We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is the best!!”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is the best!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We initially planned on staying here one night and ended up staying five!! I usually stay at another high end hotel on the plaza, but will stay here from now on when I visit Santa Fe. The room was fabulous, the breakfast great, the staff fantastic. I just can't say enough how great this hotel is. The price is very reasonable for the quality of this place.
Brian and Lisa

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    102
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
46
256
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've stayed at the Inn three times now, in three different rooms. All are beautifully decorated, have charming working fireplaces, and wonderful spacious baths. Vanessie serves a fine breakfast as part of the deal, with omelets each morning this year. Location is great, walking distance to all the shops and sights around the Santa Fe Plaza.

Room Tip: Use the Inn's website to view each room. they're very distinct because of the high style of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just back from a January stay - the crackling piñon fire in our room's kiva was so welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully designed. The bed was luxuriously comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and spacious. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast at Vanessie's each morning in the beautiful Patio room was made to order and delicious. We also had dinner there one night and enjoyed Doug Montgomery in the Piano Bar and had a perfectly prepared meal. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This property is not bad, but make sure you verify that everything in your room is working during the day, because there is no onsite support after about 5 pm. I realized this the hard way when I checked in for a business trip in the morning and didn't get back to my room until evening and realized my T.V. wasn't working. No where to go, no where to hide for any support, so had a quiet night staring at the ceiling. Also, I booked two rooms for my company, since an employee was traveling with me. The property only had one reservation recorded, but fortunately had another room available. The office manager had apparently just overlooked the other reservation. Mind you, this property has about 11 rooms total, so you wouldn't think it would be hard to keep track. Finally, the room I received was about half the size of the one my employee received and you would think that since I'm paying for the room, I would have received the larger one. I'm happy that my employee got a great room and no big deal, but not exactly a best practice from a business perspective. The property has a nice bar and restaurant associated with it, so overall worth checking out, but don't expect 5-star service or amenities as many have reported.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visit Santa Fe often are delighted to have discovered Vanessie recently. Our room was large, with a working fireplace, comfortable bed, bath robes, heat you can easily control and comfortable chairs for reading. The included breakfast served in the restaurant was healthy and a nice variety to chose from. This B&B is a very good value, located a pleasant three block walk from the Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here the other night and found it to be an adorable little inn in the heart of downtown of Santa Fe. Super cute! Charming! Rooms are well appointed Santa Fe Style-- had nice bathroom amenities-- and a great wood burning kiva fireplace to burn a nice, crisp fire in the evenings. Really sweet-- with a nice little patio/courtyard, as well. We even stayed on an additional night, as it was so cozy and sweet (and I actually only live about 1/2 hr away in south Santa Fe). The only disappointment was with the lackadaisical bartender at their little piano bar on the property. My son and I were having a drink at the bar, listening to the piano player play when we decided we might want to much on something while sitting there. We glanced at the menu and were told to hurry if we wanted any food, as the kitchen was closing in just a few minutes. My son was feeling under the weather a bit (age 23), but he thought a little food might help--so he ordered the beet and goat cheese salad with a side of their delicious cheese grits for himself. I ordered the elk tenderloin (medium rare), in hopes that I might be able to coax my son into having a bite or two of mine. The bartender returned with the food and it was quite good. No complaints. He had had my tenderloin 'split' up on to two separate plates-- which I didn't ask him to do, but really didn't mind, as I was hoping my son might have a bite or two anyway. When the bill came I saw that I was charged $41 for my elk rather than the $36 that was posted on the menu... and that my Chopin vodka martini was $16.50 rather than the $14.50 I had paid for the same drink the evening before while sitting in the same seat at the same bar. Hm? A little perplexing. So-- I very nicely asked the bartender what the discrepancy was. He just said-- "Oh, yeah. I split it on to two plates (which I did not ask him to do) and therefore you owe an additional $6-- and as far as the martini goes I guess I charge more than the other bartender does for Chopin vodka-- so you owe another additional $2. I didn't argue with the man... I just thanked him, as I was going to be paying the same amount no matter how he wanted to divy it all up and dispense it among which workers there (him, the cook, busboy, owner, or whomever). Out of pocket was the same for me either way It all came to the same as I was concerned. I guess he only got an $8 tip from me rather than $16 (the other $8 went to whatever it was he was talking about). I used to bartend and wait tables, too, so-- I know how it goes. Maybe he just works for fun--( a way to get out of the house on weekend nights) not sure. Or maybe he felt bad for the proprietors who had to pay the cook a lot of extra $$ to place the elk slices on two plates rather than just one--- I dunno. Actually, it saved me $$ in the long run, as I'd normally have left at least a 20-25% tip---- only left 15% this time-- and most did not even go to him. C'est la vie ;)

The guy working at the front office was a very nice young man-- very friendly. Not sure if he was the same guy who was on the phone with me when I attempted to book a room there or not, but-- I must say, here, too, lay yet another price discrepancy. Wth?? When I went to book the room (just a fun night in SFe-- no business to do) I tried to go through the hotel directly, but the reservationist there said the best he could do for the EXACT same room was $240 per night. So-- needless to say I booked the room for only $132 on Expedia.com. Again, doesn't really matter to me who get's my cash. It's just soo odd when they do that. Whatever it is that works for them-- works for me, I guess. I also used to be a hotel reservationist. Whatever!

Anyway-- all in all it's a nice little inn in SFe!! But-- my advice would be not to book directly through them (I saved over $240 by going through a middle-man, Expedia, rather than booking directly through them)-- and do take the extra 20 seconds to look at your bar tab.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selectivediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stay for 4 days and had a wonderfull experience in this Inn.
It is located in downtown, our room was really nicely decorated and the chiminie was a mayor plus.
All staff is very nice and service outstanding.
Every night we enjoy live music at the bar grabbing the spirit of this artistic city.
Really recommend this little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,050 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,322 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,623 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing