We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“if you could stay in just one place in Santa Fe, this would be this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“if you could stay in just one place in Santa Fe, this would be this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Close to Plaza and the amazing sustainability-conscious redevelopment of railyard area; fabulous service and friendliness of staff; pleasant comfortable rooms and plenty of good food We especially enjoyed the opportunity to chat with staff and guests over wine and hors d'oevres at cocktail hour. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    95
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
43
243
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

As New Mexico residents, we see a lot of the charm and enchantment Santa Fe is famous for; Water Street Inn exemplifies all of that and more! The central location allows strolls to the famous areas--Plaza, Canyon Road (a bit farther), and the new
Railyard. Our suite was beautifully appointed and gave us the privacy and retreat-feeling we were looking for. The breakfast selections (we were there three days) were excellent and the staff was exceptional. A planning call to Daisy helped me choose which room we wanted and she was just as helpful in person! There truly was nothing I'd change about our visit and we plan to return often!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed in room #4 and had a great time. Room is just as comfortable as any high-end hotel, yet twice as big. Cannot beat location of B&B as it takes only 3 minutes to walk into the heart of town. Even in cold temps, the walk was fine. Did not partake of breakfast, but it is served from 730a-930a and there is a happy hour in the evening. Kitchen upstairs is roomy and cozy. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. The only two hiccups we had were: remote control in room did not work (and request for service was not really followed up on); internet service was down (and staff did not seem to know that there were actually TWO wireless routers available so they could suggest using the second while the first was fixed).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fateoptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We were a group that took up the entire Inn. The Water Street Inn has great employees who were fun and made us all feel at home. They were very agreeable to work with our
group and provide us with an exceptional stay. We are talking about making it an annual trip. All of the rooms are cozy and comfortable. A great location for a group like us, yet close to the downtown plaza. Several very good restaurants nearby. The only negative I heard was that the little neighborhood bar had a loud band one night, and the rooms closest to it were impacted by the noise-we all suggested earplugs to the innkeepers-everyone laughed and they agreed-a good idea. Just a Wonderful Place.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homebodyArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. I would recommend staying at least 2 nights to enjoy all the amenities at the Water Street Inn - one night is hard to really settle in. The breakfasts were of gourmet quality - excellent for you foodies! The evening happy hour was a wonderful way to wind down from a day of site seeing. Each night Daisy was there to greet us and serve up wonderful wine and light appetizers (just the right amount). The Inn has large tables in the kitchen gathering area as well as a cozy patio for guests to mingle with each other and share in each other's travel experiences!! We met some very wonderful folks at the Inn - you don't get kind of interaction with guests at a hotel setting. Virginia from Ohio

P.S. The wine at the Inn was so good we squeezed in a day trip to the winery where it is made and I joined the Black Mesa Wine Club!! Fun memories!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Va8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed in Room 5, which had a wonderful kiva fireplace and a comfy chaise lounge and armchair to curl up in by the fire. The room was nicely decorated with a comfortable bed, nice linens, plenty of pillows and soft, thick towels. The bathroom and vanity area in the room were plain but serviceable. Evening happy hour with local wines (plus margaritas one night and sangria the next) and snacks on the second story deck was accompanied both nights by spectacular sunsets. Breakfast in the pretty kitchen included a hot egg dish and muffins fresh from the oven, and the evening turn-down included fresh baked cookies. We rented bicycles at the local bike shop one day and enjoyed a great bike tour through the neighborhoods and up the hillsides followed by a soak in the hot tub and a snuggle by fire in the room. The hot tub was in a pleasant enclosed area across the parking lot from the main house. (Whatever cleanliness problems were noted in earlier reviews have been corrected.) People with mobility problems wouldn't be able to navigate the stairs up to the second floor kitchen area and deck, so they would miss happy hour, but the staff will deliver breakfast to the rooms on request. Lots of good restaurants at every price point within walking distance, and Daisy was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our room, the hot breakfasts, happy hour on the deck, and the opportunity to mingle with other guests. Our room, the Tesuque, had a quiet little sunroom and courtyard which added some nice outdoor space. Its adobe style and decor warmly reflected the culture of the Santa Fe area. Water Street Inn's location is within walking distance to Old Town, the Plaza, Canyon Road, La Fonda, the outdoor market, and oh, so many shops and galleries. While we were at WSI for three days, we have to go back so we can see everything we missed, and to try the hot tub!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing