We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly Disappointed”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We looked forward to a week at this historical hotel, but sadly were greatly disappointed. We booked a "deluxe" king with several amenities listed on the web site, none of which were available unless we asked for them (like in room coffee) each time we wanted them. The first "deluxe" king was a very tiny room with only one chair looking out over a mess of weeds. Far better choices available in Santa Fe. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for taking valuable time to post this review, Dan W. We appreciate the feedback; this provides us with continuing opportunities to train our staff and improve guest experiences. We truly hope to welcome you back for a better stay and excellent food and drink in our award winning bar and the separately-owned restaurant. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the St. Francis in early October. The public rooms were spacious and charming, with candle lighting in the evenings. The verandah was perfect for sitting; however, the fabric on the upholstered seating was in need of a cleaning. A fabric that is easier to care for would enhance this experience. It is still a great place to people watch or have an evening drink.

The rooms were small, but well appointed;i.e., good quality linens, toiletries, and other amenities.
The staff was fantastic. I cannot remember the last time I came back from breakfast to find a room made up! The desk staff, especially Gerik, was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrytraveler1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was smaller than advertised, it did not have a foyer as described. The bath had one bar of soap for both sink and shower and they did not replace daily. The bath was dark since only one light bulb. We asked for more soap, glasses, a mirror, and a luggage rack. On the first try we got the luggage rack.

Room Tip: don't get 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Noz22, thank you for your review of our historic hotel. We appreciate you taking time to give us this valuable feedback. We have been working with our corporate team to make corrections to the website and the room descriptions and I do apologize if your expectations were not met during your stay. It is surprising to hear you had delays with the amenity requests; our staff prides itself on excellent customer service. Nevertheless, we truly hope to welcome you back for an excellent stay and delicious food and drink in our outlets. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A few years back investors took an old, out-dated hotel and turned into St. Francis (for St. Francis of Assisi Cathedral around the corner and down San Francisco St). Lovely lobby; especially in the evening when the lobby is lit with candles; reminds me of an old cathedral. Some locals are upset about changing the old historic hotel, but I enjoy the new spirituality of the place. Our corner room was very small (especially after a full week's stay) but very clean with friendly staff. Adjoining restaurant no longer affiliated with hotel, but worth a visit. Great bar!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ret1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here'd as we were travelling Route 66. Was a very pleasant surprise! Brilliant hotel, friendly staff!! Some others have complained about room size, but I didn't see the problem, and let's be honest if you are going to sit in your room don't bother going away!! The bed is comfy, bathroom very clean and ideal. The only issue I found was parking, the hotel does have its own car park but very tight spaces, plus hotel charges $11 per 24hrs. Over the road is a car park the much bigger spaces and $10 per 24hrs. Yes don't save much but don't have your card dinged!! Plus it is closer to the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location near the Plaza. Easy to walk to all the downtown sights. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Abigail gave great local recommendations for hikes and picnic lunch ideas. We enjoyed the street side seating talking and taking in the morning sun.
Parking next to hotel was very convenient.
Housekeeping forgot to leave washcloths one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bmi1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I have probably stayed at this hotel at least 7 times. We have a love hate relationship with the hotel. For the price of the rooms you would think they could afford a bellman to help with luggage.The lone poor person at the front desk is usually overwhelmed trying to answer the phone,get people signed in and answering questions from guests.If the hotel did not have a great location and Ms. Inger as the concierge, I would never stay at this hotel again. There is no coffee pot, ice bucket or any thing else in the room you have to request the basic hotel amenities and then half the time they don't even have it because another guest is using it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hello Scott C; thank you for your repeat patronage and for taking the time to post a review. We're glad our downtown location works well for you. We have been working hard to get more amenities for the rooms and have gotten significantly more ice buckets and coffee pots this summer; it is a surprise to hear you had difficulty receiving these items and I apologize for any inconvenience. It is a part of the owner's design scheme that we keep the amenities out of the rooms to be available upon request. Inger, myself and our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to Santa Fe. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 61 in Santa Fe
910 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,868 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,501 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
685 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £100 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Francis Santa Fe, New Mexico
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing