We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place was as clean as any luxury hotel we've stayed at and at the bargain price I paid - it was a screaming deal with breakfast included. Met and talked with Dawn the owner - nice, friendly and very helpful. It is clear that this place is a labor of love for her and she is the magic ingredient that makes this place the hotel of choice for budget minded travelers in Santa Fe.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank nichpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    222
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
151
351
89
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at the Silver Saddle a few years ago and was pleased to find it just as before---a very clean, attractively decorated retro motel (built in the 1950's, I think, but definitely established by the early 1960's). The same family has owned and run it for 30 years, which I am sure has a great deal to do with the consistency and the good maintenance. Since I travel with my wire-haired fox terrier, it is useful that there are exterior doors to the rooms. I don't remember what the pet fee was, but it was quite reasonable, I am sure. The front office staff took the time to really listen to my preferences for a nearby place to eat, and gave me several choices. I decided on the Plaza Cafe Southside (see my review of the restaurant on the restaurant listings). Although I am not much of a shopper, I always find something I can't resist in the Silver Saddle gift shop, which features locally-made items at good prices.
I will stay at the Silver Saddle whenever I am in Santa Fe, and would drive out of the way to stay there instead of a chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utahtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'm actually reluctant to post this review, because I'd like to think of it as my own personal hidden gem, but I don't want to deprive others from the fun of staying at this incredible bargain. A remodeled old motel, the owners have applied a "character" to each room. We stayed in the Billy the Kid room. Photos and Billy the Kid memorabilia made for a pleasant stay. The room is basic--nothing fancy here. Just clean, comfortable and simple. There is a cold breakfast available in the front office, with good coffee. My wife and I found this to be a very enjoyable place to stay and will be back. Staff were very friendly, and you can spend an hour checking out the kitschy collectibles in the front office. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marksmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Price was perfect for our 6 day stay, and included a good breakfast with lots of options. Location is great! Loved the themed rooms! Front desk staff was very helpful recommending various places to eat and activities in the area. I would certainly stay here again; probably the best hotel experience I've had in a long time!

Room Tip: If you book through Silver Saddle's website you can choose a specific theme room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Comfortable, clean, affordable, this hotel has a wonderful hostess, Dawn, who runs a tight ship and has a great flair for decorating with cowboy stuff, inside the rooms as well as all around the property. Dawn laid out a healthy breakfast and concerned herself with my special diet. I will definitely stay there every time I go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Mine had Mexican tiles in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linnea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our stay at the Silver Saddle was fantastic. The help at the front desk was very kind and friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and each one of them is cleverly decorated with a cute Southwestern theme- we stayed in the cowgirl room- it was great! Breakfast was continental style and was a nice way to start the day. The room rates were exceptionally reasonable- other places in the vicinity were charging about the same (often more), but didn't offer the cleanliness and friendliness we experienced during our stay. The best bang for your buck without a doubt!

The Jackalope co-op next door is really nice to stroll through on a pretty day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
348 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay at this motel was one of the highlights of our trip. The owners were so pleasant, friendly and helpful. The motel was conveniently located and the room was very nice and clean as was the bathroom. There was coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, HB eggs, toast, muffins and a delicious coffee cake for breakfast. You won't find a better priced place to stay. When we return to Santa Fe, we'll definitely stay at the Silver Saddle again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrequentTraveler696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
El Rey Inn
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe
Silver Saddle Motel Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing