We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Campground at a good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Campground at a good location”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very convenient, several miles outside of Santa Fe. The good thing is that you can drive your RV into Santa Fe and park at a lot in the middle of the city which has RV parking. The workers were incredibly nice and helpful. They have a mini movie theater with movie seating. The pool was a little small but okay by RV campground standings. They also have a 1/2 mile nature trail which goes up above the campground and has good views. Showers were clean and hot water was good, though pressure was a tad low.

Overall an excellent place to stay for adventuring into Santa Fe

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    14
    12
    14
See reviews for
39
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I went to Santa Fe for two months to look for buried treasure (really). I arrived as soon as the park was open for the season. I was nestled between two work campers. I was a few feet from the bathhouse and office. Wi-Fi was AWESOME. Everyone was super helpful. During my travels I had a chance to go visit many campgrounds between Santa Fe and Colorado. With the exception of one near Lake Heron, none compared to Rancheros (Lake Heron had no Wi-Fi and No Cell Phone Coverage). Rancheros is 8 miles south of Santa Fe and that was no trouble whatsoever. Rancheros is the only place to stay in Santa Fe. Period.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

WOW. We are so happy we found this place. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers are spotless. They even have a clean dish washing sink with hot and cold water. The wifi throughout the campground is nice.
We were tent camping and we're quite happy with our site, #51, although I wish they would use pea gravel instead of straw for the tent pad bedding. It'll take us awhile to pick all the straw out of our gear. And the picnic table was quite weathered and in need of upgrading. And the tent pads could be a bit more level.
Al in all ... We liked it so much, we extended our stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
259 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay providing a wide array of amenities and campsites from full hookups to tent only sites. There are even small cabins one can rent. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. The shower and bath facilities are reasonably clean and everything worked, but are showing signs of aging. During our visit the camground was not crowded-we stayed during the week. The weekends I'm told can be busy. They offer a pool, but was not operational during our stay. The location is relatively close to the main part of town. South from the campground on 285 is trail system were you can hike or mtn. bike-highly recommended. This our second time here and will return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very easy on and off I 25 just east of Santa Fe. Really appreciated the 11 am check in with the 22 acres covered in classic pinon, juniper and cacti; great little hiking trail across the top of the property. Typical for a RV campground with clean showers/ restrooms; hook-ups and various options for camping. Again, easy to head into Santa Fe by one of the best roads in, the Old Santa Fe trail that will take you right to the Roundhouse [our capitol] and Paseo de Peralta, that circles downtown. Continuing straight in will bring you right to the Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived here about 2 minutes before the office closed. We had booked a tent site but the night was forecasted to be cold and we were tired from a longer than expected drive and later than expected arrival. I asked a couple of questions about the cabins (thinking it might be worth it to upgrade), and despite the fact that they were on the verge of closing the office, they offered to show us a cabin so we could decide if it would suit us. Suit us it did and we changed our reservation on the spot to a cabin. The cabin was lovely with a little table, nice mattresses (bring your own blankets) and some storage to boot. The heater wasn't a match for the low temperatures but it still beat sleeping in a tent, and with our tent heater to help it out we stayed nice and toasty. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was so helpful about everything. Our boys loved running around the place and it really is a beautiful setting. If we ever return to Santa Fe we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our first big trip in our 'still being restored' vintage trailer, Naples Florida to Santa Fe NM. I was worried about maneuvering extra long rig but attendant was able to get me through the winding roads to the site with no problem. After 6 days of driving and never really setting up camp it was a joy to finally get the trailer "set up" in such a lovely location. Wife & I are both former Santa Fe'ans and were so happy to find a place with the Santa Fe 'feel'. Clean, pleasant, nice little hiking trail perfect for getting a little blood flow going in the morning while not too strenuous for the non hiker. Only bad thing... The tropical system that had threatened us in Florida actually caught up with us in NM and stayed for the week, lots of rain! Good news, it broke a long standing drought.

Room Tip: I think the sites that are a little tricky to get to are well worth the effort... but they all look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airboatmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
The Santa Fe Suites
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Sunrise Springs Spa Resort
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground

Property: Rancheros de Santa Fe Campground
Address: 736 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Exit 290 off 1-25, Santa Fe, NM 87505-1409
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Fe, New Mexico's most scenic RV resort and campground. Country camping with full amenities, only minutes from Old Town Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancheros De Santa Fe Campground Hotel Santa Fe
Rancheros De Santa Fe Campground New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing