We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe's best kept secret.”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We LOVED this property. Staff was awesome.. Location was fantastic... Room was more comfy than home. We would give them 6 stars if we could!! They are located walking distance from the plaza and the fireplaces make the ambience so peaceful!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at the understated luxury of this place. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the bed was very comfortable, and the linens were divine. The location was great! Close to everything! The only issues we had were the lack of a bathtub mat ( bathtub very slippery and has a strange layout) and also, we could hear every noise from the neighboring room. Complimentary breakfast is a lovely gesture. However, it could have been more enjoyable if it was vegan friendly.

Room Tip: Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmb757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have stayed at this Inn a number of times over the past several years, and have always found it to be charming and the staff friendly. They recently expanded, opening a new building with a number of additional rooms. This time, I was quite disappointed. The attitude of the reception staff was unfriendly and uninterested. Rather than the intimacy of a B and B, it felt rather impersonal.
I arrived around 5pm on a Saturday and inquired about the lovely happy hour that used to be available at the bar area of the restaurant next door. Guests could have a glass of wine and hors d'oeuvres, and it was a very nice treat at the end of a day of sightseeing. This is no longer available.
Each room has a fireplace with wood and fire supplies, but there are no written instructions of any kind re how to open the flue and so on. I wanted to make a fire but was afraid to. There was a problem with a flickering lightbulb in the bathroom and the printed directions one receives at check in say to inquire at the restaurant (which is located next door and serves breakfast for the Inn in the am) if no one is available in the office, so I asked when I went to get some ice . The guy at the bar in the restaurant said, " I just make drinks." He didn't seem to have any idea how guests at the Inn might be able to get questions answered.
I waited until the morning and asked in the office and was told the bulb would be replaced, but later that night it started flickering again. The water in my bathroom sink actually took about 3 minutes to get warm, which was quite strange.
The Inn advertises that there is free wifi available throughout the property, and I looked forward to that because I remembered that during previous stays there was virtually no cell reception at all in the courtyard rooms, which are my favorites. I followed the directions for the wifi and not only was the signal too weak to connect , I was mostly unable to do much even using the cellphone's own data because the reception was so poor.
After having enjoyed some wonderful stays at this Inn in the past, including a special birthday weekend a few years ago when my friends and family took over almost every room, I am sad to say that the next time I'm in town I will look for a different place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank nancyb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights for our anniversary.We looked at alot of hotels and Inns in the Sante Fe area.The selling point of Vanessi was the proximity to the Plaza.We loved our room and the beds were AWESOME comfortable.
A real treat was the piano bar at the restaurant.It was fun and even had guests who stopped in to sing and play the piano.Food was great for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Our room was a king suite .nice fireplace and jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We initially planned on staying here one night and ended up staying five!! I usually stay at another high end hotel on the plaza, but will stay here from now on when I visit Santa Fe. The room was fabulous, the breakfast great, the staff fantastic. I just can't say enough how great this hotel is. The price is very reasonable for the quality of this place.
Brian and Lisa

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We've stayed at the Inn three times now, in three different rooms. All are beautifully decorated, have charming working fireplaces, and wonderful spacious baths. Vanessie serves a fine breakfast as part of the deal, with omelets each morning this year. Location is great, walking distance to all the shops and sights around the Santa Fe Plaza.

Room Tip: Use the Inn's website to view each room. they're very distinct because of the high style of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just back from a January stay - the crackling piñon fire in our room's kiva was so welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully designed. The bed was luxuriously comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and spacious. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast at Vanessie's each morning in the beautiful Patio room was made to order and delicious. We also had dinner there one night and enjoyed Doug Montgomery in the Piano Bar and had a perfectly prepared meal. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,092 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,392 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,824 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £139 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing