We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, convenient, cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #8 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We are moving across country with two dogs and towing a large trailer, so we were very relieved Pueblo Bonita had a room for us after a 14 hour drive. It was close to dowtown, where we wanted to be but we were concerned about parking, they made special arrangements for us to park our truck and trailer in their lot. They accommodated us with a dog friendly suite and although it was a bit dated, it was southwest charming and had everything we needed. Breakfast was simple, continental style but improved by our hosts touring advice. Overall this was a wonderful place to stay and we would like to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelbyLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Shelby,
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and to accommodate you and your dogs during your surely exhausting move. We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, as well, and appreciate all of your compliments. We hope you had fun relaxing and exploring Santa Fe! Please come back anytime.
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I were celebrating her retirement from the teaching profession, and were looking for a get away. We had not been to Santa Fe in over 15 years and didn't know a thing about it. We got online and just looked and price and location were considerations. We had stayed in some B&B's in Texas and thought we would like to try this and get some of the "Old Santa Fe charm". We were not disappointed. It is not fancy nor fully updated, but if we had wanted that, we would have stayed at a resort. It is within walking distance to all of the downtown areas and historic sites and restaurants. The continental breakfast was great. It was just enough to get the day started before we would eat at all the great restaurants. And our hosts were just super. They would spend time telling us the history of the inn and giving us directions on the sites downtown as well as the area. There is so much to do in and around Santa Fe and they were extemely helpful in giving us options. They were just good folks to talk to and always asked what they could do to make our stay better or more comfortable. Needless to say, when we travel back to Santa Fe, we will not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: A little noisy from the street behind, but ear plugs work great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Mike, so glad to hear from you and thank you for letting us know that you had an excellent visit with us at our inn and in Santa Fe. It was a pleasure serving you and your wife. Thank you for including us in your special celebration get-away. As you stated our location is prime and our prices the best in downtown (no hidden costs- everything is included: breakfast, tea, parking, maid service, Wifi, fireplace, etc). We intentionally take time each day to connect with our guests and find out their likes, vacation goals and interests. We design personalized walking or driving tours for them based upon these things which allow them to maximize their Northern New Mexico touring experience. I am a native Santa Fean and Pueblo Bonito has been in my family since the early 70's. My husband and I have serviced Santa Fe visitors for 25+ years, eaten in most restaurants, raised two kids, and share our first hand knowledge of area "to do's" and attractions that simply are not written down. We enjoy what we do, and believe we do it well. We enjoy doing things the old fashioned way- one on one personally with our guests. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a very special memory- of your celebration, Santa Fe and Pueblo Bonito! This is extremely important to us. As you stated also, Pueblo Bonito is perfect for folks who want to experience traditional Santa Fe culture, authentic New Mexico history and the intimacy of a owner run b&b with the convenience of walking anywhere in downtown Santa Fe in 10 minutes or less! We'll see you next time.... Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Pueblo Bonito Inn is a charming, home-like cluster of rooms and suites. I liked the kiva the best - full kitchens are a big plus. Great location. Very comfortable beds. The hosts are very helpful and attentive. When they noticed my friend was not walking well, they reassigned the rooms so they would be more accessible. They also recommended close sites of interest and gave us a pedicab ph. # we would not have had. It is a very cozy, restful place. You will be treated with care and consideration.

Room Tip: recommend downstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneH258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Lynne,
Thanks very much for your kind review and for staying with us last month. We appreciate your compliments on and appreciation of our historic property! Built over 150 years ago, the cluster of adobe buildings were once all a part of a circuit judge's private estate. In 1930, they were converted to apartments. Finally, in 1970, the property came into my family, and we're doing our best to preserve its heritage. We're very proud of the kiva fireplaces in every room, so it's great to hear that was one of your favorite features of our inn! It was our pleasure to ensure you and your friends' comfort and ease; we have no problem accommodating our guests with different rooms, when it's possible. We're so glad you found your stay cozy and restful and hope you had fun exploring Santa Fe. We love taking care of our guests and appreciate your acknowledgement of being well cared for! Next time you are in town, we hope to welcome you back again!
Warm regards,
Amy Behm
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Arriving after a hard evening of driving due to a snow storm, we arrived after the office was closed. After a small mix up we got our key and settled in for the night. The fireplaces available in each room was delightful and warm. The next morning, it was an easy walk to old town Santa fe. The breakfast was wonderful and refreshingly light. A must stay for anyone passing through!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katowisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Lynne, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our inn, I really enjoyed meeting you, even at 12:00 midnight when you arrived (we're glad you arrived safely). I'm also very appreciative of the immediate communication you shared with me upon check in regarding your needs. Because of this, we easily made an adjustment which provided you with two beds not one (as reserved) and both you and your traveling partner were comfortable and happy- as you should be. I appreciate guests who allow us to do what we can for them (within reason) and value the effort we put forth on their behalf. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast- I agree ... we do have excellent breakfasts that don't weigh you down! Stop by on your way through Santa Fe anytime! We'd love to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This B&B needs some major updating. New towels and sheets are needed, and the place could stand a good cleaning. Pictures online look much better than they do in person. Location was fine and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Santa Fe, and thank you for reviewing us. We're happy you enjoyed the breakfast and our downtown location. We appreciate your feedback about the room, however I'd like to address some of your comments. We received a new inventory of plush, cotton Martex towels and Egyptian cotton sheets this past August. I know that the older set of sheets and towels couldn't have been put in your room mistakenly, as we had donated them to a local charity. Also, our historic adobe property is 150 years old, and we strive to preserve its authentic Northern New Mexico heritage. Therefore, we resist making any major updates or renovations that would compromise its integrity. A quirky, rustic aesthetic and atmosphere is not for everyone, but I can assure you that our inn is clean. Thanks again for sharing your concerns. For 26 years we've enjoyed and taken pride in our personal care of the guests, and I hope we helped you enjoy your time in Santa Fe. The next time you visit, we hope you can give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Amy Behm, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

the title says it all. the rooms were historic and quaint. the breakfast was pretty disappointing. great location.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank LauraR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Wonderful to know you enjoyed our accomodations and personal service as the tltle states "cute building and rooms, great hosts". We appreciate your feedback and evaluation of breakfast as well. Our breakfast offering is a buffet style with no "cook to order" items consisting of a variety of freshly cut fruits, yogarts, boiled eggs, a coffee cake (cinnamon crumble or cream cheese is always a popular one!), baked breads (banana walnut, cranberry walnut cream, pumpkin, gluten free cinnamon/raisen, etc), cereals (granola, corn flakes and gluten free offerings), toaster items including a variety of bagels (everything, plain, english muffins, etc) & smears (salmon, chive, veggie, cream cheese, etc), cinnamon swirl french toast, oatmeal, raspberry preserves, peanut butter, juice, milk, 12 different teas and of course a strong, smooth pot of coffee. We find our offering to be well received by the majority (several recent reviews refer to breakfast as top notch, excellent, perfect, even kudos!). Personal preferences do vary and for that I respect your comments. We have considered hot breakfast service, however with 19 rooms, we feel we'd become more restaurant like and impersonal. Adding hot breakfasts in the morning for over 50 people (max capacity) would take away from personal time spent with guests to plan day activities with no guarantee a featured breakfast item would be prefered. A chef would be the ticket for that, which would drive our room rates up- so there's alot to consider. Thanks for the suggestions- as always, we'll keep them in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was a terrible disappointment for my wife and I (and my mom who joined us in another room). We are experienced travelers/campers and not genteel prudes. Our room ("Nambe") did not at all come close to the advertising on the website, the pictures and prose of which seem to misrepresent. The room was dark (poor lighting and light fixtures), stuffy, dingy (dirty might be a debatable term) and VERY NOISY(we are talking motorcycles and trucks at three am). The kiva fireplace was usable only for a smelly artificial log and certainly did not allow for the cozy, romantic, "rip-roaring fire" advertised on the website.The windows were either permanently shut or too small and too near street level to open. Even the TV remotes (you needed two for some reason) were problematic. The bathroom was way too small with an undersized sink and mirror. If you weigh over 185lbs you may not find the toilet and access thereto too comfortable as well. The bed was no bargain. Our rooms were awkwardly laid out with more space for a walk-in closet than for the bathroom. The space heater was dirty/grungy and the a/c fan provided no relief from the aforesaid stuffiness, even if we were to trust the cleanliness of its filter. One of the rooms had the a/c in a window right behind the headboard! A soft, cozy rug or two might have helped as well. "Quaint it ain't"!

On the pro side, the breakfast was indeed first rate and exceeded that provided by the Inn we moved to (we had originally planned to spend the week at Pueblo Bonito) after the first sleepless night of our week stay in Santa Fe. Other rooms might fair better so ask, ask, ask.

Room Tip: Do not take a room "streetside". DO NOT book multi-day visits w/o first hand room preview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardk573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santafeinnkeeper, Owner at Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Though we are truly saddened that this trio determined the need to leave our inn early, in our defense- no communication was provided by the guest regarding the extreme dissatisfaction expressed herein (with one exception- "noisy" as stated on day 2 of stay). Upon arrival the trio was personally escorted to reserved rooms- Nambe & Santa Clara. This allowed staff to acquaint guests with room location, amenities and other particulars. Things like how the TV works, the size of bathroom, how to start a fire in the kiva, how to make a call on the room phone, reaffirm bed size, how to get ice, and other specifics are pointed out. This is a mandatory procedure at our inn which we find to be very beneficial in providing guests the opportunity to ask questions, express cares or concerns as well as avail staff the opportunity to meet expressed needs or make corrections if necessary. Prior to leaving the guests room, the question "Will this be satisfactory?" is always posed. In this case nothing was stated- no indication of dissatisfaction. Hours later that day, during tea time, the guests and staff exchanged enjoyable conversation in our communal room with no mention of dissatisfaction or expression of concern. The following morning however, the reviewing guest arrived in the office and did state that the noise level was unacceptable. He requested an early check out for both reserved rooms and was set on leaving. The three enjoyed our breakfast, packed up and departed for new location. Later that morning we received a call requesting we check one of the rooms this guest had check out of as they had left an item behind. Call back number was one of a local motel not in the downtown area (assumed to get away from downtown area due to possible noise). We do sincerely apologize that your experience at our inn was not as positive as we would have hoped, but we do agree in recommendation to “Ask, Ask, Ask”. Please allow hospitality staff to serve you as they hope to do when you are a guest at an inn, b&b or hotel, etc. Communicating your needs will allow us to make you more comfortable, and if we can’t we would much rather find alternative accommodations for you than have you leave unhappy. We want you to enjoy your vacation… after all- you’ve earned it. FYI: All photos and descriptions on our website portray realistically our facility, rooms, location, decor, lay out and specific amenities, etc. I (owner) am the photographer with no professional training and use a digital pocket sure shot camera! Pueblo Bonito b&b is a jewel for many, but it is not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,648 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 138 W Manhattan Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: £99 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded historic adobe pueblo downtown Santa Fe Bed and breakfast. Walk to plaza, shops, galleries, museums, restaurants and all historic sites! 1860 built original adobe pueblo-style compound. Three buildings on one acre housing 19 individually decorated and charming, historic adobe guest rooms. Kiva fireplace, private bath and private entrance in 18 private rooms. New Mexico breakfast buffet features handmade "Pueblo Tamales" and secret family recipe "Green Chile Stew" complimented by a wide array of other traditional American offerings. Afternoon cookies and welcome drinks all day are complimentary for guests. Affordable. Don't just stay in Santa Fe- Experience real history at Pueblo Bonito bed and breakfast inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Hotel Santa Fe
Pueblo Bonito Bed And Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing