We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. and dog friendly!”
Review of Pecos Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pecos Trail Inn
Ranked #23 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you want a place that reminds you of the old route 66 motels..this is the place. off the fancy busy track, very quiet, clean and REASONABLE. which is saying a lot for santa fe!
cute too! a small pool that i had to myself. a good restaurant and friendly people. plus we could have our dog with us, no problem! we stayed there last august and are going back in december.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have stayed at the Pecos Trail Inn twice (once around Thanksgiving and once in March). both times it was wonderful. The first time we had a King room, but the second time we brought my daughter and had first a double room and the next night the casita was open, so we were able to move. Both were very nice. The casita was GREAT. My daughter had her own room with her own bathroom. She really enjoyed it as well. We are planning another trip out there soon, and look forward to staying there again. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a nice, quiet stay. If you are looking for something fancy, go elsewhere. This is just a very nice, clean, quiet place with all the "Southwest" style: Tile floors, rustic wood furniture, etc. We loved the decor and the solitude. It is close to the Plaza, but far enough out to not be noisy.

Room Tip: If you want a Casita, book early. There are only 2 or 3 and they fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsg1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I have been staying here since the mid 1990s when I first discovered the great location- super quiet and close to Museum hill. Most of the Sante Fe hotels and motels are located along Cerillos Rd.- lots of traffic and very noisy!! Or by the plaza where parking is horrendous. This motel is unique in being easy to access from both I25 coming from Albuquerque or from the north from Taos. It has the feeling of being out in a rural area though it is just 5 minutes to the plaza or museums. The Inn is set way back off the highway and most rooms look out over southwest natural terrain close to upscale residential neighbourhood. Great restaurant on premise.

I love the large rooms, most of which include a small frig, the simple elegant SW decor with Mexican tile floors and large windows which open with screens to the cool Santa Fe night air. (there also air-conditioning if you prefer.) Nice view out windows. I was on a working holiday for a week, so the free wi-fi internet access was much appreciated.

The people are nice, easy parking, quiet neighborhood and nice pool (though I'm not a swimmer.) Excellent prices. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I like the studio rooms which include a kitchenette with frig, microwave, small gas stove with oven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The freindly staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed and furniture, plus large, clean, under-used pool made our two-night stay in Santa Fe a real pleasure. The price was very reasonable, as well. Room could not be well darkened at night. The next door restaurant had amazing Mexican food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Finding this hotel was a very lucky late night shot in the dark for us. Driving into Santa Fe on an unfamiliar road (US 84) at night with no idea where the hotels are or how to get to them is tricky at best. I fully support New Mexico's Night Sky Protection act but without those elevated and lighted signs, finding a last minute lodging gets difficult. Somehow, we made the best of wrong turns and found the Pecos Trail Inn completely by accident.

The late night clerk was happy to see us and welcomed our entire family--two adults and two intrepid traveling terriers. He cheerfully told us how to reach a nearby park to exercise the dogs. His description of the Casita room almost sold me on the very reasonably priced upgrade, but since we didn't need all the fabulous amenities for just one night, we took a regular double room. They are gorgeous! The tile floors and exposed beams surrounded the comfortable beds and tasteful furnishings, the large dressing area kept the chaos out of the sleeping area, and the ample supply of towels felt like a decadent luxury.

Next morning, we enjoyed decent coffee and the housekeepers cheerfully let us get an extra from their cart. The park is in a quiet residential neighborhood and it made our dog walks quite easy and pleasant. If we ever get to Santa Fe to spend some quality time, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Clean quiet motel in North Santa Fe, AAA rated and a great value for families. Nothing fancy, but rated highly for the price.

Our family has been coming here every year, for over a decade, and we have always enjoy our stays. Located on the East side of town, near the Old Pecos Trail exit on I-25 (but far enough not to feel freeway-adjacent), it is a bit out of town but near Museum Hill, Saint John's College and the hospital. The motel is an easy 5-10 min drive to downtown and more convenient and way better than the comparably priced chains along busy/commercial Cerillos Road. It is in a quiet area (technically on Old Pecos Trail, it is set back off the road) and has a great pool. Rooms are modest but clean, pretty and updated in Southwest style. Some are a bit small, but many have small kitchenettes. The 2BR+kitchen casitas are a great alternative to the busy and bland Residence Inn, but there are only two and often not available. There is a city playground and outdoor fitness route accessible from the back. Front desk staff has always been courteous and cheerful. There is a restaurant next door, but not much else - this is a primarily residential part of town (the neighborhood directly behind the motel is quite nice, it's near the Quail Run gated community too), so you'll need to drive to do anything. The place works best as a short stay or a relaxing base for exploring Santa Fe and surroundings; if you need the full in-town romantic Santa Fe B&B experience, go elsewhere (but be prepared to pay). Rumor has it that the owners of Tomasita's are opening a restaurant in this location, and Harry's Roadhouse is a short drive down the Old Las Vegas Highway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandj_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at Pecos Trail Inn several times and have always had a good experience. This time we were with friends. We had a casita for the first night, but it was not available for the rest of our stay. They showed us two adjoining rooms which worked out just fine. All the rooms had been freshly painted and were clean. In-room coffee. A large dressing room, closet and vanity, by the bath. Staff was friendly and flexible.

Room Tip: The casitas, a small apartment, really, are good for groups or families. Their kitchens are small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildflowerMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
The Santa Fe Suites
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
492 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,663 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pecos Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pecos Trail Inn

Address: 2239 Old Pecos Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4916
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Pecos Trail Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing