We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely stay at the Hacienda Nicholas/Madeleine Inn again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will definitely stay at the Hacienda Nicholas/Madeleine Inn again!”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I had a wonderful time in Santa Fe and many of the good experiences were provided by the staff of Hacienda Nicholas and the Madeleine Inn/Absolute Nirvana Spa – either directly (kindness & great food, conversation & facial, etc.) or indirectly (good suggestions re: restaurants & walking routes). I hope to be back in a year to ride some or all of the Santa Fe Century, if not sooner, and can’t imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kborgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    46
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
380
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Having visited Santa Fe regularly for 30 years and stayed in many other hotels, Hacienda Nicholas is by far the best B&B in this lovely city. It's within easy walking distance of the historic plaza and yet is in a quiet corner away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown. The home-cooked breakfasts (included) are marvelous and the ever present cookies, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres tempt the palate as well as your resistance. It's a treasure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchorman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Great stay in a great place. The staff, especially Anna, was terrific. Full of good advice and so accomodating. Rooms are comfortable. Breakfast really creative and delicious. Nice wine and snacks in the afternoon. Don't go to Santa Fe without them!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSIProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This is a difficult one, & I guess its all about expectations. As always, we had read the reviews on this site & most where good. It was also the most expensive accommodation of our trip, so expectations where high.
So my first impression was one of great disappointment. Arriving in the car park my first comment was " I do not want to stay here". The dark adobe building was not complimented or enhanced by the use of "grubby-looking" net curtains at the windows. The overal appearance was a little depressing. However, my hubby is the sensible one & insited that we check inside before we made a decision. Overall, I am glad we did. My mood did infact im prove as we were welcomed into the communal area. Whilst a little dark it was far more welcoming that the outside led us to believe. We were then shown to the outdoor courtyard, quite pleasant, & our large room. The room was good. Very large, very clean, nice bathroom, big bed & comfortable sitting area. Practical & functional.Fine. The disappointment here was the number of instuctional notes around the place. Perhaps this is a personal dis-like, & not one that would worry others. I would much prefer 'personal advice / instruction from the Inn-Keeper / Host & the notes summarised in a room directory. ( am I being picky ???? ) I can understand why this is done, but It does give me the impression that the Inn-Keeper is a little reluctant to communicate with guests. So mixed messages here for me.
A couple of other disappointments for me. Some of the towels were a bit grey & frayed.
Breakfast were good, a nice selection of cereals, some fruit & always a warm egg dish. No complaints there. Additionally, there is always some nice treats available, which were great. However, it was on occassion difficult to get a hot , fresh, cup off coffee. On at least one occassion we had coffee left over from breakfast warmed up for us.
Not what I expect in accomodation in this price bracket.
Having said all that, the room was spotlessly clean & well serviced whilst we were there. Above all, the Inn is in a fabulous location. Ideal for all the sites, museums & a great selection of restuarants. The hosts, Ann & Anna are both very helpful & will readily offer advice on area sites & resturants. It is no trouble to them to make reservations for you.
Whilst the place was Ok, & worked for us, it just lacked a little finesse for the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The physical accommodations were charming and the innkeepers friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious (and accommodated our dietary needs e.g. gluten-free), and snacks and beverages were available all day. We wholeheartedly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Everyone at the B&B was super friendly, including meeting many guests and all of the staff. We met people at the afternoon happy hour, whom we sat with again for breakfasts. I ate too many cookies and brownies - yum! Everyone was sharing their activities, places to go. The Hollyhock room was charming with a Log Cabin style quilt, and the bathroom was a step down within the room into bathroom tiles with painted Mexican tile. We had gotten a gift certificate for our wedding to stay there from friends, and it was well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Hacienda Nicholas is a charming little B&B off the beaten path, but still in a great location near the plaza. If you are looking for something other than the standard hotel, then the Hacienda is for you. We felt like we were staying in someone's house. The customers seemed a little bit older (50's and 60's) but everyone was supernice. Everyone we had contact with in charge of this property was great. We stayed in the Nicholas room. Large and comfortable with a great bed. One of the biggest rooms on the property. Charming little courtyard to hang out in during the day or evening. River was extremely helpful, as was all the staff. Our only regret was that our trip had to be cut short because I came down with strep throat. What a drag! But the time we spent there was great. Food was fantastic. Anne ( Please forgive me if that's not right! I'm awful with names.) is a whiz in the kitchen, and had lots of great advice for restaurants. I was so sad we didn't have the chance to sample all of the wonderful treats being made daily for breakfast and happy hour. We will definitely be back, maybe after I get my tonsils out!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 320 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing