We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like I was relaxing at home”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I felt like I was relaxing at home”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. I would recommend staying at least 2 nights to enjoy all the amenities at the Water Street Inn - one night is hard to really settle in. The breakfasts were of gourmet quality - excellent for you foodies! The evening happy hour was a wonderful way to wind down from a day of site seeing. Each night Daisy was there to greet us and serve up wonderful wine and light appetizers (just the right amount). The Inn has large tables in the kitchen gathering area as well as a cozy patio for guests to mingle with each other and share in each other's travel experiences!! We met some very wonderful folks at the Inn - you don't get kind of interaction with guests at a hotel setting. Virginia from Ohio

P.S. The wine at the Inn was so good we squeezed in a day trip to the winery where it is made and I joined the Black Mesa Wine Club!! Fun memories!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Va8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    103
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
49
259
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed in Room 5, which had a wonderful kiva fireplace and a comfy chaise lounge and armchair to curl up in by the fire. The room was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed, nice linens, plenty of pillows and soft, thick towels. The bathroom and vanity area in the room were plain but serviceable. Evening happy hour with local wines (plus margaritas one night and sangria the next) and snacks on the second story deck was accompanied both nights by spectacular sunsets. Breakfast in the pretty kitchen included a hot egg dish and muffins fresh from the oven, and the evening turn-down included fresh baked cookies. We rented bicycles at the local bike shop one day and enjoyed a great bike tour through the neighborhoods and up the hillsides followed by a soak in the hot tub and a snuggle by fire in the room. The hot tub was in a pleasant enclosed area across the parking lot from the main house. (Whatever cleanliness problems were noted in earlier reviews have been corrected.) People with mobility problems wouldn't be able to navigate the stairs up to the second floor kitchen area and deck, so they would miss happy hour, but the staff will deliver breakfast to the rooms on request. Lots of good restaurants at every price point within walking distance, and Daisy was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our room, the hot breakfasts, happy hour on the deck, and the opportunity to mingle with other guests. Our room, the Tesuque, had a quiet little sunroom and courtyard which added some nice outdoor space. Its adobe style and decor warmly reflected the culture of the Santa Fe area. Water Street Inn's location is within walking distance to Old Town, the Plaza, Canyon Road, La Fonda, the outdoor market, and oh, so many shops and galleries. While we were at WSI for three days, we have to go back so we can see everything we missed, and to try the hot tub!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Fantastic inn within walking distance of the Plaza and great restaurants. Friendly service with breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. Great spot for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robbyne
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Daisy, Mindy, Akiva -- all made us feel so welcome. The room (#4) was spacious and the king bed was totally comfortable. Gourmet breakfasts and lovely cocktail hours at 5 PM each day. The other guests were friendly and very social. It turned a bit colder than I expected, so Daisy kindly lent me her beautiful coat for a few days -- that's "above and beyond" in my book. We don't usually stay in the same place twice when we visit Santa Fe, but we may need to make an exception for the Water Street Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2009

had never been to santa fe and found that the hostess, Tamara was set to make our stay more then satisfactory. Friendly,welcoming and caring for each guest as if they were the onlly person there. Easy to check in and out, like being in a person's home yet private at all times..
Only negative would be I was surprised to have to pay for dailly parking when there was plelnty of availabe space and I have never stayed in a hotel or B&B where you were charged to park as a guuest.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopvardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is the first B & B I've liked as there was lots of privacy and we could be served breakfast in our room. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We had been told beforehand we would be moving to a different room after the first night. When we returned from sight-seeing the staff had already moved everything for us--nice surprise as we'd left a bit of a mess. The location is walking distance to most every site we wanted to visit. Comfortable rooms. Especially enjoyed the evening happy hour and home-baked bed-time goodies. As the innkeeper is new she couldn't wait to implement the few minor improvements we suggested.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKshirleylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,059 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,787 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing