We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo Thunder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
“Buffalo Thunder”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My only complaint is that Hilton charges for wifi. Overall we had a vey pleasant stay there. The Casino ventilation was inadequate and had an unpleasant smell. The balcony and fireplace were very nice additions to our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Benedic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    634
    303
    127
    82
See reviews for
524
969
77
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After finally getting the room that we had reserved (after 2 moves and a key to an occupied room), we were upgraded to a beautiful suite over looking part of the golf course. Location to Santa Fe was excellent....furnishings were beautiful and the Red Sage restaurant was worth every cent (we ate there 3 nights out of 3)

Room Tip: Ask for close to elevator....the halls are very long
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Came here for our 35th wedding anniversary weekend. Thought we'd pop the extra bucks for a King Terrace Suite (Room 5214)....beautiful room inside, but could never use the terrace as it overlooked the huge HVAC compressors that run 24/7. The noise outside was so loud, you couldn't even hear yourself think. Really wish we would have went for a cheaper room with a view.....heck even looking at the parking lot would have been an improvement.

Resort itself has it's up's & downs. Nice property, clean, & the Red Sage is a great dining option. The casino restaurants are exactly what you would expect....don't get your hopes up too high.

Their "fitness center" was a joke.....old machines, 2 out of 3 treadmills broken, some weight equipment missing adjustment knobs, and the best of all...the water cooler in the corner was totally empty for 2 days. Not sure if the staff even knows this room exists, let alone maintain it.

But as we have learned over the last 35 years.....make the best of the situation and roll/laugh with the punches. We had a good time, but I don't see us ever returning to this property.

Room Tip: ask to see your room first and check the view from the balcony before it's too late!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwgncolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear jwgncolo,
I truly appreciate you candid review of your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you selected our resort to celebrate your 35th Anniversary and that you felt we had a nice, clean property with our Red Sage restaurant, a great dining option.
I was disappointed that the large HVAC unit generated so much noise, however wanted you to know that we are currently moving this unit to another location further from the building. This will eliminate the noise concerns and also provide significantly improved views of the mountains and our outdoor swimming pool. I did an immediate inspection of our fitness facility and did observe the poor condition of our equipment. There is no excuse for our failure in this area and I currently have a Precor repairman on site to correct the problems with these machines. I'm just sorry that you had to experience these shortcomings before we had an opportunity to fix them.
I would like to invite you back to our resort on your next visit to Santa Fe and can assure you that all of the issues you have brought to our attention will be eliminated. I have added my contact information below for your reference.
Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 281-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pros: room was nice, clean, and quiet. Staff was generally helpful and friendly. Artwork on property very nice. Cons: no free wifi (virtually everywhere I stay in the world nowadays has free wifi); food very mediocre if not downright poor (buffet), something healthy would be nice. Golf course very good. In sum: won't return to stay, but may play golf course again. Golf fees very reasonable, reort/room fees outrageous. Would rather stay within walking distance of Canyon Road for same or less per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalGalStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear CalGalStavanger,
Thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was very pleased to read that you found our guestrooms "nice, clean and quiet.....staff helpful and friendly......and our Golf course very good. I was sorry to hear that the food in our Painted Parrot buffet was only mediocre and that we charge $9.95/day for wireless internet. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby areas and Business Center for your convenience.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again and would ask that you contact me personally prior to your visit. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucumcari, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently stayed 5 nights for a business conference. Buffalo Thunder is a beautiful property, but encountered a few issues. Housekeeping left the iron and ironing board out for three days. Also, housekeeping barged in while I was changing clothes, even after several attempts to stop her from entering the room!?!? I ended up having to yell at her to get out! Overall very clean, but noticed water bottles on the bottom of the pool. Andres at the front desk was a bright spot for this hotel! My wife and I are bariatric patients and have special dietary needs. There are no refrigerators in-room, but had supplements/shakes, etc. that required refrigeration. We explained our situation to Andres and he immediately called to have a refrigerator put in our room. We dealt with him several and each time he was friendly, understanding and extremely helpful! Wish the hotel would provide free wifi....especially for those that are there for business! Overall a good experience, but only thanks to Andres!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 575Bryan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Bryan,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was very pleased to read that Andres from the Front Desk made such a big impression on you. He is truly a fine team member and I will make sure to share your comments with Andres on the personalized service that he provided you and your wife. I was disappointed that our Housekeeping Department failed to return the iron and board to your closet and that the housekeeper failed to honor your request not to enter your room. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper for his follow-up.
Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Santa Fe.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Pros: humongous rooms! Beautiful decor. Friendly staff. Spectacular views of the mountains. Good location along highway.

Cons: indoor pool is small. Praying is limited adjacent to hotel, had to circle several times before finding a space.

I took my two boys here as a stop on our vacation and they loved this place! The room was so spacious and beautiful. They thoroughly enjoyed the pools but if you are an adult seeking relaxation in the hit tub, forget about it, so many kids. I would definitely go back and actually plan on it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank missjazzsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fossil, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lobby and rooms very nice. Drawback is getting a balcony room above the heating and cooling equipment. Could not go outside and sit and enjoy the view. Buffet soso, casino small but clean room service not worth the price, shops reasonable and starbucks awesome.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in wing 2 overlooking tennis courts or you will be oner Hvac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,322 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
935 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,623 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing