We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Rest Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Rest Court
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We needed several rooms to put up guests for a wedding. Given the cost of staying in Santa Fe, this was a very economical alternative and ended up being fun for everyone. I was skeptical, but had received a recommendation from a local who swears by the place. The staff was wonderful, very polite, efficient, and helpful. All of the rooms were spotless, maintained, and well equipped; everyone loved the carports next to their rooms! The motel is situated next to some great restaurants (Tecolate, The Pantry), all within walking distance, and this was another big plus. This has a classic, old Santa Fe kitsch appeal that can't be beat for the price!

Room Tip: There is some road noise, so the further back you are from the road the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
36
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Contrary to some booking websites, this Motel does offer free WiFi service. It worked very nicely when I stayed there in January.

My room was close to the road, opposite the reception. I could hear some cars driving by, but it did not affect my sleep at all. I did sleep well at the King's Rest Court. My booking attempt through a booking website failed, as if the Motel was full. I called the reception and they had rooms available. They offered the same single occupancy deal as that website, so I booked over the phone. The staff was very friendly and gave me tips when I asked about the restaurants in the area. (I recommend Jambo Cafe and Dara Thai, both on Cerillos Rd. Note that places might close early on a very slow day, so you may want to call ahaed.) They also had further tourism information at hand.

During my stay the outside temperature was about 0 degree Fahrenheit (-18 Celsius). This is unusually cold for the area and the room door does not shut airflow tightly - I think this has to be that way because there is a gas oven in the room. The gas oven worked a lot during my stay, but the area close to the door and some of the floor remained cold throughout. If you are easily "frozen" and you are in Santa Fe in a very cold winter, you might want to reconsider. If you require a phone in your room, again, you should look elsewhere. The King's Rest Court had telephone directories, but no phones. I did not miss it at all. I would stay there again.

The car port is nice: Its like a garage without a door. It saved me from shoveling snow or scratching ice from my car! In other places, I would have had to do just that. And at -18 Celsius, that is not how you want to start your day. :-)

Room Tip: If you mind the faint noise of car crusing by, ask for a room towards the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsokolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naco, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

The old-fashioned wall heater kept me toasty on a well-below freezing night in Santa Fe. The carport kept my car ice and snow free. I had a room close to the road, so there was a little car noise, but overall, the stay was good. Mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker all helped this to be a comfy stay in a historic Route 66 motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Rooms are cleaner with new carpet vs. our first stay in winter 2008. Modern conveniences (Wifi, fridge, cable) in a Route66 Classic at GREAT prices, complete with car port next to room door (convenient) &working NEON!!!
Convenient walk to many restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thephanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I was somehow expecting a little more. You can see daylight through the gaps between the door and jamb, a result of the funky old style of the hotel I suppose. The room was clean enough for me, but felt a little old and maybe grimy. The room had an odd shape and the bathroom kinda cramped. I liked the covered parking, but it was not really necessary for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Straight out of the 1950's, this motor court comes with covered parking next to each room, no phones in the rooms, window air conditioners, and plenty of ambiance. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, and there's a walk-in closet. A mini coffemaker in each room, and the basics: desk and chair, chest of drawers, comfy chair in the bedroom area. The window A/C hum covers any traffic noise, and there's absolutely no noise from the room next door--it looks like adobe but I think it's made of concrete. Showers, no tub; no pool, fitness, or other amenities. Free wifi works pretty well. This is a great value if you're looking for a nice, clean place to sleep at a very low cost. There's a fantastic breakfast place a couple of blocks away -- Tecolote Cafe -- that's worth a special trip if you end up staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

There are no phones in the rooms. The furniture doesn't match. However, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable and the shower works great. If you don't require your T.V. to be in a repro antique armoire, this is a great place for the price. The best part is that Tecolote is 2 blocks to the right and The Pantry is 2 blocks to the left. You can't go wrong going either way for breakfast.
The only problem was the garbage truck that showed up at 4am on Thursday. It pulled right into the court and sounded like it was in my room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OldC00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.8 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Lamplighter Inn of Santa Fe
1.5 mi away
Silver Saddle Motel
Silver Saddle Motel
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Rest Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Rest Court

Property: King's Rest Court
Address: 1452 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Rest Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1930's, Kings Rest Court, is located in Santa Fe, NM, where heritage, history, unique attractions, museums, natural beauty, and outdoor activities are waiting to be discovered. We are just minutes from the Historic Plaza, Golf Courses, Casinos and the Santa Fe Ski Basin. Diverse attractions, location, and affordable accommodations make Kings Rest Court Santa Fe the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Rest Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Rest Court Hotel Santa Fe
Kings Rest Court Santa Fe
King's Rest Court Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing