We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply marvelous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We had booked a reservation at another B&B in Sante Fe. Upon our arrival we found the place to be closed. We called the owner of the Old Town B&B in Albuquerque and she referred us to Hacienda Nicholas. Much to our relief and amazment we were treated to the best room in the house and given a break on the room rate because of our situation. Not only was the staff friendly and accomodating but the breakfasts were delicious as were the afternoon wine and cheese treats. The location is only two blocks from the main plaza and within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants. Carolyn, the gracious owner, operates three B&B's in Santa Fe as well as a wonderful spa. A stay at one of her locations is a treat not to be missed.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank jackjeff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2008

Fantasic B&B in the heart of Santa Fe. Wonderful staff, both Ann and Lois made us feel at home. Great southwestern cooking... and the wine and cheese each evening made our stay even more special. We'll definitely come back, thanks for having us!

-Barry & Kori

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We've stayed at a number of different B&Bs in Santa Fe, and Hacienda Nicholas ranks at the top in terms of gracious hospitality and, notably, food. It's the only place we've stayed that serves a hot entree every morning and leaves snacks out 24 hours. Annie, the weekend host, is a sensational baker. The living room and patio are spacious and inviting, and there's lots of reading material, including local guidebooks. Our room, one of the less expensive, was comfortable and had a large bathroom. But be forewarned: our room and some others have skylights without blackout shades, and the window shades are translucent, not opaque. At 6:00 am it was too bright in our room to sleep. If you don't like to rise with the sun, ask for a room without skylights.

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank wfadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

What a wonderful place! I am a Santa Fe native living now North Carolina. My wife had never visited Santa Fe until our recent trip. I was looking for a place to give my wife a taste of the City Different. At Hacienda Nicholas, I found much more. The staff at the Hacienda Nicholas were wonderful - thank you to Ann, Anna, Dawn and River for your wonderful service!

Carolyn, the owner, is a wealth of information about Santa Fe. Her staff are very knowledgeable about the area, as well. The advice I heard them give other guests was right on target about where to go, what to do and where to eat.

The room was comfy, cozy and just right. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again!

The location is perfect - 3 blocks from the Plaza and on the quiet, residential part of Marcy Street. Other B&B's in the area are located on heavily-traveled Paseo de Peralta.

If you're looking for a good B&B in Santa Fe, you can't go wrong with Hacienda Nicholas.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoWolfpack95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Sunflower was a great room!
Breakfast was lovely.
Location convenient.
Staff was helpful and informative.
Overall, a great find.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank margaret1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Hacienda Nicholas very much - good location (a very short walk into the center of town), breakfast and afternoon / evening wine and snacks were well done. Managers / employees were very friendly and provided a wealth of information about stuff to do, etc. They gave very honest feedback about plans that we had - what to do and what was ok to skip.

The patio area was adorable as well as the dining / common area. A few extra touches to the rooms could bring this B&B from a 3star to a 3.5star property.

On the downside, don't expect to sleep in as breakfast is served from 8a - 10a and noise (and the scent of whatever's on the stove) travels into your room. The beds were super comfortable, but the rooms could be a little "nicer" - you felt very much like you were a guest in someone's home rather than in a hotel, but I guess that's why you stay in a B&B.

The Hacienda attracts a nice group of people - mostly middle age couples and some thirty somethings - very mellow and friendly group.

I would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank lungalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2008

I am delighted these guests would "definitely come back" and believe that they would be even happier with our more private, quiet and spacious accommodations off the courtyard. The rooms just off the main room are smaller and less luxurious, though are priced accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My husband and I have just returned from Santa Fe where we stayed in the most wonderful bed and breakfast called Hacienda Nicholas. On the outside it looks unpretentious but the inside is so peaceful, warm and welcoming. Anna met us at the door with a big welcoming smile, led us to a wonderful, cozy room and told us that wine, cheese and one of her famous dips would be ready for us at five when we could meet the other guests and relax on the patio outside. Anna also makes the most delicious breakfast casseroles. She makes up her own recipes and they are so good that you want to stay at the Hacienda eating breakfast all day long! When we return to Santa Fe, we will definitely return to Hacienda Nicholas - a warm smile, gourmet food, welcoming ambience - what more could anyone ask!!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank readytogo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,599 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,626 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: £96 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing