We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Comes Alive”

El Rancho de las Golondrinas
Ranked #6 of 238 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This living history museum, located just south of Santa Fe, recreates 18th-century ranch life. Guides, dressed in period clothing, show how people lived in early New Mexico.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We attended the Spring and Fiber fest on June 2nd. We had a fascinating time learning about how the history of the region. The grounds are well maintained and the staff was very informed. Our 5 year old daughter enjoyed working the loom and the other hands on activities. El Rancho de las Golondrinas is definitely worth a stop if in the Santa Fe area.

2  Thank Tops23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your comments.

Spring and Fiber fest is our first festival and kicks off our season of nine festivals which continue through the end of October. It is a fan favorite of the local Santa Feans and visitors as well. We are so pleased to learn that you and your daughter enjoyed all the hands-on activities. There is truly something for everyone at El Rancho de las Golondrinas.

Our core group of 200 costumed interpreters just love sharing their knowledge with all our visitors.

Thanks so much for visiting and we hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"living history"
in 30 reviews
"wine festival"
in 21 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 11 reviews
"fall harvest"
in 8 reviews
"grist mill"
in 6 reviews
"viva mexico"
in 6 reviews
"colonial life"
in 6 reviews
"new mexico"
in 59 reviews
"dressed in period clothing"
in 5 reviews
"special events"
in 14 reviews
"festival days"
in 4 reviews
"visited el"
in 4 reviews
"step back in time"
in 10 reviews
"open air museum"
in 3 reviews
"lavender festival"
in 3 reviews
"one room school house"
in 3 reviews
"sheep shearing"
in 3 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

This open air museum (OAM) completely surprised us. Used to extremely deliberate and extensive OAMs in Europe (e.g. Glentleiten in Bavaria - highly recommended btw.) we didn't expect too much here. But, it turned out we ran out of time and had to return the next day to see and hear everything. Thanks to the incredibly knowledgeable and patient volunteers our visits were an unforgettable experience! The buildings are reconstructed carefully whether transported from other places or rebuilt from the foundation walls and are kept well maintained. Each building has its own story/stories, and the awesome volunteers are happy to share them with you. Don't hesitate and ask questions, you won't be disappointed! Plus, the views especially from places higher up are gorgeous. Just make sure to keep hydrated (water is provided at many places). All in all, we loved it and will return as soon as we can travel back to Santa Fe!

1  Thank AlexanderTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate them!

Yes, we think that our core group of almost 200 volunteers are absolutely the best in New Mexico, and maybe even the U.S.! They are terrific! They are absolutely dedicated to the Ranch and LOVE to share their historical knowledge with all of our visitors. They thrive on questions and will gladly spend hours with our visitors from around the world.

Y. A. Paloheimo, our founder, was from Finland and the concept of open air museums (OAMs) came with him to the U.S. He visited most of the OAMs in Finland, Sweden and Denmark.

Thank you, again, for visiting and for your comments. We hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

On June 4th my sister and I spent the day at El Rancho de las Golondrinas for the Spring and Fiber Arts Festival. Our first stop was at the market where we enjoyed the artists and vendors who had lovely things to buy. We loved the history and seeing how people lived in the 1700 and 1800's. The volunteers are very knowledgeable and share their stories generously with everyone who comes by. We enjoyed our walk to the dye shack and the Raton Schoolhouse and stopped along the way at one of the mills where they were grinding wheat. I particularly enjoyed the weaving and seeing how they shear the sheep and prepare the wool for spinning and weaving on the looms.

2  Thank teresaw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your comments.

Yes, Spring and Fiber Arts is our kick-off the season, first festival! Thanks so much for coming out. It is a wonderful, get-acquainted first festival where our visitors can be introduced to life on a Ranch which was once a paraje, or "stop," along the El Camino Real, the King's Highway, from Mexico City to Santa Fe.

Our core group of 200 costumed interpreters love to share their knowledge, expertise and stories with all of our visitors as well as demonstrating the arts, crafts and daily duties of life over 400 years ago.

We hope you come back and visit us again -- perhaps for another festival -- we have 9 during our season, June through October!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This place is gorgeous and a lot of fun! I go here a lot since my firehouse is nearby. I absolutely love the Renaissance Faire that happens every September. They have a lot of hands-on activities, tours, holiday activities, etc. that goes on there that are quite interesting and a lot of fun.

1  Thank nynm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor. We so appreciate your response.

Yes, from June through the end of October, there is always something going on at El Rancho de las Golondrinas. From our nine theme-based festivals to our everyday activities with our costumed interpreters, there's something for everyone at the Ranch. We try very hard to insure that all of our programming is not only educational, but also fun!

Our Ranch covers the time period from the 1700's to the 1900's and shows what life would have been like in a "paraje" or "stop" along the El Camino Real (the King's Highway).

We hope you will come back soon and see us again! We'll leave the gate open for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Visited june 2 and they had a festival. It was very good and real life experience. A must stop for history.

1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at El Rancho de las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Yes, it is festival season once again at El Rancho de las Golondrinas. Starting this weekend with our Spring and Fiber Arts Festival, we begin our season with nine festivals spaced throughout the summer and fall. We are open Wednesday through Sunday, 10 A.M. to 4 P.M. and almost every two weeks have a special festival on the grounds. In addition, our costumed interpreters are on hand to provide our visitors with a real life experience on what life was like on a ranch like this over 400 years ago.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will come back during the summer and fall to catch another exciting, educational, and just plain fun festival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rancho de las Golondrinas also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho de las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing