We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place exceeds every expectation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This place exceeds every expectation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have a road trip adventure for our honeymoon and this authentic Japanese style bathhouse is unbelievable. We stayed in the crescent moon house which is well over 1000 sq. ft. and an unbelievable value. The baths, house and restaurant were so good we even extended our stay. Thank you to everyone for helping us have a wonderful stay. We will be back for our anniversary in years to come.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    39
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
117
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my second time to 10000 Waves and it has only gotten better. It is a gorgeous property, designed as if it were in Japan. There is exquisite attention to detail in every part of the property. Clean, friendly staff and wonderful mineral waters in which to soak. We stayed in Luna, which I would not choose for next time. It is rather dark. I would choose Full Moon instead, as it has a window wall that overlooks the cedar/pinon forest and a full kitchen. It sleeps 4, with a queen bed and a double futon. If you have a larger group (I am thinking a girls' weekend, etc.) you can rent Rising Moon and Blue Moon in conjunction with Full Moon as they all have connecting doors.

Please be aware that every Tuesday all the tubs and spa services are closed until 2:30 for cleaning. Otherwise you can soak from 9 am to 9:30 pm for free in the communal tubs. If you want a bit of extra luxury rent a private tub. We were in Ichiban and it was gorgeous.

You can also print a coupon off the internet for 20% off spa services and if you call the same day, and they have a room available, you will get a 20% discount.

Happy Soaking!

p.s. they have a new restaurant on the premises. The food was mixed: some great, some just so-so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bikegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I've been to the baths at this wonderful mountain spa, each time at night, and found the experience fantastic. Looking at the Sangre de Cristo mountains,with the stars starting to come out, while soaking in one of their hot spring pools was an amazing experience, and very "enchanting", just like Santa Fe. It's a bit of Japan in the heart of the Southwest!

Room Tip: Come at dusk so that you can watch the stars come out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorontoTravelGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

For a relatively expensive hotel, it does not deliver. It is a faux Japanese experience. It is run by Americans and as Americans. The parking and walkways are gravel, very dark and an accident waiting to happen. The spa itself is up a series of very long gravel/timbered stairways that are poorly marked leading to many people trying to figure out where they are. It is a long trek to the lodging from the spa, which they bill as pleasurable, while it is anything but that. They say they have a "shuttle," but most of the employees never heard of it, and when you ask for it, you have to squeeze into the back seat of an employee's two-door car. The rooms are pleasing, except the mattress and pillows should have been replaced ten years ago.

All of the bathing pools are outside. There is a women's pool and a communal pool, aside from private pools that you rent for quite a lot of money by the hour. There is no separate pool for men, so if your any woman accompanying you will either have to be in a separate pool, join you in the clothing-optional communal pool or wait to bathe with you from 8:15 p.m. to 9:15 p.m. (the only time that bathing suits are required in the communal pool). While we do not object to clothing optional bathing, those who do should realize the limitations. Departing from other reviews, we found the water to be closely monitored and crystal clean. There also is a sauna as part of the communal bath that is quite nice. There were a good mix of people in terms of age and body build, and anyone could feel quite comfortable. Others have commented about how dark it is around the communal pool at night because it really is a problem. I saw many people stumble. The staff checks the pool area frequently to make sure there are towels, but they do not remove used ones with the same diligence, so there may be dozens of towels lying around on chairs. Unsightly.

My biggest concern has to do with the lack of facilities for anything other than massages and bathing. If you are just there for the day, maybe that is okay, but it is a real issue if you are staying overnight. Here is why: Although I asked about the facilities and was told there is a lounge for when you are tired of sitting in the water and cannot sit outside because it is too cold (as it was on November 6-7, 2013), the "lounge" area actually is a padded bench where people sit while waiting for their massages. There is a "meditation room" which is quite nice in that it has places to sit with pleasant music and big windows; however, it gets very cold when it is busy and the doors are opening, and it gets warm when it is not busy. You are required to wear mid-calf length house robes throughout all common areas (meaning everywhere except the women's bathing tub and the communal bathing tub.) So what do you do when you cannot sit outside and there is no other place to go? Not the "lounge." Not the meditation room because even though you have just left a sauna or hot tub and are very hot, you must wear a large house robe instead of just a towel in the meditation room. I was told that I had to wear the robe instead of a towel in the meditation room, even though the spa advertises on its web site, as you come into the spa and on flyers in the area with a picture of a nude man taking a sitting shower. Kind of silly. Anyway, the point is that you have no place to go to hang out or even be comfortable, and that is a real drag when you are staying at a place that bills itself as a resort/spa where you should want to spend some time as an overnight guest.

Bottom line: if the weather is warm, you are only there for the day, you do not mind clothing optional and you are okay with nothing other than sitting in a small bathing area with limited seating, fine. If you are thinking of staying overnight, think again.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks for a room above the basic. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Indyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My friends and I visit this Japanese spa every time we visit New Mexico. This time we decided to spend the night and stay in one of their rooms. Three of us shared the Sailor Moon room. It was perfect - from the spacious shower to the heated bidet to the twinkling stars over my day bed. Breakfast was provided via milk, granola and fruit in our room. We loved being able to walk from the spa back to our room and relax even more. As their restaurant isn't open yet, they have a great delivery service from Santa Fe - food is delivered right to your room from local vendors. We absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hnmrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Ten Thousand Waves on the way back from Lake Powell. After having slept in a tent while on the lake, the nice comfy beds, quiet rooms, massages and private hot tubs were a welcome relief to my arthritic body. I agree with some others about the communal hot tub which is clothing optional. Kinda yucky. Why is it that it's always the people who SHOULD be wearing swim suits who don't!!! The private hot tubs on the other hand are quite nice. Though in August, the cold plundge is not so cold. We said something about that to the staff and they said that it's the ambient temperature. Whatever. It wasn't cold.
We spend one night in New Moon, which was very nice. We later moved to Yado, which is the lowest end room in the complex. We would definitely choose a different room next time given the fact that there's only about a $40 difference in room rates from the low end to the high end. If you're spending $200+ a night for a room anyway, splurge!
We both enjoyed our massages. My husband splurged and had the four hands one. I just had a traditional one since that was only the third professional massage I've ever had. I enjoyed it thoroughly and am now convinced that I need to get one on a more regular basis...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RG_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Due to the setting and concept of Ten Thousand Waves, which is stellar, we have returned year after year hoping a few of the kinks will be worked out. Since there isn't any air conditioning, doors and windows must be left open in the summer for circulation. The screen doors do not close properly, so there is a gap where bugs etc. can enter while you sleep. We found cobwebs and dead bugs in the windowsills. If you approach this property as a cabin rental with a few luxury touches, you will set your expectations at the right level. Last year, the pillows smelled funny, so I took one of the covers off - and found the oldest, most disgusting pillows I've ever seen. They are very spare with towels, wash clothes, hangars, etc. Again, it's more "roughing it" than luxury spa setting. Since they allow pets, we have also encountered the barking dog left alone for the day and/or evening (some people love their pets and can't stand to be without them - others don't want to spend the money on a kennel so they bring them and let their neighbors endure whatever goes on while they are gone). This dog barked from 2 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

The spa treatments range from some of the best to some of the worst depending the service provider, but the confusion at the front desk is not relaxing or reassuring. They always seem a bit disoriented and confused. I would definitely stay away from the communal baths - yuk! Lukewarm water with lots of possibly un-showered people - and no treatment of any kind in the water. A great way to get an unwanted infection or fungus. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is not an authentic japanese bath. There is also a restaurant in the works, but the opening has been pushed back again. One final complaint, after spending thousands of dollars for spa treatments and lodging, we have never once been remembered by the staff, and after receiving an e-mail stating a "special" for their new facial of 20% for both July and August, they retracted the August discount and wouldn't honor their e-mail. Our verdict, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property. Driveways are gravel, and Hyde Park Road can be heard fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutNextWeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Sunrise Springs Spa Resort
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Property: Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd, 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing