We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hacienda Nicholas: More than the comforts of home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Angeles,WA
1 review
“Hacienda Nicholas: More than the comforts of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

Hacienda Nicholas gives one the feeling that you are home but in a new place. It has a relaxed Spanish style elegance that makes you feel pampered. If the evening is cool you may light the fire which has been layed for you in the large fireplace. Or, if it is warm you may choose to sit on the patio and enjoy the beautiful garden with the humming birds.

The breakfasts are excellent. Each morning we couldn't wait to see what would be placed before us. My favorite? I can't decide between the quiche or the blue corn waffles. I guess I have to mention the Santa Fe Scramble also. All were delicious.The fresh fruit cup each morning was perfect. All day long there were brownies, cookies, cherry cobbler and other treats waiting just in case you need a snack between sight seeing trips.

Speaking of sightseeing the Hacienda is very centrally located and is only a short walk to the Saturday Market or the Plaza and what is believed to be the oldest, in use, church in the USA. There are so many places to visit and eat we must come back to take it all in.

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Felt welcome and appreciated.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willowmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
375
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

As a traveler who frequents B&Bs, my stay at the Hacienda Nicholas was the best B&B experience. While the Santa Fe weather was dreary, the Hacienda was warm, cozy and inviting. The innkeepers, could not have been nicer, offering directions, restaurant suggestions and accomodating my food allergies. Breakfast was always a feast, both for the eye and palate. There is only one word for those baked goodies (especially Kevin's Pumpkin bread and Page's brownies. Not to mention those cookies) YUMMY!!! The location was perfect for walking to most of the areas museums, shops and restaurants. If you book a treatment at the spa associated with the Hacienda, you will not be disappointed. I'm already thinking about my return visit.

  • Liked — Everything from the cozy rooms to food and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FL_SPAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

Hacienda Nicholas saved our stay in Santa Fe. The B&B at which we'd originally reserved a room for three nights was beyond disappointing, so, on the recommendation of a B&B that was already booked, we called the Hacienda Nicholas and they were immediately helpful and responsive. At the last minute, this beautiful B&B had one room for one night and therefore arranged for us to complete our Santa Fe stay at the sister B&B, The Madeleine, the following night.
Our room was delightful with every amenity we could want, but more impressive was the graciousness and assistance of all the staff. We needed to park our car hours before checking in, and not only did the Hacienda Nicholas accommodate us, but we were invited to join the other guests at breakfast--a beautiful spread of homemade teabreads, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit salad and more. The following days, when we were actually guests of the B&B, we enjoyed two excellent stradas, a type of french toast. Seeing that I am a tea drinker, a staff member offered me the use of a lovely handpainted teapot so I didn't have to keep refilling my cup.
The main room where breakfast and afternoon repast are served offers two large wood farm tables and a smaller table for a twosome for a choice in company or privacy while eating. There's an additional seating area around a coffee table situated in front of the fire place. Despite our May visit, Santa Fe was chilly and rainy, and a fire quickly warmed the room and our spirits.
Staff offered recommendations and directions--all of which were excellent. We couldn't have asked for a lovelier accommodation.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetandjude2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

We had booked a reservation at another B&B in Sante Fe. Upon our arrival we found the place to be closed. We called the owner of the Old Town B&B in Albuquerque and she referred us to Hacienda Nicholas. Much to our relief and amazment we were treated to the best room in the house and given a break on the room rate because of our situation. Not only was the staff friendly and accomodating but the breakfasts were delicious as were the afternoon wine and cheese treats. The location is only two blocks from the main plaza and within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants. Carolyn, the gracious owner, operates three B&B's in Santa Fe as well as a wonderful spa. A stay at one of her locations is a treat not to be missed.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank jackjeff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Fantasic B&B in the heart of Santa Fe. Wonderful staff, both Ann and Lois made us feel at home. Great southwestern cooking... and the wine and cheese each evening made our stay even more special. We'll definitely come back, thanks for having us!

-Barry & Kori

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstats69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

We've stayed at a number of different B&Bs in Santa Fe, and Hacienda Nicholas ranks at the top in terms of gracious hospitality and, notably, food. It's the only place we've stayed that serves a hot entree every morning and leaves snacks out 24 hours. Annie, the weekend host, is a sensational baker. The living room and patio are spacious and inviting, and there's lots of reading material, including local guidebooks. Our room, one of the less expensive, was comfortable and had a large bathroom. But be forewarned: our room and some others have skylights without blackout shades, and the window shades are translucent, not opaque. At 6:00 am it was too bright in our room to sleep. If you don't like to rise with the sun, ask for a room without skylights.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank wfadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

What a wonderful place! I am a Santa Fe native living now North Carolina. My wife had never visited Santa Fe until our recent trip. I was looking for a place to give my wife a taste of the City Different. At Hacienda Nicholas, I found much more. The staff at the Hacienda Nicholas were wonderful - thank you to Ann, Anna, Dawn and River for your wonderful service!

Carolyn, the owner, is a wealth of information about Santa Fe. Her staff are very knowledgeable about the area, as well. The advice I heard them give other guests was right on target about where to go, what to do and where to eat.

The room was comfy, cozy and just right. We enjoyed our stay and will be back again!

The location is perfect - 3 blocks from the Plaza and on the quiet, residential part of Marcy Street. Other B&B's in the area are located on heavily-traveled Paseo de Peralta.

If you're looking for a good B&B in Santa Fe, you can't go wrong with Hacienda Nicholas.

  • Liked — A hands-on owner and a location near the best of Santa Fe.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWolfpack95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing