We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AdobeStar Inn
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Fe Sage Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villas de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Homewood Suites Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
43
14
13
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
14
13
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Everything about the experience at the Adobe Abode was excellent. The room, Black Mesa, was large, very well appointed with bountiful towels, coffee, pillows, blankets. Being 2 blocks from the square was great. Nellie, the Inn keeper, welcomed us with a smile and helping hand. The breakfasts that she cooked were 'out of this world'! It is worth going to the Adobe Abode just to enjoy the wonderful food. Totally recommend this B & B. Will stay there each time we are in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My hubby, my sister and her husband and I made plans to stay at the Sage House last year based on the really nice online pics of the place. Sis and Bro-in-law had never been to Santa Fe, so we knew that the location of the Sage House was ideal for accessing the Plaza area by foot (it's REALLY close) and that it had parking for our cars (or so we had thought on the plural "cars" part. We were driving in from different areas of CO to meet up there). I guess from the pics and even Google mapping it, I had thought that the house itself was removed from the AdobeStar Inn area. However, when we got there, we soon realized that people staying in the more expensive rooms at the ASI also had two parking spaces reserved for them in the same parking area of the Sage House. We managed to squeeze both of our cars in the one spot designated for us and then at times when no one was parking for one of the other rooms. It wouldn't have been a big deal if we could have parked on the street, but you can't around there. So, right away our trip started off with some creative scrambling around.
I would agree with many other reviewers that the house seemed shabby for the price and upkeep was not on a high priority list - for the grounds, string lights on the house and it being dusty on the inside. I am not a snooty person and am pretty relaxed, but this did bother me a bit. The living room with fireplace was nice (FYI bring your own wood. They charge for the wood that's there), as was the kitchen. Both bathrooms were fine, although there were light bulbs that needed to be replaced and there was some steam gadget or the like in the master bath shower that did not work. I personally don't like waterfall shower heads because there usually isn't enough water pressure, as was the case with this one. Never felt I was clean enough.
Things I would change to the house itself:
1. Use a tablecloth - The dining room table has slats on the top (Southwestern style) and while quaint, lends itself to crumbs falling between the cracks, which we noticed while opening the table drawers. This was BEFORE we ever ate anything, so it tells you that no one had cleaned this up from the previous guests. Maybe a tablecloth would be an inexpensive option rather than replacing the table?
2. Splurge on better linens! - We found holes and overall wear on the linens, not conducive for paying guests, let alone guests who would visit for free (see pics). Just some nice white or ivory ones, like most hotels?!
3. Stabilize the twin beds - when we broke apart the twin beds that make the king in the main bedroom, they kept sliding around the hardwood floor if you would turn to your side, etc. while you slept. Kind of made sleeping a little scary [think a possible bumper car scenario]. Rubber pads on the bottom of the bed feet would do the trick.
4. General maintenance - As mentioned before, better cleaning is DEFINITELY needed for this place. While moving the aforementioned twin beds, we found a carpet that wasn't vacuumed in a while and coins (none were taken). The armoire had more shabby linens just folded and thrown in. In the hall closet, there were odd items like a foam mattress pad and wrapping paper just tossed in like they were meant to be there. (see pics).
5. Hello? Is anyone here? - Wow! We saw NO ONE until my sister went to try and pay for their half of the bill. Then she finally found a crabby woman at the "reception desk" who blatantly asked her "who are you?" instead of a Good Morning and my sister had mentioned that she was a paying guest at the Sage House and needed to pay their half of the bill. Yikes!
It's too bad that the people who operate this do not do a better job of it or at least are available for their guests to service things like missing light bulbs, etc. It would be such a cute place to visit if the proprietors were a little more Type A clean and friendly....I am picturing Aunt Bea (from the Andy Griffith Show) on a caffeine high.
Of course all hotels and B&Bs are subjective, but I think that the owners of AdobeStar Inn and Sage House need to do a better job for their customers.
Thanks for reading my $0.02.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Every other year several cousins from Texas, Oklahoma, and California gather to renew family relationships. This year we met in Santa Fe at the Adobe Star Inn and had a wonderful time. We were the only group at the Inn and had the run of the place. It felt as if we were in someone's home without having the responsibility of food and cleanup. Aside from the homey and comfortable feel, my most memorable experience was Valerie, the inn keeper. She met us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome and checked on us frequently. We had a couple of problems, one cousin with an illness, which Valerie helped us with immediately. I can't brag on her enough. Thank you, Valerie, for going above and beyond, providing us with a wonderful experience. I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The main room has a wonderful fireplace with a large comfy chair for reading or relaxing - peaceful.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiveoranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My many stays at Adobe Star (Since 2008) has always been one of my best travel experiences. There is so much to say about the beautiful room, amazing food and atmosphere, adobe fireplaces, real Santa Fe Home with opportunities to meet very nice upscale people if you can get yourself out of your comfortable bed in time for breakfast. Damn the place is three blocks from the plaza and two blocks from the convention center. Oh, forgot, the Georgia O Keefe museum in almost in the backyard! Oh, forgot again the best in town spa is next door Nvidia at the El Dorado. If you want to get out of town a mountain spa to die for is a few miles up the road -Ten Thousand Waves. There is a million stars in the sky at night up there. Such a rare find!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed a week in Santa Fe at the Adobe Star Inn (B&B) on McKinzie Street. We had a wonderful holiday in part because of the Inn keepers, Nelly-Joy and Alex, both were cheerful, accommodating, well informed and helpful. The breakfast at the Inn was delicious, offering a nice variety each day. The location of the Inn made getting to the Plaza and surrounding areas easy and quick. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews