We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Inn on the Alameda and loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering advice on what to see and where to eat. They also offered to shuttle us anywhere we wanted to go in Santa Fe. The Breakfast was very good and the rooms were also wonderful. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the historic district. I will only stay here when visiting Santa Fe in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We picked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We took a last minute trip to Santa Fe and had a lovely room with a balcony. The staff was outstanding. Very nice and helpful. We went for my husband's birthday and they sent a bottle of champagne to the room. Breakfast and parking are included in the rate which was appreciated. The location is very good for walking around to Canyon Road and the Plaza. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 04Traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a nice place and I upgraded to a room with fireplace upon arrival. When the fireplace would not start (it was gas) the staff had a maintenance staff member come light the pilot and get the fireplace going. It soon went out again, and they took off the additional charge for the upgraded room. The manager greeted us upon arrival and checked on how everything was the next morning.

We had a quiet stay and the private patio was nice.

The hotel is in walking distance of almost all the tourist attractions so that was pleasant as well.

The closer of the two hot tubs in the hotel was out of service, but the sign had fallen off so the maintenance person unlocked the door to it and escorted me in to check on it. The jets were not functioning and sounded like it had been down for a few weeks.

The on site bar/restaurant area had decent coffee and dessert options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jedadiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am happy to report that the pump for the jets has been replaced and apologize that it was not working properly during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We picked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. Lovely room with a balcony. We were on the third floor, and they kept asking us, via email before our visit and at registration when we arrived, if that was okay (no elevator). So if it is not, don't worry, there will be no surprises! Breakfast was a treat. I am a vegan, and there were lots of options for me, including soy and almond milk, which are usually rare to find unless you have asked for them in advance, which I had neglected to do. Terrific location within walking distance to Canyon Road and the plaza. Diane, at the front desk at checkout, graciously looked up the travel conditions for our trip back to Taos via the High Road (it had been raining alot). Low road was closed that day. Thank you, Diane.

Only negative...the walls are paper thin. We heard everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) that the young couple next door were saying and doing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our one night in room 136 at the Inn on the Alameda in September 2013 was pleasant. We enjoyed the fireplace and slept comfortably until the next morning when the roadway traffic adjacent to this room picked up. Had we stayed longer, we would have requested a quieter room.

Room Tip: Do not use room 136.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my third visit and I've tried three different room types. This time our stay was overnight so we opted for a King Deluxe. It was large and well appointed with a small balcony. We were on the second floor of a two floor building. The rooms closest to the street, on the west side are all on one floor and don't feel as private. We like those on the east side.
We really like the complimentary wine and cheese bar at 4:00-5:00 each day. There is also a cash bar and it now has a small dining room (we didn't try that). Breakfast is included in the room rate and usually includes a quiche and/or torta, fruit, cereal, sweet rolls, yogurt, cereal, coffee and tea.
Canyon Road is just across the street and the plaza is easy walking. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: East side offer more styles of rooms and seem to be more quiet. Love the grounds and all the potted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Maybe it's just a Santa Fe thing -- by which I mean that hotel rates there seem ridiculously high. I can accept that; hotels will charge what the market can bear. Fair enough. But when you are paying $300 a night I think it's reasonable to expect very high quality where all of the basics are concerned. So my wife and I were disappointed by the dingy, tired looking carpeting and the musty odors in the corridors and the rooms. The rooms themselves are spacious and comfortable but look outdated. On the other hand the public areas of the hotel are lovely and the staff friendly and professional. The breakfast ( included in the room rate) is OK though I found it unacceptable (when you're paying $300/night) that there is an extra charge for an espresso or a cafe latte! I was not left with the feeling that we received good value-for-money.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

I am so sorry your experience at the Inn fell short of your expectations. While I understand from some of our other European guests that espressos and specialty coffees are standard morning fare, in the US they are considered a treat and due to the time required to prepare it is not possible for us to include in the complimentary breakfast.

You are correct Santa Fe can be a bit pricey. the city has one of the highest living wage requirements in the country at 10.51 an hour. The Inn is a classic southwest property in design and furnishings. All carpets have been replaced in the last 3 years. We did have an extraordinary amount of rain just prior to your stay, over a years accumulation in rainfall in just one week, which may have accounted for the slightly musty odor you mentioned.

We always appreciate comments, that assist us in meeting our guests expectations, thank you for taking the time to share yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,640 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £117 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda
Inn On The Alameda Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing