We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful, memorable experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wonderful place in every way. The owners are the nicest people on the planet, and welcome you as if you are old friends coming for a personal visit. They provide a wealth of information on Santa Fe and the surrounding area and answer every question thoroughly, with their personal touch. We were greeted by Shawn immediately upon arrival, and felt right at home.

The rooms are lovely (we had the Corazon room). It was cozy and well-appointed (I would have loved a few more amenities like soaps and lotions), but overall we were very comfortable for three nights. It's a quiet and warm spot, located just a short walk from the plaza (which can feel longer than it is on a freezing cold night). However, you return to the lounge, which is always open, and often filled with a roaring fire and friendly folks to chat with.

The breakfast is to die for. We had croissant sandwiches, pumpkin waffles and the best breakfast burrito I've ever had (complete with a sweet little note on top scrolled in sour cream... mine was "love.") Your coffee cup is never empty, and friendly conversation abounds. I loved the community table, where you sit with people from around the country and Santa Fe locals invited by the owners.

Note: be sure to take the high road to Taos... and take the inn's CD narrating the drive. It was a wonderful day trip and the CD was super informative. visit Taos Pueblo while you're there... one of the best places I've been.

Can't recommend this lovely B&B more. I'd definitely stay there again and will recommend to all my friends. What a wonderful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We have been travelling and just got back and read your kind and generous words.

We are so happy to hear that you loved your stay at Casa Cuma and that you found the information we provide helpful. It is heartwarming to hear that you enjoyed the communal breakfast table. We get the best guests and the conversation is always interesting and sincere. We try to make the food match the rest of the experience and love to hear that you enjoyed the food. It is especially rewarding to read your compliments on the burrito. I roast my own green chilis (mild, I promise) and then make my own green chili sauce. We fill the burritos with eggs from our own chickens (plus a few others as they can't quite keep up with the demand), potatoes, cheese and lot of love.

We look forward to hosting you back here at your home away from home in Santa Fe. Once again, thank you for your wonderful words.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    43
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
63
337
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Santa Fe, NM was never on our vacation radar until recently when my husband came home one day and said that we should go visit there based on someone’s recommendations. So, plan we did for our first (but not last) trip to Santa Fe (S.F.). Without knowing much about S.F. and where to stay for our trip, we relied a lot on the reviews posted by other travelers, especially those from TripAdvisor. As with reviews for anything, there will always be positive and negative reviews. Casa Cuma B & B showed an overwhelmingly positive rating and that is what we went with for our first couple of days in S.F. And I am glad that we did - there is no better place to start one’s S.F. adventure than a stay at Casa Cuma B & B!

From the moment that we walked through the door to check-in, we were welcomed and made to feel at home. Shaan (part of the fabulous, personable and dynamic Colleen & Shaan duo) was there to greet us and within minutes, we were seated at the dining table and chatting it up like good friends! We’ve been to a few B&B’s in our travels and we’ve never had such an experience where there is that instant comfort and connection. Most places are formal in checking guests in (reviewing policies, check-in info, etc…) which is fine, but that wasn’t the case here. I think in part this is due to the fact that Shaan and Colleen are so well-prepared with their information, both on the Casa Cuma B&B website and pre-arrival email, that all a guest can do is to start enjoying their stay once they get to Casa Cuma.

The instant connection and comfort can also be attributed to Shaan and Colleen and how they are. They are the most gracious host and hostess that we have ever known (Love them!) They are knowledgeable about the ins and outs of S.F. and can give recommendations about almost anything (restaurants, things to do, etc…). Shaan has a very detailed map of the Plaza area and highlights of places to visit within the Plaza – it is very, very handy!

We stayed in the Santa Fe suite – which is a lovely, private space. Well equipped and cozy – it was a home away from home for us. The S.F. suite has a separate seating room area and is tastefully adorned throughout with items with New Mexican flare (this place is definitely not lace and doilies!)

Casa Cuma B & B is ideal because it is located conveniently within walking distance to the Plaza. Although we did not walk from the B & B during our stay (because it was nighttime and really cold) – we did drive to the Plaza for dinner and let’s just say that the car barely got warm before we arrived at the restaurant. It really is not that far.

Breakfast for the two mornings at Casa Cuma was a lovely affair and absolutely delicious! It was breakfast quesadillas the first morning and then Dutch apple pancakes with turkey sausages the next (YUM!) – both equally delicious and thoughtfully prepared by Colleen and Shaan. We shared our dining space with another couple on one day and another the next – as dining is family style. {Note: For those who aren’t too social in the morning and/or would like to have private dining space in the morning, this might be a factor to consider (family dining style versus private/individual dining style).} Breakfasts and conversations with the other guests and hosts was a wonderful experience for us – unlike any other B&B experiences. Again, that comfort and ease that Casa Cuma exudes carries through to other guests.

I don’t know what else to say that I haven’t said already about Casa Cuma B&B. Colleen and Shaan are the most thoughtful and gracious hosts and their B&B reflects who and how they are. If you are looking for an impersonal, run of the mill accommodation, then Casa Cuma B&B is NOT for you. If you are looking for a wonderful experience filled with thoughtfulness, sincerity, and possible positive social connections – Casa Cuma B&B is a MUST consideration for a place to stay when in Santa Fe!

We’ll definitely be going back to Casa Cuma B&B – thank you Colleen & Shaan! Love you guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnamCara137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind and enthusiastic words.

So glad to hear that you loved the Quesadillas and the Dutch Apple Pancakes! I love to cook and it is especially rewarding when you have an appreciative audience. We get the best guests and as you noted, the breakfast conversation and interaction is a nice way to start the day. Having you two there was a real highlight.

Shaan and I really enjoyed hosting you two and hope that we will have the honor of hosting you at Casa Cuma again.

Once again, thank you so much for the fantastic review. We loved getting to know you two and hope to see you again.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Colleen and Shaan are the dynamic duo of innkeeping. Colleen's breakfasts are fantastic. Shaan is the very epitome of graciousness and generosity. They made us feel like family. And the proximity of Casa Cuma to downtown Santa Fe can't be beat. It's an easy walk into town while still being in a quiet residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man-from-Nantucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Wonderful words! Thank you!

We are so grateful for the enthusiastic review of Casa Cuma, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Santa Fe and Casa Cuma.

We strive to make everyone feel comfortable and welcomed, so it is good to hear that you felt that way while here.

We enjoyed having you with us and hope that you will return to Casa Cuma soon. Once again, thank you for your fantastic review!

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our relationship with the owners from our initial inquiries to our arrival said Welcome in many ways. Our rooms are very Santa Fe in decor. The breakfasts are hearty, tasty and served nicely. The location is ideal and all the information of the attractions, hiking trails, and places of interest are provided generously by Sean, the owner. Even museum passes are made available at no cost. If you prefer small home like places rather than larger hotels, this is the best.

Room Tip: We like extra seating areas so we opted for a suite. Very spacious. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deyurdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are especially happy that you were comfortable and felt at home here at Casa Cuma. We
are glad to hear that the information that we provided was useful and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that if you return to Santa Fe, that we will have the pleasure of hosting you at Casa Cuma again.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Me and my wife's two day stay at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast was excellent to say the least. The hosts are warm and friendly. It feels like you are staying at a friend's place. The location is great; very accessible to the Old Town, which is the highlight of Santa Fe. The breakfast was delicious especially the French toasts. The common area, the setting for many a friendly discussions, is equipped with a fireplace giving the whole place a very homely feel. But the best part for me was the outdoor hot tub which was a very fun place to hang out considering the freezing temperatures we encountered. Overall Casa Cuma rocks!!!!

Room Tip: Check out the cowgirl room. Smaller than the rest but right next to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohammadAli1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Wow! What a wonderful review! Thank you so much!

We loved having you two honeymooners with us at Casa Cuma. It's such a special time in your lives and we are so pleased that you came to stay with us. We loved watching as you guys connected with the other folks at breakfast. It was a real pleasure having you two here.

We hope you will come visit us again at Casa Cuma. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hosts were so kind and friendly and accommodating. The location splendid. Breakfast under the big tree in the garden was amazing!! The breakfasts themselves were great - loved the fresh fruits!!

I'd suggest you ask what is for breakfast in case you want to take something off eg no cheese on the savoury dish or half the amount of cheese, rather than have it wasted on the side of your plate.

I stayed in the Chilli room, which was fantastic - very clean. Though it was a little awkward when we wanted to sit on the porch outside our room - there was a glass window between the dining space and our cosy porch, the window had no curtain - the hosts had friends over for dinner that night (which was nice) and we could see each other through the window, it felt a little uncomfortable for me as I wanted to be in my own space and give them their space. They did move to another table out of view which was considerate, but then I felt sad that we had impacted on their socialising. Would have been nice to have a little translucent screen to place in front of the window when sitting on the porch.

Apart from that everything else was AWESOME!!!

Green Features: Some food wastage occured at breakfast, as everyone was given large portions of the cooked meal.Towels & Linen were able to be re-used which was great.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Architour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you were happy here at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast.

We love to serve breakfast outside in the summer. It is such a pleasant experience to eat under the giant fir tree with flowers blooming in the garden and our new water fountain bubbling away nearby. Santa Fe's air quality is one of the best in the country and with the view of the mountains, the entire experience is quite lovely. We are so glad you liked it too!

Thank you again for your review. We hope that if you should ever return to Santa Fe, that you will once again choose Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast as your home away from home.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
352 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Like all of the other reviewers here, we also had a fantastic time at the Casa Cuma B&B. We stayed here 4 nights at the beginning of November and we chose the Corazon room to be able to spread out on this 3 week driving trip. We were not disappointed! We were welcomed immediately by Shaan and Colleen and were shown where everything is located in the common room. They have a refrigerator there that is always stocked with water and another nice feature, a small ice machine is provided for their guests. This is something we don't find as often as we'd like when staying in B&Bs. Our room was spacious, decorated nicely and spotless. There was a tv in the room but we mainly used it to check the weather each morning. Shaan could not have been more helpful. Whatever questions you may have about Santa Fe will be answered by him. In addition, he has created maps for walking in the Old Plaza area of Santa Fe featuring stores, restaurants and attractions. It was a great help in the evening (the sun set early during our stay in November) when we wanted to find the restaurant we were dining at that night.
The breakfasts each morning were delicious and Colleen outdid herself day after day! Fantastic, filling and a nice touch of the southwest in her cooking left us looking forward to each mornings offerings.
If I can make one recommendation for visitors: If you are staying in the winter months and are walking to the Old Plaza in the evening, bring a flashlight. The last few blocks on Old Taos Highway and La Cuma are dark and the bridge you have to cross does not have any sidewalks. We came very close to being hit by a speeding car the last night we were there. That being said, we will most definitely be staying at the Casa Cuma on our next visit to Santa Fe!
Recommended!

Room Tip: The Corazon room is large, quiet and a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow! Such a nice review! Thank you so much.

Loved hearing that you were happy and relaxed while here at Casa Cuma and that Shaan's maps were helpful. He keeps updating them for the best that our guests have found in the area. It is so much better to be able to find what you are looking for easily, so glad they were helpful.

Thank you for the compliments about breakfast. I love to cook and I love southwestern cooking, but I also don't eat spicy food, so I try to make things that everyone can enjoy and have options for extra heat on the side for those that like the spicy.

Once again, thank you for the great review. We look forward to hosting you at Casa Cuma on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,239 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,185 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,562 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Address: 105 Paseo de La Cuma, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 beautiful rooms just 5 minutes from the Plaza. Gourmet breakfast in the flower filled garden with mountain views, or next to a crackling fire in cooler weather. Luxurious bedding, feather beds and down comforters. Peaceful and relaxing. Free museum passes, free Wi-Fi and free off street parking. Homemade snacks and bottled water welcome you home at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuma Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Cuma Bed And Breakfast
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing