We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most memorable places we have stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
Ranked #1 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Perfect atmosphere for a quiet and restful stay with it's spacious understated charm. Beautiful landscaped gardens. Breakfasts are wonderful and creative . Dan was a gracious and personable host. We will most certainly return when we visit Santa Fe.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the review Janice. It was a pleasure getting to know you and Katie a bit better during your brief stay at the Bear! We do try to be creative with our gourmet breakfasts to surprise and delight our guests. We're looking forward to creating more memories together during your next visit! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Dan Clark makes every morning and evening special with his wonderful gourmet breakfasts and evening happy hours. Blue corn pancakes with pinon nut butter. Who knew? When the loveliness of the grounds, history of the rooms, and richness of the experiences are factored in, prices are reasonable and the stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: We stayed in most of the affordable rooms the first two nights, and in one of the largest and more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review Lee. We enjoyed caring for you, Patricia, and your other family members while you enjoyed the fabulous Folk Art Market. We believe strongly that our guests are family and are so happy that you felt at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The property at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear, and it's 160+ year history is quite amazing. We stayed here during the International Folk Art Market in Mid-July. The landscaping is beautifully executed and well maintained. The common area offered a large living room, dining area, and several places to sit outside throughout the garden.

The manner in which the rooms are laid out make the place quite magical. My family and I stayed in the Willa Cather Room (#8) and Edna Millay Room (#9). We shared a bathroom, which was perfect for the three of us. The windows were difficult to open making the rooms a bit stuffy. However, the breakfast was delicious, the host(s) were very hospitable, and the location was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FR3E5P1RiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the review Jeremy and for the fabulous picture you posted! We enjoyed meeting you, Donna & Lacy! As new owners of this historic Santa Fe estate, we have begun to improve the comfort of our rooms while attending to our guests. We're very pleased you enjoyed our ample, multi-course breakfasts and took advantage of our close proximity to all of Santa Fe's charms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's hard to say what the best thing is about staying at the Turquoise Bear. It could be the delicious breakfast in the stunning dining room or it could be the attentive but never intrusive service of the knowledgeable innkeeper. Maybe it's the delightful conversations over complimentary wine on the patio or in the living room. One other guest summed it up over breakfast one morning when she said, "I want to live here."
We've stayed at the Turquoise Bear twice and will most definitely return. Best of luck to the new owners of this treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DickinsonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Our return guests are very special to us! We agree that we're among the best places to stay in the City Different! We will continue to challenge ourselves to make our guests' experience even more enjoyable! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The host of the Inn was helpful, friendly, and available as needed, in addition to being a wonderful chef. What an excellent breakfast, both mornings! Our room was clean, comfortable, with a porch area in the front. Beautiful gardens, too. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the late afternoon with other guests, complements of the host, and learned more about the area. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nancy_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you Nancy! We enjoyed having you and Steve stay with us during your visit to Santa Fe. The Spud Johnson room provides ample privacy with it's private portal patio overlooking the gardens. We enjoy getting to know our guests with the lively conversations during breakfast and with wine on the patio! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Inn of the Turquoise Bear was recommended as a must-stay but was much more than that. We were warmly welcomed, had marvelous gourmet breakfasts, and enjoyed the gardens and peaceful meditations after a day in Santa Fe. Meeting fellow travelers at breakfast was the adventure. And.we were part of one wedding and celebrated another. We would go back just for a retreat and the warm hospitality. Thanks so much Dan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKiburz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It WAS a busy time during your stay with two wedding parties making the most of our acre of beautiful gardens. We strive to create a warm, comfortable, and stress-free environment for our guests and their friends! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Do come back soon! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent four nights at this lovely Inn over the 4th of July weekend and had an excellent time. The Inn is old, but, in general, has been kept up-to-date. The location is a 15-20 minute walk to the Square and to many of the major restaurants and attractions. A minor problem with sink plumbing didn't reflect negatively on the lovely room, the Igor Stravinsky. The innkeeper, Dan, is a terrific cook and very knowledgeable about the Santa Fe area and local restaurants. The breakfasts were wonderful. For the four days, he served; lemon/ricotta/blueberry pancakes, biscuits and southwestern sausage gravy, breakfast bread pudding, and a southwestern frittata, along with a daily breakfast buffet of cereal, fruit, juice, and breads! The wine and cheese hour+ allowed the guests to mingle and discuss their day or just get to know one another. The grounds were really lovely with all kinds of flowers, shrubs, and trees.

Two cautions: The bathrooms come with different sizes of showers, tubs, etc., so check with the innkeeper regarding how tall the shower is from the floor, because if you are too tall, you may not fit between the ceiling and the floor of the tub/shower. Also, the Inn rooms and grounds have many steps, so the mobility disabled would not be happy staying here. Though there is one room that is accessible and Dan would be happy to bring breakfast to the room, most of the grounds and the rest of the Inn would not be accessible.

I loved this Inn and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the review Lloyd! You so accurately describe the joys and realities of our historic, quintessential rambling adobe estate. We enjoy treating our guests to a gourmet, multi-course breakfast, as well as afternoon tea and evening reception. What fun it was to have a group of friends like yours enjoy this historic property much as Witter Bynner did in his days. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,450 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Turquoise Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Address: 342 E Buena Vista St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: £135 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Turquoise Bear 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Santa Fe style and charm in this quintessential rambling adobe estate occupying an acre of terraced gardens walking distance from the Santa Fe Plaza, Canyon Road, and Rail Yard. Our Santa Fe bed and breakfast will pamper you with gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, twilight social reception, and concierge service. Guests will also enjoy complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi internet. Constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, our Santa Fe inn dates to the mid-1800's and is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant buildings. Located just 6 blocks from the Plaza, Canyon Rd, restaurants, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn of the Turquoise Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Hotel Santa Fe
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Bed And Breakfast
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing