We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captures the Spirit of Northern New Mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Alameda

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn on the Alameda
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Captures the Spirit of Northern New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've stayed at this lovely small boutique hotel on numerous occasions, however this is my first attempt at reviewing it. First off the location is close enough to the sights of the downtown area but just far enough away to avoid the crowds, such as they can be. It's essentially an easy and safe two block walk to the plaza. The hotel does offer a shuttle if needs be. The location is a one minute walk to the art galleries and restaurants on Canyon Road. The rooms are clean and come in several configurations. Our favorite room is number 251 which has a large, private outside sitting area, great for a socializing spot if you are travelling with couples and the weather permits. It goes without saying the rooms are clean and many/most have gas fire places. The bathroom is amply stocked with shampoo, shower gel, etc. and large robes are provided. The breakfast, which comes with the room, is as hearty or as healthy as you would like it, with quiche, frittatas, pastries, breads, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Breakfast can be a bit crowded and seating can sometimes be difficult but it all seems to work out somehow. My experience with the staff has always been positive. The economy hasn't been particularly kind to the area the last few years and this hotel has, on the whole, done a good job of maintaining the pre-crash service, with only a regular guest noticing a few modest changes here and there. They've just opened a small restaurant that opens for dinner only, but we didn't try it though it smelled great as they prepped. Unless, God forbid, something happens to significantly change this wonderful little place, it will always be our home away from home in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I am so glad that your experience at the Inn was exactly what we hope every guest will enjoy.

Thank you for sharing and I do hope on your next visit you will have the opportunity to try Chef Jen's fabulous fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,576
    405
    81
    12
    8
See reviews for
355
1,110
77
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My stay at the Inn was better than I had hoped for - in fact, it exceeded expectations so much so that I plan to spend my next weekend in Santa Fe here! Some previous reviews had suggested that the rooms might be in need of some TLC and that the walls were too thin. Although I heard a few creaky beams, thin walls were not an issue for me, and I found no fault in the room decor; rather, the decor added to the charm of the building and the grounds. The bathroom had lovely accent tile work and a large shower/tub, lovely earthen-tone hues, and large mirrors. The room (and grounds) had some great touches - southwestern themed lamps and patterning, adorable patios (ours on the first floor screened in with tree branches turned into a fence!), dried red chilies as decorations, and cute little courtyards. For anyone interested in gallery-hopping, the location could not be better because you are not even one block away from Canyon (and only a quick 5 minute walk from the best hot chocolate you've ever had at Kakawa Chocolate House!). We did not venture "downtown" to the Plaza; however, we had no trouble requesting that the Inn's shuttle drop us at dinner (Restaurant Martin - a wonderful surprise - absolutely delicious, cozy, and highly recommended), and they say they will take you (and pick you up) at any destination. The shuttle arrived less than 5 minutes after we called for the pick-up; the driver was really friendly and timely. Breakfast was low-key and the frittata/quiche/stuffed croissants were delicious. Although I did not partake in the available pastries, there did seem to be a wide variety of choices (including gluten-free muffins)! All in all, it was a lovely, quiet stay in the City Different!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "traditional" building (not with the fitness center/massage room). Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
The time you have taken to write your detailed review is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and Inn is in good location to walk to many of the sites and wonderful restaurants and shops of Santa Fe. The check-in process had a few issues, but were corrected to our satisfaction. Next time in Sante Fe, I will look for something a little more cozy and quaint; this style of Inn makes me feel like I was on a business trip, not a long needed vacation.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I certainly appreciate anyone who takes the time to write a response, but goodness me, "a bit like a chain", this is so contrary to our usual guests comments I am not sure how to respond and would have thought you had posted to the wrong Inn had I not personally approved a complimentary upgrade for you during your stay. We have a cozy lobby, 10 buildings which include 12 distinct casitas, the traditional rooms all have pine tongue and groove ceilings, traditional southwest furnishings and décor, each room is slightly different, some include kiva fireplaces, the bathrooms are titled in traditional New Mexican style. We are definitely not a bed and breakfast so I certainly understand that if that is your preference we did not meet that expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Service was spot on from the reservation process to the end of the stay. I found the location to be almost perfect - Canyon Road is a block away and still close enough to the plaza (5 minute walk) to hear the church bells.

Rooms are functional and well decorated. I'd agree the walls are pretty thin - but it's not exactly the Animal House crowd staying here, so it wasn't a big deal. As far as street noise - I couldn't hear any from my room. There are several different styles and sizes of rooms. The website was sufficient for me to make my choice, but if you are particular - I'd call the property before booking. They'll go out of their way to make sure you are satisfied.

Manager's Happy Hour and the morning breakfast were both nice extras. Overall an excellent experience and a great home base for a stay in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Some of the patios are bigger/better than others. If this is important, I'd call before booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
What a nice review, I so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a five night stay at the Inn on the Alameda. We had two adjoining rooms which were perfect for the three of us. The rooms were large and meticulous.
The inn is lovely with a real feel of Santa Fe. The included breaks featured homemade quiches and pastries and the afternoon wine and cheese was a nice touch too.
We cannot say enough about the terrific staff including Jose,Diane,Danette, Jen, Brenda, and January at the front desk. They were always willing to explain driving directions and made dinner reservations for us too.
Special thanks to the ladies in the breakfast room and a wonderful young man , Jose Gallegos. Being retired teachers, we were impressed with his poise and sweet demeanor and his drive to finish his college studies.
We booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It is the best place to stay in Santa Fe and we hope to return in the near future.


,

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I truly appreciate the care you have taken in your lovely review, to specifically name each and every staff member who contributed to the pleasure of your stay. Our staff takes great pride in making each and every guest feel comfortable and welcome.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable. Very accommodating. Great breakfast and happy hour. We were there in late October and there were only adults which is probably attributable to the time if year. Quiet and a great refuge. Not jumping with excitement but just what we wanted for our weekend getaway. No need to look elsewhere for our next trip to Santa Fe.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your enjoyment of the Inn and your appreciation of of the Inn's intimate and relaxing atmosphere.

I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed at several nice places around the square and decided to give this one a chance. Small room seemed a bit run down but that would've been ok if not for the noise. Could hear every door shut or toilet flushed like there was someone in the same room with us. Street noise was bad, not very relaxing. Next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RDavisFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, General Manager at Inn on the Alameda, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
What a shame that your 1 night stay at the Inn was contrary to the experience of the majority of our guests. We always recommend that you speak with one of our in house reservation agents who can describe our many room types in detail so there are no surprises upon arrival.

We do make every effort to contact guests prior to arrival but in some cases such, as yours no contact information was or is available, we are disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to discuss your particular preferences with you prior to your arrival. We have many guests that request that particular Casita year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Alameda

Property: Inn on the Alameda
Address: 303 E. Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Alameda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Santa Fe, New Mexico, between the historic Plaza and the art-filled galleries of Canyon Road, the Inn on the Alameda is the ideal downtown Santa Fe lodging location. With this cozy inn as your home base, you can explore our town’s unique attractions, unique museums, fine dining, distinctive boutiques and local festivities. An ample continental breakfast with organic. vegan and gluten-free selections is included with every stay, as is a relaxing afternoon wine hour daily. Wi-fi and parking are always free, and one pet under 30# is welcome with a nightly fee in pet-specific rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Alameda Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel On The Alameda
On The Alameda Hotel
Inn Alameda
Inn On The Alameda Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing