We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn just off the beaten path”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Inn just off the beaten path”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our first trip to Santa Fe and we will definitely return to the Inn at Vanessie. We stayed in the Jemez room and were so pleased with the wood burning kiva fireplace at the foot of our bed. We had a 5 minute walk to the Square but didn't feel like we had to fight to park or avoid throngs of people around our Inn. If "corporate" is what you are looking for, this would not be your place. The Innkeeper greeted us with a short tour of the property and provided us with drink tickets/discount to dinner coupons. The bar was lively when we went in the evening. The dancing was in full swing at 930. The crowd was a bit on the older side (50s-60s) but we had a ball just the same. Breakfast was nice and John made sure we had everything we needed. The one downside was the shower-tiny and not made for anyone over 5"10! Hot tub was a nice bonus-we went several times and had the whole thing to ourselves.

Room Tip: Windows do look out on parking lot so we kept shutters closed, very quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    101
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
45
254
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The room was small but very well appointed. Comfortable and cozy with a fireplace. I liked the courtyard and we enjoyed the rock grotto jacuzzi. Quiet and clean. The restaurant had very good food and the bar was fun with a "not to be missed" piano bar. Sante Fe was my favorite place on our 4000 mile road trip....and I am so glad we chose to stay at the Vanessie Inn. Staff was very friendly. I will return!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have a very private, romantic appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobbs
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Drove six hours to celebrate the New Year (2012) at Vanessie's and it was worth every minute! Vanessie's is Santa Fe's most ENCHANTED place to be, rather it be for an excellent dining experience, the best live music anywhere, or the lovely room accomadations, you won't want to leave and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our room was nice, though the view of the dirty parking lot with trash blowing about and not picked up put a damper on the suite. The restaurant and bar closed early the night we arrived late and our "complimentary drink tickets" were only good for the day of arrival. We discovered later that the tickets are also only good for selected items, and not any bar drink. The piano bar entertainment was good, but the "in house" amenities (coffee, tea, water) was never prepared or provided. And the water from the tank in the front room of the B&B tasted/smelled like maybe it had been there much too long and was growing something undesireable... The breakfast is not at all unique, tasty, or impressive. Anyway, the location is good, but there are clearly many other B&B's with more amenities, attention to detail, and equally quaint design, with price tags that are lower to much much lower.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJH64831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay in the Atalaya room. It was very clean and had a fireplace, comfortable bed, ironing board, soft robe, and a wonderful porch and patio. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, and kind. The breakfast was delicious. The staff went over and above to accommodate my needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, secluded Santa Fe getaway, this is the place for you. I've seen several of the rooms and I'm partial to the Galiesto Suite. The rooms are not large, but they are cozy, clean and romantic. When I stay at Vanessie's I feel like I am the only one there. It's location is perfect in terms of walking distance to all of the plaza attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Lets see... The room was sweet and cozy, And the amenities (loved the shampoo & conditioner! where can I buy it?) were good quality --a big plus!
We met all 3 inn keepers, they were all genuinely nice and helpful. Thank u guyz!
They stocked plenty of firewood for our kiva fire place everyday, The hot tub was nice and clean, Breakfast was good (meat, omelets, crumpets, granolas w/ fresh fruits etc..) with fresh strong coffee, And there were plenty of parking for the guests. (they have reserve parking for the inn guests, even when the piano bar is super packed you should be fine..) What else do we need?!
The location was awesome too. short walk to the plaza, funky dive bar around the corner, and at least 3 restaurants (besides vanessie) within 100 or so steps too...
Speaking of restaurants, you MUST check out Bobcat Bites!! little drive but soooo worth it.
Simple, Juicydelish hamburger.. ahhh miss Santa Fe already!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing