with a group of the same. The dining experience for breakfast and dinner both was as good as it gets. Service and cuisine were excellent values, as they offer a prix fixe dinner menu, too.

I loved the purple vans which took you everywhere on demand within 1 mile radius. So one never had to worry about getting somewhere on time, or being picked up.

The location by the fashionable new Railyard district was great, and also near shopping, restaurants, and walkable destinations.

I regret not having time to use the Spa, but did take advantage of the Yoga lesson, the pool and jacuzzi. I also enjoyed the gift shop and its delightfully well-informed staff. I would happily stay again at this hotel, and would feel like a member of the family returning!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Washington_D_C_Uart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our first time booking through Hotwire and the room and hotel exceeded our expectations. We arrived way before check in time, but it was no problem at all and we were shown to our room right away. When we got to our room, we found a lovely bowl of fresh fruit and a personalized note welcoming us to the hotel. The butler service was great and the room was one of the nicest we have stayed in. Staff at the hotel are more than gracious and very helpful. We will definately be staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kvlansdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Hotel Santa Fe was a great choice for our 3 day stay. We booked the bed and breakfast package - it included a full breakfast each morning. We walked to the town square each day; the hotel offers a free shuttle service as well. Our room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. Lots of amenities on site as well as a Native American flute player in the evenings. Only disappointment was no coffee maker in the room - but there was a coffee station in the hall near the elevators. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarasotapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,223 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,271 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,788 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing