We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Inn at Vanessie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Vanessie
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

helpful staff, great breakfast, well appointed room, good location to walk to the main parts of town but not be in town, happy hour is a nice touch to connect the guests. would stay there again if we were in santa fe

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctjddealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    102
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
46
256
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The rooms are lovely and spacious and Deanna her staff are incredible. We felt so welcome. We stay at lots of B &b B's and this was one of our favorites. Excellent locaton to the plaza and fine restaurants within walking distance. A must if you go to Santa Fe.

Judy in Bellingham WA

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a great place to stay. Deann and staff are outstanding hosts. The proximity to the Plaza and the shops downtown was very convenient. We stayed in Room #7, right off the kitchen. It was large and very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was great - variety of egg dishes, bacon/sausage, breads, fruit, juices, and coffee/tea. Reserved parking, Venessi's restaurant and piano bar share the parking lot and has good food, drinks, and music..

Our stay at the Water Street Inn made our stay in Santa Fe very, very, pleasurable.
It will definitely be our lodging preference next time we travel to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkeyser21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I've debated whether or not this B&B was worth the rates I paid. I guess if you like B&Bs, this one will probably suit you. There were many good aspects to my 3-night stay: convenient location; welcoming B&B staff; in-room DVDs; hot beverages and water always available; more personalized rooms; interaction with other guests. The negatives: a proprietess possibly weary of the hospitality industry; STILL no working hot tub; lackluster breakfasts (sausage gravy over bisquits -- what?); reluctance to hold/cancellation of the happy hours so favorably reported by other guests; beds that have grown soft and bedding that smells of Fabreeze; the noisy, daily garbage pickup site and ice maker outside Room #1. I stayed at a Marriott Courtyard in Albuquerque after this, and I can honestly say it was cleaner, more spacious, and had more amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saratoga, california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Water Street in the last week of August, we had 2 rooms, room #2 and the Galesteo. What a wonderful place to stay. Galesteo was my room, large, ultra elegant, immaculate, private sunroom and private patio with water fountain. Large bathroom. The staff for breakfast and happy hour are unbelievably nice and know the area and will make any reservations for you, etc. The breakfasts are delicious and happy hour is fun with wine and a variety of snacks, with an outdoor patio. You can eat outside for breakfast or happy hour on the benches if you like. We met guests that have been staying at the inn for more than 20 years, and I know why. This inn is centrally located to the plaza, minutes on the freeway to the opera, and you can walk to so many places. Parking is ample. I would definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed here last year about the same time of year for 2 nights and opted to stay here again this year as a stop-over while driving north to Colorado. The rooms are all unique and offer decor with a great sense of place. Friendly staff. The location is an easy walk to the plaza for anyone not afraid to walk a few blocks. Teh rambling building(s) are surrounded by parking lots, but trees block the views of them and we experienced no noise problems, so this need not be a turn-off. Comfortable and affordable. We will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We were cordially greeted by one of the innkeepers and offered a happy hour the first evening. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the location was centrally located so that we could walk to virtually everything, including the farmers market. The only complaint was the techno music from the neighboring bar the first night. It made for a restless night, but we heard no other sounds the rest of our almost week's stay and it certainly wasn't the fault of the Inn. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. Did I mention the scrumptious breakfasts? Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,050 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,324 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,624 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Vanessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Vanessie

Property: Inn at Vanessie
Address: 427 W Water St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1858 (Formerly Water Street Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Vanessie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Vanessie is an award winning, authentic adobe Inn located two blocks to the Plaza area. The 11 spacious rooms are exquisitely appointed with southwest art, artifacts and textures. Amenities include private baths, fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, CD players, wireless internet access, telephone with voice mail, hair dryers and robes. The stunning suites have private gardens with fountains and sun rooms. Fantastic jacuzzi, happy hour at our bar Vanessie -- an Inn with a fun atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Vanessie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Vanessie Hotel Santa Fe
Inn At Vanessie Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing