We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor with a good location”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting decor with a good location”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Hotel St. Francis is in a very good downtown location, easily walkable to the main sites. The room was nice, quiet, neutral decor, although, as other reviews note, not huge. The sink area was a little small, awkward design/or the room could use an additional mirror. Hotel has a porch area, which was nice to sit outside and have coffee in the morning (Starbucks very close to the hotel, as are many good restaurants).

Overall, based on the location, the interesting decor, and the decent price I got on expedia (package air/hotel savings), I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sunnybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    316
    148
    83
    48
See reviews for
127
523
121
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our three day, two night stay at this historic, charming hotel. As others have noted, the lobby is exquisite... Beautifully done and comfortable. We elected for a classic queen room, for the government rate of 83 per night, the price was unbeatable in the area which is in the heart of the old historic district and easily within walking distance to museums, restaurants and shopping. The front desk was professional and acommodating during checkin and throughout our stay. The rooms are small, cozy, and very well appointed. I estimate that the sleeping area was about 12' x 12', with an alcove for the sink area and a separate small bathroom. I envision a monk may have lived in such quarters, which I would characterize as simple, austere, spartan. The recent upgrades were a nice touch. My wife and I arrived here with a change of clothes and some toiletries, which fit in the room fine. If you plan on bringing your entire wardrobe and half your house, you may want to look elsewhere, this place suits minimalists best. My only real gripe.about the room would have to be the shower, which I found to ne somewhat small. At 5'9", 150lbs I am not a large individual, but I found it challenging to.shower without hitting the shower curtains on each side. A larger person, 6' 200lbs might feel downright claustrophobic. I occasionally had to hear hallway chatter from my fellow guests but I ran the fan at night and the white noise sufficiently muffled voices and I got a good nights sleep on a comfy bed with supremely clean linens and 6 well stuffed pillows. There was free WiFi in the room and a small flatscreen tv hidden behind what appeared to be an antique cabinet. All around awesome experience at this hotel. Oh, my wife thought the elevator smelled like fish, but I thought the odor was closer to leather. Still, inexplicable smell in the elevator.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bluepondfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is an older hotel with a European feel: luxurious linens, very comfortable bed, small rooms, tasteful furnishings. The lobby is spacious and tranquil. When we were there, a huge woodburning fireplace and dozens of candles added to the ambiance. The location couldn't be better; it is within easy walking distance of the Plaza, the Palace of Governors, the Basilica of St Francis, numerous museums,the Loretto Chapel and the very chic shops of Santa Fe. Of course there are many wonderful restaurants in Santa Fe, but I don't think you can beat the restaurant in the hotel, The Tabla de Los Santos. The food is wonderful! Alejandro, our waiter, provides excellent and personal service. During our stay we had dinner as well as breakfast there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suggest southside, but not street level. Pet fee is $50 a night . . . we left the cat at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The location is unbeatable, right in town. The lobby is gorgeous, decorated simply with candles and relidious icons. I loved the spartan convent decor which is in keeping with hotel's history. Crisp white bed linen, comfy beds, white walls, dark metal hinges, and wooden furniture. The room sizes are a little smaller than normal, but this didn't bother me. Parking costs extra.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JodieBrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The food is too die for at the St. Francis! Have the naked chile - immediately!! The chile they use is incredible, no one else has it. Try the eggs in the morning - incredible!! This hotel is very very special (eat, pray, love - I truly mean it). Candles everywhere - it's like being in the lobby of a castle right in the heart of Santa Fe. Check out the hotel photos and you'll see what I mean. They have a great restaurant with a fireplace - just what everyone wants. They have the Secreto Bar - which is fabulous. Big fireplace to warm you in the lobby. Rooms are very easy to get to by elevator or just take the grand staircase. Their beds are like a heavenly cloud. Insider tip: Your room will be bigger if you ask for a double! All the pluses are there: flat screen tv, rain shower head, casement windows and a beautiful bowl sink. It's just classy and simple. From the hotel you are just steps to the Loretto chapel and of course the plaza and all the shops are just right there. Park out front ... so easy. Try this hotel. It's my second stay and I'll be back again for more. Can't wait. Hasta Luego!

Room Tip: What the St. Francis insiders know: if you want a bigger room then just ask for a double bed. Simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is one of those hotels you think you know about...but you don't! This is no typical luxury, boutique or independent hotel, this is truly an experience. If you're in the area and looking around this hotel or Chimayo are the two I recommend! What makes me so knowledgeable? I travel over 100 days of the year and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world -- but this one has a truly unique feel nestled just a block from just about everything by the plaza.

From the soft white walls, small check-in desk, cozy couches in a truly interactive lobby, there's nothing better than siting by the enormous fire with some hot chocolate with friends...and maybe a bottle of wine! Of course I stayed there recently and had to brag about it. If hotels were built like this in every city, Hilton, Marriott and Starwood may just lose this Gold/Platinum guest forever!

Do me a favor and just stay at this hotel for one night, I promise you'll not want to leave.

SPECIAL SECRET...ask for a Wake Up Call, it'll be an experience you'll never forget!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with about 80 rooms or so. Many of the rooms vary in size, make sure you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gregorio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Eighteen consecutive years at the St. Francis, on the way from ABQ to Taos Ski Valley, have found the hotel to be comfortable, clean, courteously staffed, unpretentious, and all at a surpisingly reasonable cost,

The hotel was built in the early 20th century, but has continued to upgrade its facilities. The rooms are comfortably sized,, the attached bathroom fixtures have been upgraded,, but regretably, the old passenger elevator with a self-operated gate has been replaced with a new model.

The hotel is conveniently located near the town square,the palace of the Governors, the cathedral, and a number of good restaurants., all within a five minute walk.

A charming complimentary tea service with cookies and cakes, reminiscent of an older and more civilized era, is served every afternoon.

A real period piece, as opposed to some of the considerably higher priced extensively advertised other nearby hotels --in which I previously have stayed. I shall return to the St. Francis this February, on my way to my 24 th year of skiing Taos, and during my 77th year.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel, or the side over the hotel's parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peripatetic58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
887 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn at Vanessie
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Property: Hotel St. Francis
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Francis Santa Fe, New Mexico
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing