We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer friendly service, high prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Customer friendly service, high prices”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Buffalo Thunder is a beautiful resort with nice conference facilities. The room was clean but the sliding glass door did not lock. I called for service, left the room, came back and the lock had not been taken care of. I called again and the engineer showed me that it had to be pushed hard....hmmm. Still had trouble. There was only a sheer curtain so anyone could come by and peak in. The air conditioner panel did not work but it was late and did not bother calling. Took out a blanket. Avoid the gift shop as their prices are extremely high....price gouging! $10.56 for a pack of cigarettes and $3.00 for a bottle of coke (you can get them for $2.00 in the vending machines next to the ice machines. Found that out later.) No free wifi and frankly, that should be a given. The staff was very friendly and professional. At the conference I attended, they served box lunches which one of my colleagues compared it to adult happy meals. Weak sandwich, potato chips and store bought cookies....sad as I am sure that they were expensive. The lemonades was the powdered type. I would not return for a vacation. There were seedy characters around. The Red Sage had excellent food and service. The bar drinks were expensive but the bartender, Guy, was hysterical. The grill in the casino was quite good. For a resort, the pools were quite small. Probably won't come back unless it is for a conference. As far as the casino? I didn't hear anyone 'winning' each time I went down.....hmmm

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and outside air conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginasugarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear ginasugarland,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you found the service level at our resort to be a 5-Star experience. I was however concerned that you had an issue with your room regarding the locking mechanism as well as a missing blackout curtain. These items I will investigate immediately and have them corrected right away.
Thank you again for your candid comments and I will let Guy know how much you enjoyed his humor!
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
hal.leonard@hilton.com
(505) 819-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    628
    301
    126
    80
See reviews for
514
958
77
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Overall very good experience. First stop on our vacation. Rooms were very nice and comfortable, with a balcony. Close to the elevator, but was still a long walk to the lobby. Wife leisured in the pool area, while I went to the casino. Very impressed with the design work of the building. Buffet had a good variety of food. Turquoise Bar and Grill was okay for getting a drink, not so desirable if ordering from the grill. Waited a long time for food to come out, when it finally arrived it was cold. Deli was good for getting sandwich or pizza. Casino area was nice and clean. Wife enjoyed the pool with a bar. Nice place for a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank dannyb426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at this property for a couple of nights. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean.
I did not find that the hotel staff was especially polite. The service did not compare to the sister property up on the hill.

We were not informed of the on sight entertainment.
I also had the same problem as the other reviewers in that the internet service was spotty in my room. It was bizarre given that I did not have the same problem on the hill.

The hotel is a little too far from town.

Room Tip: Upper floor in wing 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear QueenMemphis,
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms nicely decorated and clean, however disappointed that our internet service did not meet your needs. I understand how frustrating this can be and we are currently looking at solutions to overcome the poor connectivity that you have mentioned. I was also happy to hear that you enjoyed the service at our sister property, the Homewood Suites.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Buffalo Thunder resort and casino is a very large facility, conveniently located just outside Santa Fe.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. Room service is prompt and a number of restaurants are available on the property.

We stayed for two nights, played some golf, are dinner at the resort and visited the spa and pool.

The concierge desk was very helpful setting up our golf and offering suggestions and organizing activities on our behalf.
We did not have a chance visit the on site casino or live music - but we understand from other guests that these two activities were excellent fun!

Our only issue - even as a gold Hilton Honors member was enabling the Wifi. The HHonors signal just would not stay connected to any of our multiple devices - frustrating indeed.

That aside - this is a great facility for families and large groups!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear JP,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms comfortable and clean, Room Service prompt and the Concierge staff helpful during your stay. I'm sorry that the poor Wi-Fi during your stay had such a negative effect on your visit and can assure you that we are always looking for better ways to improve connectivity to multiple devices. We would like to see your overall rating improve from a 3 to a 5, so your comments will help us to work on these shortcomings.
Thank you again for your review!
All the Best

Hal Leonard
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosque famrs nm, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

the golfing experience was very much fun, great well kept course with beautiful views The casino is smoky with a stale smell The room are clean and current, however we could hear the people as they were passing in the hall at night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel provides a high end feel. But the smaller amenities will cost you ie., a bottle of water and wifi. The snack tray provided in the room is tempting but a bag of M&M's will cost you $3.00! At least the coffee was free!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Glorya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We've been here several times and find it relaxing as you don't need to leave the premises. Room wifi is very slow. There's everything here but an accessible lift for either of the two pools. We asked when we checked in to make sure the indoor pool lift would be operable in the morning. It wasn't! Lots of excuses. "The kids break them." Really! The lifts are there for handicapped accessibility. Often swimming is an important exercise. Come on Hilton.

Room Tip: The hotel is large and rooms are often a good distance from the elevator. A manual wheelchair is dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing