We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for 'old town' and out-of-town activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Northern VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for 'old town' and out-of-town activities”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here at the beginning of August. It was outside Santa Fe, but the short drive provided wonderful views. The hotel has a lot to offer -- great art and decor, multiple dining options, a spa, on site activities, and excellent accommodations. I loved my king suite with gas fireplace. The room decor was modern yet creatively influenced by the native culture. The bathroom was clean, and the room service was always very good. There is valet parking for a modest fee should you need it (which I did on one night when the hotel/casino kept the parking lot packed). The continental breakfast was perfectly adequate. All lunches, and some dinners, I ate off-site. It would have been very pricey to always eat on site. The spa was very nice -- if you are an Honors member, make sure to find out all of the hotel's perks beforehand (e.g., I found out a little too late that I could have gone to the spa's hot tub at will with my Honors membership). There's really nothing about this property that I would complain about except that the front desk folks were not as friendly, experienced or professional as I would expect -- but no major blunders there. All in all, a great stay, where I was able to feel a bit pampered, and I would stay here again if I ever visited Santa Fe again.

Room Tip: I always request rooms on higher floors and away from the elevator, and here was no exception. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trippygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    641
    307
    130
    83
See reviews for
537
987
77
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the Buffalo Thunder Resort each time, now our fourth - maybe fifth, stay. The staff is very helpful and accommodations comfortable and sometimes luxurious. Anxious for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Randal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We can tell you from experience, that you will never stay at a more welcoming hotel than the Hilton Hotels. We have always found everyone of there staff are friendly and always ready to assist you. Their hotels are extremely clean and inviting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Betty J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The rooms were excellent and the place was very clean. We did not eat at any of the restaurants they were expensive and way too many great choices elsewhere. I required the use if a wheelchair while at the resort and one was furnished no problem for 5 days. The pool is disappointing tons if kids no food or drink service and difficulty getting towels overall we had a fun stay and would recommend for value and location

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnbehrndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

During a recent road trip we booked this hotel the day before we arrived at a very reasonable rate. The room was large, clean, comfortable and well maintained. We didn't use our two night stay as a resort vacation, but as a location to visit the Santa Fe area.The Plaza in Santa Fe is less than an easy fifteen minute drive away. A beautiful outside pool with very nice areas to sit and enjoy coffee or other beverages is a centerpiece of the resort. Starbucks is on the premises, but is only affiliated with the parent company. The lobby and interior hallways are very well appointed with attractive colors and beautiful art. Not being gamblers, the casino was a casino to us. We didn't eat at the hotel, but checked out the varied menus of the attractive restaurants with resort prices. This is a very nice property that provides very enjoyable accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islands100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were upgraded to a junior suite which was nice and spacious. We did not read the photo captions properly and expected to see water from our room but that is part of the golf course and was taken by a clever photographer. Most rooms overlook the car park, air conditioners but some do overlook the pool - do not think it is worth paying extra for a balcony as there is not really a view that makes it worth sitting on the balcony. Housekeeping did a really good job of replacing items. We are diamond members. The hotel treats its diamond members very well with free valet parking, free breakfast, 2 small bottles of water on arrival and an upgrade subject to availability. So many Hiltons these day make us feel like we are as nuisance when we check in as Diamond members - it was nice to feel welcome as a guest who spends a lot of money at Hiltons. We were also allowed to upgrade our continental to full for $3.50 but the continental was adequate. Their bran muffins were delicious but obviously tons of calories. A couple of healthy items like cucumber, tomatoes, cheese and boiled eggs which you normally get in Europe at a continental breakfast would have been great but we cannot complain as our breakfast was free. Not sure it was worth paying for though as there were limited items and mostly unhealthy pastries with a bit of fruit, bread, bagels - nothing if you are trying to stick to a low sugar diet. Being downtown would have been fun as you could just walk out of the hotel and be a tourist but none of the downtown hotels looked as appealing as the Buffalo Thunder despite the not so great views. We attended the opera and would stay at this hotel again as it was very convenient to get to the opera.

Room Tip: The junior suites are nice and spacious with nice big bathrooms. Most rooms overlook car park so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z-Trav999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

You could spend a lot more and not get the value you receive here. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The artwork in the public areas is amazing. It's a beautiful resort and all the rooms have a patio or porch, just lovely to sit on and look at the wonderful views. We only ate breakfast here but the food was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. I'm not much of a gambler so I lost my $5.00 and quit, it only took a minute. The only negative for me was the room service trays were left in the hallways for two days. Management should work on that since it seems a simple thing to take care of.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblueprescottaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,787 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,222 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87506-2790
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing