We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Francis
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villas de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Santa Fe Sage Inn(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,169)
Filter reviews
1,169 results
Traveller rating
525
338
163
87
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
338
163
87
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstabla de los santossecreto loungesmoked sagerooms are smallfull length mirrorcorner roombeautiful hotelfront desk staffbeautiful lobbywood floorsperfect locationhotel barstreet noiseper daythird floortwo blockscommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 1,169 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is a restored and modernized historic property just a block or so off the main plaza. The rooms are good, although the lighting is rather dim and they could really use a full length mirror. The front desk personnel were professional, courteous, and efficient. The bar is good and the restaurant is adequate. As with many Santa Fe hotels there is an additional charge for parking. A good hotel in a fine location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbuquerqueD_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel St Francis. We're so happy to hear you liked our front desk staff; we take pride in our guest service. The lighting in the rooms is partially on dimmer switches but we can always provide lamps and other amenities like full length mirrors upon request. We would love to welcome you back for some amazing cocktails on our front loggia; it is indeed one of the best locations in downtown Santa Fe. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We booked this hotel for one night, our first of our week-long trip. We were on a budget, and booked a standard room. The hotel is right in downtown Santa Fe, within walking distance of almost everything, so I was willing to pay a higher price for a smaller room. My first impression of the hotel was positive- as the lobby and outdoor lounge area were very nicely decorated. The lobby was really stunning; candles lit all around, high ceilings with arched entranceways to the other sections of the lobby, antique light fixtures with dim lights casting soft shadows all over the seating area, even a fireplace- it felt as though you had stepped into the past. It all oozed Southwest charm and history. Check-in was quick and we made our way up to the room, excited.
But when we opened the door, we were a little surprised. The door opened up right next to the head of the bed, and there was a sink across from the bed and the door. The room was very, very small, which was semi-expected, as this is an old hotel. I could have dealt with the size issue, but I felt that in other areas, it was clearly form over function. For instance, the sink only had two settings, fire hose, or light dribble. Anytime I needed to wash my hands, brush my teeth, or wash my face, everything was soaking wet; my clothes, the whole basin around the sink, and even the floor. The room's only mirror was behind the sink, and a dim light hung overhead. I found it difficult to see well enough to try and get ready to go out There wasn't anywhere to sit but the bed, which was comfortable but firm, with lots of saggy feather pillows.
And thank goodness my boyfriend and I are very close, because there was no privacy whatsoever! The toilet/shower room was directly off the bedroom, pretty much next to the bed. It was beyond tight!! You had to pick up the bathmat to open or close the door. There was a shower with no tub. The shower looked nice and modern, but it was so dark, I couldn't tell. Honestly, I could barely see, and there was not enough space for toiletries in the shower stall- most everything had to go on the floor. And thank goodness I put a towel down on the floor, because water went everywhere. The bathroom was really my biggest issue. Not having a sink near the toilet is also odd in my opinion. The view was of other rooms, right into their windows. Also you had to pay for parking, but they did offer free Wi-Fi. Overall, I was glad we only had to stay one night, as it was just too uncomfortable. If you do choose this hotel, I would definitely suggest getting a non- standard room... as I'm sure other parts of the hotel are just as good as everyone says in their reviews. If not, try the Inn of Governors right down the street- it looked pretty great- even had a pool

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hello Matanda28 and thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to hear that you liked our lovely remodeled lobby with its historic southwest charm. In fact, the entire hotel was remodeled in 2008 but since it is an historic building we could not remove walls during the remodel, necessitating sinks inside some of the guest rooms instead of inside the bathrooms. The bathroom lights have small dimmer switches on them and we do provide extra lamps for the rooms at the front desk. In any case, your review is very important to us and your comments have been discussed in our latest managers’ meeting. We would love the chance to welcome you back to enjoy a comfortable bed in a more spacious deluxe room the next time you and your partner visit Santa Fe. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at Hotel St. Francis earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with the exception of the one unfortunate dinner that we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant, Tabla. So I'll start with our poor experience and then describe how wonderful this hotel is. The restaurant menu looked absolutely delectable and after a week of chile-based meals, we opted to share the rib eye steak. Our first disappointment was when the server brought our meal with an extra plate, necessitating a sloppy table-side scrape and drop of the steak, potatoes and asparagus onto my plate. These days, it is very common to share meals, and we noted to one another that even the airport bar had split our shared lunch in the kitchen before bringing it to the table! We felt this was very poor presentation for a restaurant that presents itself as a fine dining establishment. I wish I could say that the meal was good enough to compensate for the do-it-yourself service attitude, but my steak was rubbery and the vegetables were unseasoned until I applied salt and pepper. I did not eat my steak (it wasn't worth the calories!) and the server apologized, discounted our bill and told us that we'd be contacted by the food and beverage manager the next day. We never heard from the food and beverage manager, but frankly we would have preferred to have a delicious steak instead of a discounted meal and an apology.
The hotel itself was lovely, serene, immaculately clean and exactly as represented in the website photos. Our standard king room had a large closet for our clothing and luggage and we are still talking about how comfortable the bed and bedding were. The desk staff was cordial and friendly and I had the most delicious cocktail ever in the Secreto bar (try the sage infused margarita...it is amazing). If we ever return to Santa Fe, we'll look forward to staying at the Hotel St. Francis again, but we will avoid the restaurant and walk across the street to Pasqual's cafe instead.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant! Enjoy the Secreto bar!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fjkdla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Hello fjkdla and thank you for posting a review of your stay here with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our historic, serene hotel and your king room. Our beds and linens are some of our favorite features as well and we're happy that you remember them fondly. Our staff does indeed pride itself on top notch guest service, and you are not the first guest to rave about the incredibly imaginative cocktails we serve in Secreto. Your comments about the restaurant have certainly been passed along and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We apologize if any part of your meal was less than relaxing and delicious and we do take your response seriously. We hope to welcome you back for another restful stay next time you come through the area. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at Hotel St. Francis twice during the last week while on business travel. Both times the hotel was very clean, staff were friendly, the food in the restaurant was fantastic. Alejandro, Jerry, Leah, and Alex were wonderful while we were dining the in the restaurant. I will definitely stay there again. Great Job!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happy_Traveler585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel St. Francis and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that your room and our staff accommodated your needs during your stay. We would like to welcome you back for an enjoyable meal in Tabla de los Santos. Jarenda Ortiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel that contributed greatly to our experience in Santa Fe.

They say that the look and feel of a hotel's lobby is essential to a hotel's success, and in the case of the Hotel St. Francis in Santa Fe, they nailed it! I actually booked this hotel because of its serene, museum-like lobby filled with religious objects and relics. The historic photos on the second floor were amazing.

We had a ground-floor, doggie-friendly room which was sufficiently large, clean and bright, with tall ceilings and nice linens.

We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, the "La Table de Los Santos", and our waiter Carlos was a delight! He was sweet and funny and made a terrific experience for us. The dinner and dessert was excellent.

This hotel and restaurant are also perfectly located in the Santa Fe Plaza area.

A big thumbs up, and as always we are grateful for their dog friendly policy.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hello PTown4545 and thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're so glad to hear we helped you enjoy your visit to Santa Fe! Our property is the oldest hotel in the city, and we love the fact that you appreciated its serenity and charm as well as its historic significance. Carlos and all the rest of our friendly staff would love to welcome you and your pup back to Hotel St Francis the next time you have a Santa Fe adventure. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews