We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old world Spanish charm!”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Extremely friendly staff. Having my wedding here and they have been very helpful in recommending a bakery, and seeing to our needs. The ambiance is beautiful. Also in the heart of Santa Fe right in the Square. Lots of shopping and resturaunts within walking distance. Soft ivory white during the day, and rich gold colors from candlelight at night blanket the hotel. I am lucky to have found such a wonderful place to have my wedding. Def recommend checking it out and coming for a stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLaCombe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear MLaCombe1, thank you for choosing our lovely old hotel for your wedding! It was absolutely wonderful having you and your partner here with us and we were all so pleased to be a part of it. It is just great to hear the charm and convenience worked well for you and your party, and we would be thrilled to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary, if not before. Again, congratulations to you both, and thank you! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

it's very difficult to write a review about this Hotel, how can somedody not like it ? or how can you describe a place that could be in an old French downtown.
it's a piece of history, with the Santa Fe charme, several hundred years old with a silent touch of modern amenities. All made of stone, quite, very charming, has a nice bar and a few minutes walking to downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gi pizzaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello Gi pizzaguy! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's truly great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the easy access to downtown. We look forward to seeing you on your next journey through Santa Fe; stop by our award winning bar and have a hand crafted cocktail while you rest. On behalf of all our staff, thank you. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I spent one night in a king room back in mid December 2013. We are locals and wanted just a one night getaway near Christmas. The staff was great, very warm and friendly and the hotel is an easy one block walking distance to the Plaza.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and was actually the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in in along time. Also there was a huge wall unit armoire so there was plenty of room to put your bags away and keep the clutter down.
The bathroom was nice, a little old and odd, because the sink was in the bedroom and you had to step up a couple of steps into the bathroom itself. The tub was slightly pitted, but not junky. Water pressure, which can be an issue especially in old buildings, wasn't a problem. The only thing was that there is a lot of air in the water too, so be prepared for misty looking water if you're pouring a glass of it. It tastes fine, we just thought it was weird. The only complaint about the room was that the lighting wasn't all that bright, especially over the in-room sink. It was very hard to see at night to apply makeup etc.
Wifi was available in the room and it was reliable, didn't kick me off or anything.
If you are used to, and are ok with street noise, then you're good with any room facing the street, otherwise get a interior room. The street noise was a bit loud until very late and if you are straying during prime season that can be irritating.
The downsides to staying here is there is no longer afternoon tea and since the restaurant is apparently contracted out there is no more room service (but we were told that depends on restaurant staffing). Their private parking is minimal and you have to pay $11 a night. There is the larger lot across the street but you would have to pay more.
We ate breakfast at their restaurant, Tabla de Los Santos, and it was good. The food and service was great, and they serve Illy coffee which tastes amazing.
The downsides weren't enough to deter us, so we would stay here again and I would recommend it for sure. The convenience to the plaza alone is worth it.


Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LocalFoodie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear LocalFoodie70, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as locals and are happy you chose to come "play tourist" at Hotel St Francis! It's nice to know you slept well on the premium mattresses and Frette linens, and that you got to explore the plaza area close by. We are also happy to hear the hotel's combination of old world style and modern convenience worked for you. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you back for another stay away from home! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were on a month long cross country vacation by train and only had one night in Santa Fe. We once lived in Santa Fe for one year. This was our return visit over 20 years later. We couldn't have made a better choice. We were well located to restaurants, shops, all in walking distance. The room was well appointed, loved the decor and the staff was pleasant. The bar had great ambiance as did the beautiful lobby. We hope to return, soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KanaryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear KanaryTraveler, thank you for your kind review of your stay at our lovely hotel. We are all so pleased we could help make your return visit to Santa Fe special. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the unbeatable access to downtown and the friendly staff. We would love to roll our welcome mat out for you on your next return trip to the 'city different'. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our stays at the St. Francis in the past have always been a wonderful experience.
We loved walking into the lobby with the warm, cozy fire in the huge fireplace. The Christmas decorations including the huge tree have always added the perfect touch to the Christmas feel of Santa Fe.

The latest trip over the holidays was a huge disappointment. Mostly because the ambience was gone. When we asked the kind folks at the desk why there was no fire they told us they could only make a fire if a guest requested it. I had to request it every night of our stay. Also, the Christmas decorations were practically non existent. One small tree was tucked in the corner.

Our room had a very nice with a view of the mountains. However, amenities in the room appear to be worn or non existent. The linens have seen better days. While the beds were comfortable our sheets were frayed.

Because of the age of the hotel I am aware of the challenges they have regarding the location of plumbing etc. The location of the vessel sink in the bedroom does not allow for personal items such as makeup etc. In our particular room the wall between the two windows would be a perfect spot for a small table and mirror. There were other minor inconveniences such as inconsistent hot water, no coffee maker, and no control of the heat. They did send a coffee maker to our room but the coffee pods were too large for the coffee maker......and they sent paper cups rather than porcelain cups! I have read the previous reviews and several people complain there is no coffee maker in the rooms. After each review the management replies that coffee makers are available upon request. I wonder why the don't just put them in the rooms?

We love the building of the St. Francis. It is gorgeous and the location cannot be beat. However, it appears the new owners are not keeping the hotel up in the way it has been in the past. This is most unfortunate for those of us who love the St. Francis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmichalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for coming back to stay with us again kmichalik; we appreciate your review and the time you took to create it. We are glad to hear our friendly staff treated you well. Hotel St Francis was purchased from the previous owners several years ago, and the "Franciscan" theme of the remodel has simplicity foremost in mind. This is the reason there are no coffeepots in all of the guest rooms; it is part of the aesthetic of the building itself and we are not allowed to provide coffeepots in every guest room. We are following company policy in providing these amenities upon request. We would love the chance to welcome you back and would certainly be happy to place any amenities you would like in your room prior to arrival. We do appreciate your perspective as guests who have stayed here many times, and we take your review as an opportunity to continue improving our guest experiences. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The outside is beautiful and the location is fantastic, but I would definitely check out my room before committing to it. We were given a "special" room at the back of the hotel. I'm not sure what was so special about it except maybe it was reserved for people traveling with animals...that's what it smelled like. We slept with the windows cracked for better air! Tiny bathroom & the washstand was in the bedroom area. We didn't have a lot of luck with the bar area either...hard to get waited on and unfriendly waitress. BUT...on a positive note, the hotel staff was helpful and nice to us. Would we stay there again...if we saw better room choices, maybe.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms first. The bed was good in our room. It was fairly quiet. If you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishfultraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Wishfultraveler14, thank you for taking your valuable time to create a review of your stay! It's great to hear you liked the ambiance and location of the hotel. We do indeed have one of the best downtown locations in Santa Fe. I apologize for any issues you had in the guest room; more than likely we were trying to put you in a "corner" room which have more space. Please do let us know you would like to see some options next time you come and stay; we do indeed have a range of room types and sizes and will do our best to ensure your comfort! We look forward to welcoming you back. Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you are looking for an enchanting hotel in Santa Fe don't miss the Hotel St. Francis. Built in the late 1880 it is in the heart of the city close to everything. Front desk personnel as well as the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer. I reserved a king room and when we arrived, they had upgraded us to a king deluxe. When is the last time you have seen wooden floors in a hotel room! Just loved it!

Carole Arliskas
Aurora IL

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Ms Arliskas, thank you for your review! Our staff is thrilled to hear you loved your experience here at our historic hotel. We do try to give complimentary upgrades when availability allows us and we are glad the larger room worked well for you (as well as the lovely wood floors!). It would be great to see you again next time you visit; be sure to come see us for the best cocktails and people-watching in Santa Fe on our front porch this summer! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,393 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £132 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Francis Santa Fe, New Mexico
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing