We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You stay here for the location”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent and there is available parking for a reasonable rate. It has a nice restaurant on site, that in spite of having excellent food, was not at all busy. It is within quick walking distance (about two blocks) from the main plaza and cathedral and only steps away from shops.

The queen rooms are small, but it is a historic hotel, so that is to be expected. Some look out onto a ventilation shaft and directly into the windows across the way, so don't expect a view. But they are charmingly appointed.

My only complaints were that the bathroom, especially the shower, wasn't clean. I stayed on two separate nights and the first time, a giant wad of someone else's hair (mine isn't nearly that long) was attached to the shower wall. The second night, no one noticed the personal shower gel that someone left behind hanging on the shower head.

My other complaint was that the Friday morning desk crew could really use some retraining in the concept of customer service. When I approached the desk, the two clerks were chatting. When the phone rang, one went to work on the computer telling the girl to answer the phone, leaving me to stand there and tap my fingers waiting to be checked out. Honestly, there's no excuse to leave the person who is physically present to talk to someone one the phone. The man on the computer needed to refocus his attention on customers rather than technology and the girl should have put the phone on hold if that was her choice. Also, the answer to the question "when I come back, could I have a room with a view?" should not be "we can give you a room without a window if you want." Both of the people who checked me in on Thursday and Sunday were really pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms that look over the patio are reasonably quiet even with the diners eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Geekamicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Geekamicus, thank you for coming to stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! It's good to hear that you were charmed by the rooms and liked the central location. Your feedback regarding the bathrooms and the desk service are much appreciated and duly noted. We will certainly use this review as an opportunity to further train our staff! We hope to roll out the welcome carpet for you again when you are next in the area. Yours truly, Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just finished our 4th of July weekend getaway and loved the hotel! The staff and housekeeping was very attentive. The rooms were small but worked fine for us! Loved all the windows in the room! The room was very bright, clean, and we always left the windows open since the weather was wonderful there. We had drinks at the hotel bar Secreto Lounge...the bartender Chris was great! Drinks were wonderful especially the Spicy Secreto...my fav! The covered patio in front of the hotel was a great place to relax with a drink in the afternoon and evenings. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuskerGalfromDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, HuskerGalFromDenver! We're so glad you got to experience the lovely sunny weather and the best cocktails in Santa Fe during your time here at Hotel St Francis. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit; meanwhile thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sincerely, Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was very ill during my stay at the hotel due to a cold picked up on an airplane. The staff at the hotel took wonderful care of me by checking on me periodically, providing urgent care directions, providing a thermometer to test my temperature, etc. Both Anne and Brad were very helpful and made me feel well taken care of when I was feeling so sick I just wanted to go home. I got well and really enjoyed the rest of my stay at the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want at the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROBERT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello Robert G; we're so happy to have been of help to you during your stay and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff! Anne and Brad will be thrilled to get your feedback, and it's good to hear you got to enjoy at least some of your visit to the "City Different" sans cold. We would love to roll out the carpet for you whenever you're in the mood for a relaxing return visit. Sincerely, Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From start to finish this was a miserable experience. Starting with reservations there were issues. The reservation service cannot handle a reservation from a block of rooms. After many phone calls to the coordinator at the hotel were not returned, I finally reached Teresa who said that she would book my room and cancel the reservations that I had made at their sister hotel the Chimayo which I had made just to have some place to stay for the wedding. Teresa was supposed to send an email verification but of course nothing came. The week before our arrival I received a reminder from the Chimayo about my stay there - obviously Teresa had not cancelled the booking. I immediately called the St. Francis and luckily she had booked us a room there.
We arrived on on Friday afternoon and there was one person at the desk who was valiantly trying to check three of us in at the same time, not very successfully!
As stated previously there is NO baggage help available.
Our friends warned that the A/C had been non existent the night before so we immediately asked for a fan. Sure enough there was no A/C on either night of our stay. Yes the nights are cool but if you open you window you have city light pollution and in our case the air handler outside was running all night even though it was not cooling.
We did get half off of our room for the inconvenience but the story is not over yet.
I inadvertently left my brushes in the only tiny drawer under the sink. I called on Monday after realizing that they were missing and were told that housekeeping would be contacted. I received no call back. Wednesday I called and spoke to Alder, the same Alder who is answering all of these comments, and she told me that the room was now occupied but that she would put a note in the log for housekeeping to check on Sunday when the current guests left. I waited patiently until Sunday at noon and was told by housekeeping that the brushes had been found on Friday and thrown out!
After that I decided that Heritage hotels needed to know what was going on so I called and spoke to someone in Guest Relations. She assured me that someone would call me back....that was Monday and today is Wednesday and I have not heard a word.
I give up!
I feel sorry for the desk staff who have to deal with all of these complaints. My experience is not unique, every member of the wedding group had similar issues and we all got reductions in our room rate.

This hotel is not worth it, there are other, better hotels in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear hotczech, thank you for coming to stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. As we spoke on the phone while you were creating your review, I will simply say thank you for your feedback and apologize again for any miscommunication during my days off. Thank you, Alder Kaitlin Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay in a top floor room with an unobstructed view. It's an old property, the room was just large enough for a queen bed and a sink, with a small room for shower/tub and toilet. If you're needs are to have a quiet room for sleeping, while spending the rest of your time exploring the city, this is a great value. Since it's a very old property with a floor that squeaked with each step, I cannot say whether occupying a lower floor would be as quiet. The desk clerk, Jeremy, was outstandingly accommodating, good communicator, and most pleasant compared to the other desk staff who were less precise and responsive to specific questions. The bar has a top rating, but we found the servers were not very responsive and acted more like models on a catwalk. The room was booked for us through HotWire by a friend with whom we were trying to be close to, and the overall experience was nothing comparable to our favorite in Santa Fe, namely, the Inn on the Alameda, which is admittedly more expensive, but includes an outstanding breakfast and wine hour in late afternoon. You get what you pay for, and this was a good low budget alternative.

Room Tip: Read my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Stuart G, we thank you for your review! It's great hearing how much you liked your 3rd floor accommodations and that Jeremy impressed you with his service. It sounds like you got to do some exploring of the downtown area and we're glad the room rates helped you decide to stay here at our historic Hotel St Francis. Your feedback is valuable and we have passed it along to all applicable departments. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed the hotel but it was near 90 degrees and we had little or no air condition working in our room. It was uncomfortable and we were up most the nights hot. We enjoyed the location and the staff was good. I would stay again if they get their air working. A little over priced also

Room Tip: Check online for room pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Manon D, thank you for coming to stay with us and for typing up a review. We're so glad you liked the hotel! We have had our maintenance team up to the corporate level working on our chiller, which has had some recent issues. We believe the problems are now fixed and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience of a too-warm room. We hope to welcome you back for a comfortable (cool) stay! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is a short walk to the main attractions around the plaza. You couldn't ask for a better location! The hotel itself is fabulous, and the front desk was so kind and helpful. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. The only glitch was that I didn't realize that there was a charge to park in their side parking lot. Then when we checked out we had a bill of 20 bucks for parking there for 24 hours. It was a surprise, but did not make me regret our wonderful stay. I would recommend staying there, just know that there is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U3009HItinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Tina1Kel, we appreciate receiving your review and all of us are pleased that you enjoyed your easy access to the downtown world of our "City Different". Our staff takes pride in our level of customer service and we are glad this came across for you. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon! Alder Seaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,394 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
622 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £132 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Francis Santa Fe, New Mexico
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing