We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in Santa Fe”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Nicolas during our 2 day stay in Santa Fe. Staff friendly and full of information on how to plan your day and assisting decisions on where to eat. We stayed in the Cottonwood room and found it comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. This B&B has a great location within walking distance to all the great restaurants, galleries and sites in Santa Fe.

We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning on future travels to Santa Fe!

Green Features: Hacienda Nicolas has excellent policies and practices on being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor, and for letting others know of your experience. It is good to know you were so pleased with your room, the staff, the breakfasts and the location. It is certainly a plus that guests can leave their cars in the parking area and walk to most of the shops, galleries and restaurants of Santa Fe. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
382
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff is personable and helpful in everyway from planning your day and visits to restaurants to the smallest of personable details. This adobe style ranch with a wonderful enclosed patio and a large common room is the perfect place to feel at home. One can just hang out or join in talking to other guests from all over the country. Breakfest and afternoon snack time both of which take place here for both the Hacienda and the Madeline next door are wonderful and fun. The Madeline Inn next door has wonderful larger rooms in a Victorian and more formal setting. Also both places are with walking distance of most shopping and restaurants in Santa Fe. They are the perfect place for a holiday for adults.

Room Tip: the room around the common room are the most accessible to what is happening and the most homey. T...
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmently friendly pesonal products (soap, shampoos ect.) are readily available in wall dispensers in the baths, showers and near the sinks, Plastic, bottles, cans and paper are recyled. If your concern is the environment this is your place.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
It sounds as though you had a wonderful experience at Hacienda Nicholas, making great connections with other guests and with staff. We are all very happy to help acquaint guests with all there is to enjoy in and around Santa Fe, hoping to suggest the idea activities and restaurants for each person's needs and wants. We truly appreciate your feedback - it is gratifying to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband & I stayed in The Madeline(violet cottage) the weekend of the Balloon festivals for 4 days. We were very pleased at the accommodations in the cottage. We had everything that we needed and if we wanted anything the staff was available to get what we needed or point us in the right direction. We were very comfy and our privacy was also respected.
Each morning we enjoyed a healthy breakfast of organic foods with fruits, hot entrée, beverages and very good conversation with multi-cultural people. We met people from NY to California. We loved sharing our breakfasts also with the staff. The staff was always available to fix anything else we might want that wasn't on the daily menu.
There was always fresh baked goods and beverages in the afternoon, as well as great conversation with guests.
We scheduled spa treatment Friday morning, which was staffed the most professional masseuse's I have ever experienced. I wanted to treat myself and husband to a special morning for our Anniversary. The spa gave us both a luxurious, relaxing and memorable experience that I can't wait to tell everyone I know. Karin and Elaina were the best and made us feel like new people. I can't describe how we both floated out of there, but I thing they gave us wings!!!!!! I will definitely be returning here!!!!!!
Loved our stay here and will definitely be coming back!!!!!

Room Tip: Violet Room is brilliant for comfort and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor regarding your wonderful stay at our sister inn, The Madeleine. The two inns operate very much in sync, with the food service provided for both inns at the Hacienda Nicholas, and guests from both inns enjoying the wonderful Absolute Nirvana Spa, in the back gardens of The Madeleine. I am delighted that you so enjoyed the Hacienda Nicholas breakfast offerings as well as your room and spa treatments at The Madeleine. We hope you will be able to return for another visit, perhaps for another anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

All I have to say is that this place is a top notch B&B from arrival to departure. Stayed in the Wisteria room. Room was long and narrow, but plenty of room to put our stuff in the room. Had two comfortable chairs and a TV. Only one window but a nice skylight. Common interior area, as well as the outside area of B&B were very nice. Very comfortable places to sit. Innkeeper, cook and housekeepers were all friendly. Very environmentally friendly. Would recommend this B&B to others. Located in a nice area and just a short walk to the plaza.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas. The room configurations and dimensions vary from room to room, due to the historic nature of this adobe hacienda. I thank you for recognizing the staff for being so friendly, and will be sure to pass that along. Thank you very much for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

CHARMING main area that is SO Santa Fe. I've enjoyed every room I've ever been in. Best of all is the people the owner hires to tend to the place during breakfast and whenever. I've always found them welcoming and willing to be in conversation, and with kind of interesting backgrounds. Food is good too and the snacks they leave out are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are all so pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us on so many different occasions, and that your appreciate our efforts to offer an authentic Santa Fe experience. We certainly do have a great staff, made up of artists, theatre folk, caterers, craftsmen and native Santa Feans - glad you have had so many great conversations during your visits, and are happy with our afternoon and evening goodies. Thank you very much for writing in to Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Another great vacation has come and gone. We had a wonderful time as usual; which was made even better due to the wonderful Innkeepers! They have always taken great care of us with courteous service and always with a smile.
We always meet new people, who become part of our yearly group and we look forward to seeing them during Indian Market! I recommend Hacienda Nicholas to anyone that is planning on visiting Santa Fe and wants a clean, friendly, almost home atmosphere for their vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LueBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We love that we are your "home away from home" and delight in welcoming you and Phil back each and every year. You and the Indian Market group bring such a positive energy and vivaciousness to the inn, which makes for a really fun week for one and all. We look forward to seeing you again next August. Have a wonderful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Since discovering Hacienda Nicholas about a decade ago, we've stayed there every summer when we've visited Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera. Hacienda Nicholas is in a quiet neighborhood that is an easy drive to the highway to the opera, and a short walk to the Plaza, restaurants, galleries, and museums. It is an adobe house of historic interest, so there is nothing standard about it. Every room and every bathroom is unique in shape, size, and furnishing, but everything works (if there's a need for a new light bulb or the like, it's taken care of as soon as you let somebody know). Carolyn, the owner, upgrades the rooms while maintaining the meaningful local décor; for example, there are traditional Southwestern-themed tiles on a number of bathroom walls, along with new grab-bars for guest safety in the tubs. The breakfasts are excellent and are served with a smile and pleasant conversation. Cookies and coffee cake are left out for later in the day, even for late-night returnees from the opera. Carolyn and her staff can help you decide where to go for dinner, plus there is a mountain of well-organized information kept in the Great Room for guests to browse for ideas. Carolyn remembers her repeat guests from year to year, and makes Hacienda Nicholas feel like home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room is different, each with its own charm.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally-friendly practices include having recycling containers in every room, providing liquid soap from wall-fixtures rather than individually wrapped bars, using the curly light bulbs, and, of course, having the thick adobe walls as the basic structure.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
What a wonderful and comprehensive review you have written of your stays at Hacienda Nicholas! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write in with your appreciation of the inn, particularly about the location, architecture, decor and service. As you point out, we are grateful to hear of anything that needs attention, i.e. needing a new lightbulb, so we can take care of the matter immediately. I am very pleased that you enjoy the breakfast and snack options, and that you have a sense of returning home each time you come back to stay with us. Thank you ever so much for your continued patronage, which we value most highly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing