We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Get-A-Way ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our King with Balcony and Fireplace room was lovely. We enjoyed the morning sun on the balcony and appreciated the fine furniture, furnishings and artwork in our room as well as the wonderful collection of Native American artwork throughout the hotel. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and the bathroom accessories & shower were great. It would have been nice, however, to have a second mirror over the desk in the main room for female hair & make-up prep while my husband was shaving & showering.

The young man that welcomed us at the Front Desk when we checked in was especially nice, as were most of the Front Desk staff. The wait staff in the Red Sage, Painted Parrot Buffet, Mica and theTurquoise Trail restaurants all provided excellent service and the man at the Pool Cafe was also pleasant. It was delightful dining outside by the pool which was serviced by Red Sage. Jennifer in the Turquoise Trail went out of her way to explain the menu, which she said was new, and she also enthusiastically explained the benefits of the Lightning Rewards Club

We enjoyed our round of golf at Towa Golf Club which, luckily, we completed just before that heavy storm on Monday afternoon. The golf course was beautiful & challenging but we missed having restroom, drinking water & a refreshment cart on the golf course. We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus into Santa Fe so we could spend a day there and have a lovely dinner. On our last day, we relaxed around the pool for several hours which was pleasant even though the young kids took over the pool.

All and all, we had a pleasant get-a-way. There are, however, some suggestions that we may offer to new visitors.

This hotel has two adjacent buildings and if you have a room in the secondary builiding where the spa is located, please be prepared to walk a little further to the main building where the restaurants and casino are located. As we mentioned earlier, we had a lovely room with a partial view of the golf course and were happy to walk the extra steps.

If you are staying for more than one day, please be aware that Housekeeping may not service your room until early afternoon so if you wish to have them clean your room earlier, please let them know.

One other thing ... although we managed to try all of the dining options available ... we found the options very limited. On Monday & Tuesday, the only option for dinner was Red Sage & the Red Sage Bar. Our preference would have been Mica, rather than the casino options. More outdoor dining would be great. No place to get a late night cup of java or ice cream. We also missed having free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank starspar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful architecture and an amazing collection of local art Buffalo Thunder is well worth the money. The pool is huge and the hot tub is just right. They also have a nice little fitness center. Food wise the Turquoise Trail has the best chicken enchilada I have encountered at a reasonable price. The rooms are super clean and very sound proof. You can't hear noise above or below you. You can hear stuff out in the hall, but that's it. A few warnings however. The wifi is not free in your room. It cost an additional 9.95 per night per device. Also, if you want to go hit a few balls at their driving range, there is a dress code.

Room Tip: avoid the second floor near the pool area. Shoot for the 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kdockery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Beautifully decorated hotel, reflecting the Native American cultures of New Mexico. Pleasant, welcoming staff; very comfortable room. Outstanding experience in every aspect. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank chilipeppers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My only complaint is that Hilton charges for wifi. Overall we had a vey pleasant stay there. The Casino ventilation was inadequate and had an unpleasant smell. The balcony and fireplace were very nice additions to our room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Benedic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After finally getting the room that we had reserved (after 2 moves and a key to an occupied room), we were upgraded to a beautiful suite over looking part of the golf course. Location to Santa Fe was excellent....furnishings were beautiful and the Red Sage restaurant was worth every cent (we ate there 3 nights out of 3)

Room Tip: Ask for close to elevator....the halls are very long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Came here for our 35th wedding anniversary weekend. Thought we'd pop the extra bucks for a King Terrace Suite (Room 5214)....beautiful room inside, but could never use the terrace as it overlooked the huge HVAC compressors that run 24/7. The noise outside was so loud, you couldn't even hear yourself think. Really wish we would have went for a cheaper room with a view.....heck even looking at the parking lot would have been an improvement.

Resort itself has it's up's & downs. Nice property, clean, & the Red Sage is a great dining option. The casino restaurants are exactly what you would expect....don't get your hopes up too high.

Their "fitness center" was a joke.....old machines, 2 out of 3 treadmills broken, some weight equipment missing adjustment knobs, and the best of all...the water cooler in the corner was totally empty for 2 days. Not sure if the staff even knows this room exists, let alone maintain it.

But as we have learned over the last 35 years.....make the best of the situation and roll/laugh with the punches. We had a good time, but I don't see us ever returning to this property.

Room Tip: ask to see your room first and check the view from the balcony before it's too late!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jwgncolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear jwgncolo,
I truly appreciate you candid review of your recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was pleased to read that you selected our resort to celebrate your 35th Anniversary and that you felt we had a nice, clean property with our Red Sage restaurant, a great dining option.
I was disappointed that the large HVAC unit generated so much noise, however wanted you to know that we are currently moving this unit to another location further from the building. This will eliminate the noise concerns and also provide significantly improved views of the mountains and our outdoor swimming pool. I did an immediate inspection of our fitness facility and did observe the poor condition of our equipment. There is no excuse for our failure in this area and I currently have a Precor repairman on site to correct the problems with these machines. I'm just sorry that you had to experience these shortcomings before we had an opportunity to fix them.
I would like to invite you back to our resort on your next visit to Santa Fe and can assure you that all of the issues you have brought to our attention will be eliminated. I have added my contact information below for your reference.
Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience.
Sincerely

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 281-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pros: room was nice, clean, and quiet. Staff was generally helpful and friendly. Artwork on property very nice. Cons: no free wifi (virtually everywhere I stay in the world nowadays has free wifi); food very mediocre if not downright poor (buffet), something healthy would be nice. Golf course very good. In sum: won't return to stay, but may play golf course again. Golf fees very reasonable, reort/room fees outrageous. Would rather stay within walking distance of Canyon Road for same or less per night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CalGalStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal L, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear CalGalStavanger,
Thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder. I was very pleased to read that you found our guestrooms "nice, clean and quiet.....staff helpful and friendly......and our Golf course very good. I was sorry to hear that the food in our Painted Parrot buffet was only mediocre and that we charge $9.95/day for wireless internet. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby areas and Business Center for your convenience.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again and would ask that you contact me personally prior to your visit. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.
Sincerely,

Hal Leonard
General Manager
(505) 819-2000
hal.leonard@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,462 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £76 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing