We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Top Notch B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

All I have to say is that this place is a top notch B&B from arrival to departure. Stayed in the Wisteria room. Room was long and narrow, but plenty of room to put our stuff in the room. Had two comfortable chairs and a TV. Only one window but a nice skylight. Common interior area, as well as the outside area of B&B were very nice. Very comfortable places to sit. Innkeeper, cook and housekeepers were all friendly. Very environmentally friendly. Would recommend this B&B to others. Located in a nice area and just a short walk to the plaza.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas. The room configurations and dimensions vary from room to room, due to the historic nature of this adobe hacienda. I thank you for recognizing the staff for being so friendly, and will be sure to pass that along. Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
375
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

CHARMING main area that is SO Santa Fe. I've enjoyed every room I've ever been in. Best of all is the people the owner hires to tend to the place during breakfast and whenever. I've always found them welcoming and willing to be in conversation, and with kind of interesting backgrounds. Food is good too and the snacks they leave out are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are all so pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us on so many different occasions, and that your appreciate our efforts to offer an authentic Santa Fe experience. We certainly do have a great staff, made up of artists, theatre folk, caterers, craftsmen and native Santa Feans - glad you have had so many great conversations during your visits, and are happy with our afternoon and evening goodies. Thank you very much for writing in to Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Another great vacation has come and gone. We had a wonderful time as usual; which was made even better due to the wonderful Innkeepers! They have always taken great care of us with courteous service and always with a smile.
We always meet new people, who become part of our yearly group and we look forward to seeing them during Indian Market! I recommend Hacienda Nicholas to anyone that is planning on visiting Santa Fe and wants a clean, friendly, almost home atmosphere for their vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LueBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We love that we are your "home away from home" and delight in welcoming you and Phil back each and every year. You and the Indian Market group bring such a positive energy and vivaciousness to the inn, which makes for a really fun week for one and all. We look forward to seeing you again next August. Have a wonderful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Since discovering Hacienda Nicholas about a decade ago, we've stayed there every summer when we've visited Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera. Hacienda Nicholas is in a quiet neighborhood that is an easy drive to the highway to the opera, and a short walk to the Plaza, restaurants, galleries, and museums. It is an adobe house of historic interest, so there is nothing standard about it. Every room and every bathroom is unique in shape, size, and furnishing, but everything works (if there's a need for a new light bulb or the like, it's taken care of as soon as you let somebody know). Carolyn, the owner, upgrades the rooms while maintaining the meaningful local décor; for example, there are traditional Southwestern-themed tiles on a number of bathroom walls, along with new grab-bars for guest safety in the tubs. The breakfasts are excellent and are served with a smile and pleasant conversation. Cookies and coffee cake are left out for later in the day, even for late-night returnees from the opera. Carolyn and her staff can help you decide where to go for dinner, plus there is a mountain of well-organized information kept in the Great Room for guests to browse for ideas. Carolyn remembers her repeat guests from year to year, and makes Hacienda Nicholas feel like home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room is different, each with its own charm.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally-friendly practices include having recycling containers in every room, providing liquid soap from wall-fixtures rather than individually wrapped bars, using the curly light bulbs, and, of course, having the thick adobe walls as the basic structure.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
What a wonderful and comprehensive review you have written of your stays at Hacienda Nicholas! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write in with your appreciation of the inn, particularly about the location, architecture, decor and service. As you point out, we are grateful to hear of anything that needs attention, i.e. needing a new lightbulb, so we can take care of the matter immediately. I am very pleased that you enjoy the breakfast and snack options, and that you have a sense of returning home each time you come back to stay with us. Thank you ever so much for your continued patronage, which we value most highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have been going to Santa Fe for about 20 years...about 18 of those to the Hacienda Nicolas, and Madelaine Inn, owned by Carolyn. We have loved going so much that we just bought a house, and MOVED just outside of Santa Fe. And we STILL went into town and stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas during Santa Fe Indian Market. We have a group of friends that basically buy the place out and take it over during market. The location is great to park your car and not leave again. The staff of Regan, Marilee, Lois, George, Serge and Diana are there to take awesome care of you. The food is great, the personal service paid to each guest is amazing. Recognizing each guest by name...and greeting each of us with hugs. LOVE going to the Hacienda Nicholas...

Room Tip: The rooms are each decorated individually, with Santa Fe décor.
See more room tips
Green Features: The are very much into conserving water, going green, and recycling.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenKeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
It was such a delight, as always, to host you and the extended family of friends that has formed over the past 18 Indian Market visits. How wonderful that your interest in Native American art and culture continues to grow, and that you and the rest of 'the gang' continue to find such pleasure in staying together at Hacienda Nicholas. It is truly a joy to see all of you, and we hope the tradition continues for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

In the first week in July my husband and another couple with whom we were vacationing stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas. The B&B offered fabulous and sometimes unusual breakfasts. If the main choice of the day was not for us we were offered eggs and an arrray of cereals, granola, yogurt, homemade cakes and toast. We ate outside on a beautiful patio in the midst of gardens. If the weather had been inclement we could have eaten in the lobby which was decorated in a southwestern motif. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. We saw the owner, who was very personable, at least once daily and sometimes more than once. The employees were friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding for visiting restaurants and shops in downtown Santa Fe....we walked to just about every place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusanA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
I so appreciate your review of the Hacienda, noting our breakfast offerings, decor, rooms, location and set-up. The breakfast menu is varied, generally including regional dishes incorporating various chiles. While many guests delight in those dishes, we fully realize that chile is not for everyone, so are always happy to make a more conventional hot breakfast to go along with the buffet offerings. For much of the year guests love having their breakfast and social hour out on the patio, but during the winter months we always have a fire going in the great room, making for a welcome setting no matter the time of year. As you point out, I am there throughout the week, making sure that all goes as it should, and enjoying the opportunity to spend time with all of our guests - that is the highpoint of an innkeeper's life!

Carolyn Lee
Owner-Hacienda Nicholas & The Madeleine Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I may be a little biased in my evaluation of Hacienda Nicholas – my husband and I are expecting twins and came here as part of our babymoon in New Mexico. We soon learned the owner, Carolyn, is a mother of twins herself – in fact, Hacienda Nicholas and its sister property, Madeleine Inn, are named for her children.

We were immediately in love with the place and naturally took our staying there as a good omen - but auspicious inklings aside, there is so much to love about HN no matter who you are. It’s located just a few blocks from the Plaza and a short drive (you could probably even walk) to the galleries on Canyon Road, yet is secluded enough that you feel surrounded by nature.

We stayed in the Wisteria Room, which, though narrow, still offered plenty of space to move around and put all our stuff. The décor was southwestern, rustic, and very homey. Our bathroom was beautifully tiled with bright red, white, and blue motifs. One quick note of caution: the plumbing is a little old fashioned. It shouldn't be an issue, but is something you may want to be aware of. There's also an open air courtyard great for hanging out and reading, and there are snacks like cookies and nuts, tea and coffee available all day. The spa is top notch too!

Owner Carolyn is so, so, kind and full of great advice and ideas of things to do and see.
Breakfast is delicious, and the cooks were all extremely accommodating to my Celiac needs. That said, my husband still got his fill of homemade waffles and quiche.

Santa Fe is magical in and of itself - and a stay at Hacienda Nicholas is the ideal home base from which to explore and get lost in this special city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimelbschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
What a pleasure to read your review today. I absolutely remember your visit of this past April and our conversations about twins. Hopefully you have been able to procure some of the helpful twin paraphernalia we discussed. Thank you for taking the time to write of your appreciation of the setting, your room, the food and the service. We all enjoyed having you as our guests and hope that you and your soon-to-be-larger family will be able to come and stay with us again - perhaps in one of the much larger vacation rentals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing