We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Off the beaten path, but close enough to walk to the Plaza. On a quiet street about half a block from the Georgia O'Keefe museum. Colleen's breakfasts were *amazing* - fresh fruit (3 varieties, diced into bite sized pieces) 2 kinds of juice, coffee, tea, protein (usually eggs from their chickens) and a carb. Breakfast quesadillas, stuffed french toast, breakfast burritos, all with home made syrups/sauces. Enough food to last you til dinner if you grabbed a granola bar and some bottled water on the way out - We stayed 5 nights. Shaan was a wealth of information, warmth, and hospitality. On the cool spring mornings, the fire in the breakfast room was much appreciated! We stayed in the Santa Fe Suite - bed was very comfortable, as was the couch in the other room. I loved the locally made shampoo, body wash, and conditioner in the rooms. My hair smelled so good!! Our room was quiet, comfortable. There was even an electric "wood stove" in the sitting room which was just enough to take the chill off the colder spring evening without turning on the heat, until we climbed into that lovely king bed with a warm, heavy comforter. Special requests were graciously accommodated - I was so happy that Shaan made sure I had a pitcher full of cold coffee every morning for my iced coffee fix :) Staying with Shaan and Colleen is like staying with friends - they make you feel like this is your home too. The map given to us on arrival of downtown Santa Fe was quite helpful, and be sure to visit their ice cream shop, Brain Freeze when you are walking the plaza. There is a hot tub on the large patio, which has outdoor seating. When we were there in April, it was a bit too chilly to utilize the patio at night (it snowed on our last day!) If you want to be close to the bustle of the Plaza, yet still have some peace and quiet after a hectic day of shopping, sightseeing, whatever, then Casa Cuma is perfect for you.

When there, take advantage of joining their friend Robbie for a day. I wish we had - (Santa Fe Cultural Treasures) - you get to see Native American craftspeople work, and then get a traditional meal. Other things to do are - Astronomy adventures - stargazing; Pecos Historical Park - 1.25 hike around an ancient pueblo - fascinating!; Los Alamos - be sure to take the Buffalo Tour of Los Alamos - 1 1/2 hours of the history of Los Alamos - $15/person, you won't be bored. Tour leaves at 1:30 from the Bradbury Science Museum; Taos Pueblo - check their website to be sure they are open; El Sanctuario de Chimayo, along with the Children's Chapel; The State House - absolutely the BEST place to go for art - free of charge, and about 3-4 floors of all New Mexico artists - from paintings, to sculpture, to weavings, to mixed media - amazing stuff. Stop by Del Charro Saloon on Alameda for a margarita and their nachos royale. It's a very friendly place, filled with locals and tourists alike, all more than willing to strike up a conversation. We've been to Santa Fe twice now, and it's our favorite spot :)

Room Tip: Santa Fe suite is one of the three rooms at the main inn that has a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Wow! What a detailed review, packed with great advice and very kind words! Thank you so much for the fantastic review!

We really enjoyed having you two here with us at Casa Cuma, and it is especially rewarding to hear that you were happy here too. Shaan works hard on keeping the information that he gives you up to date and relevant. I'll pass your kind remarks on to him.

We are so happy to hear that you liked the toiletries we use. They are locally made and bring the smells of the Southwest forests into the shower. It's a great way to start or end a day of touring Santa Fe.

We hope to see you guys back at Casa Cuma some time in the future, and maybe next time you can join Robbie on one of her Cultural Treasure tours. Thank you again for your wonderful review!

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My 11-day, April 2014 visit was the third stay at this delightful B & B. I chose the Santa Fe Suite which is roomy and beautifully decorated, including a separate sitting room with sofa bed which nicely accommodated my son who visited over the weekend. Colleen's breakfast offerings were delicious--as always--including a hot entree, fresh fruit, as well as a choice of fruit juices. Coffee, tea, bottled water, and snacks are available anytime in the dining/den space, which welcomes you each morning with a crackling fire. Upon arrival you are warmly greeted, and given a map of the nearby Historic Plaza and Santa Fe showing recommendations for museums, restaurants, galleries, and a walking tour. I appreciate their proximity to the Plaza and not having to drive to visit many of the sights--Santa Fe is a great walking town. Going further afield, they will gladly printout directions for visiting many of the parks and places of interest in the surrounding area. I recommend Bandelier National Monument and Puye Cliff Dwellings, offering tours.

During this trip I had the pleasure of joining their friend Robbie O'Neill of Santa Fe Cultural Treasures (http://www.santafeculturaltreasures.com ) on a half-day visit to San Ildefonso Pueblo potter, Johnny Cruz. His demonstration included a complete firsthand view of how this beautiful pottery is made (in the tradition of his famous great-grandparents, Maria and Julian Martinez), followed by a traditional lunch prepared by his Mother, Viola.

There are many accommodations in Santa Fe, but not all will offer the level of personal service and gracious hosting found at Casa Cuma. Clearly this couple love what they do and want to share the pleasures of Santa Fe with their guests. Well-traveled themselves, Colleen and Shaan have a gift for anticipating what a traveler might need and creating a setting to make your "quiet time" in between outings a pleasure. There is a lovely outdoor area for reading, watching sunsets, or kicking back with a late afternoon beverage. A lovely stone waterfall offers soothing background sounds. I look forward to returning to Santa Fe and will definitely stay at Casa Cuma B & B, my "home away from home."

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Pat,

Once again we were fortunate to be your hosts in Santa Fe and once again you have written a wonderful review of your stay at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast. Thank you, thank you , thank you for your generous comments!

We love having you here and are excited to see that your trip this time, even though it was not your first, brought so many new experiences. Cultural Treasures (and Robbie) is such a special adventure. We wish more of our guests would take advantage of this one of a kind experience. To visit the Pueblo artists in their home and to be able to watch them at work and then sit down to a wonderful meal with them is something unique and special. We are so happy you joined one of the tours.

Another great experience is Bandelier National Monument and it's sister cliff dwellings at Puye. Puye has Native guides and is a great introduction to the ancestral dwelilngs of the area. Bandelier is self guided and really gives you a feel for what life was like for the former inhabitants of the Canyon. We are glad you got to go to both and enjoy the cliff dwellings of Northern New Mexico. To walk in the footsteps of the Ancient Ones is a truly moving experience.

We miss you and hope to see you back at your home away from home soon. We'll keep the ice ready for one of your special afternoon beverages! Thanks again for the wonderful review.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our first time visiting Santa Fe and I can't say enough about our stay at Casa Cuma Bed and Breakfast. This is the first time I have posted on Tripadvisor as I would like to let folks know about a great place just a third of a mile walk from downtown Santa Fe. Our visit would have been "ok" staying at a regular hotel but Shaan and Colleen and their B&B made the experience great. The room was spacious and clean and very well decorated and the hot tub was well used (by me). Colleen out did herself each morning with delicious breakfast offerings and we really enjoyed having our last breakfast with just them. Learning about the area and their interesting lives, The only disappointing part of the trip was that we didn't go to the ice cream shop that Shaan and Colleen have in town. We learned about this on our last morning with them and didn't 't have time to partake. We have been to many B&B's and this has been the best. Thanks Shaan and Colleen!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Wow! What can I say? Your review is amazing! Thank you so much!

We so enjoyed hosting you and especially the opportunity to sit with you during breakfast. That doesn't happen often for us as we are usually busy cooking and serving, but when we get the chance to join our guests, we always enjoy it.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and for signing up for Tripadvisor just for us! We hope to see you two again some time in the future.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Received warm welcome from Shaan who provided us with unbiased information, excellent maps, free museum passes, and fresh baked oatmeal cookies from Colleen. Enjoyed the comforts and decor of the Cowgirl room, with its proximity to the outdoor hot tub. Location was perfect for access to all the nearby restaurants, museums and activities. The delicious morning meals, enjoyed with the other interesting guests, included breakfast enchiladas, french toast, breakfast quesadillas, all with a southwestern flair. A home away from home, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallie_lippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We especially appreciate your note about Green Features. Living in the Southwest, you quickly become aware of how fragile the environment is and so we have taken steps to lessen our impact on the environment.

We recycle and compost, fertilize with chicken manure and composted scraps, leaves, etc. We also collect rain water to use in the garden. We are currently in the process of expanding our garden and while it is still not quite warm enough to plant yet, we have begun building up the soil in the beds and making a plan for crop rotation, etc. With the chickens at the back of the yard, and the garden space expanding, it's beginning to feel a little like an urban homestead! Lots of room for flowers and a few fruit trees to enhance our guests' experience. If you are interested in the other green practices we have, please visit our website where you can see our Environmental Initiatives listed under the Welcome tab at the top.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the Cowgirl Room. It's our smallest room, but it's loaded with charm. I personally love the arched entryway that leads to the bathroom, and with it's proximity to the hot-tub under the stars, it's perfect for a quick soak morning or night.

Once again, thank you for the great review. We are so happy you were happy here at Casa Cuma. We hope you will return soon and give us the pleasure of hosting you again.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were in Santa Fe last week and booked our stay at Casa Cuma B&B. It was our second stay here. In my first review, I wrote about the wonderful hospitality of the innkeepers - Colleen and Shaan. That hospitality only got better on our second stay. Shaan and Colleen totally made us feel welcomed and we felt right at home. We stayed again in the Santa Fe suite - which is super comfortable. Breakfast was, as always, delicious! The conversations and company (both of the innkeepers and other guests) were delightful! The B&B is conveniently close within walking distance to the Plaza. We walked to El Meson and it was a short but enjoyable walk!

Casa Cuma is definitely the IT place to stay when one travels to Santa Fe!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnamCara137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you. You're review is wonderful, like you!

We love having returning guests because it is like welcoming family home and it's always a pleasure. Returning guests bring experience and knowledge of Santa Fe to the breakfast table, which other guests love to hear. We love to catch up on what's been going on in the lives of our guests, and to have the opportunity to get to know them better is not an opportunity to be missed!

El Meson is one of the closest restaurants, and with it's Spanish tapas theme, a great place to have dinner. Being able to walk there, as well as to many other great restaurants, makes it even more enjoyable. No hassles finding a parking place or having to pay to park you car, as Casa Cuma is close enough to walk and we have free off street parking here.

We are looking forward to your next visit and to having more opportunities to sit and talk about life together. Thank you again for the wonderful review. See you soon at Casa Cuma!

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our family stayed in the casita of Casa Cuma for a week before Christmas 2013. The casita is well located, comfortable and spacious and has a well-equipped kitchen. Colleen and Shaan were most hospitable, friendly and charming. They provided good tips and advice about things to see and do around Santa Fe and, most of all, our breakfasts around the communal table were delicious and generous. Some of the other guests from elsewhere in the US we met were very interesting and friendly, which added to the experience. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, including when we had to extend our stay by an extra night. We felt we had received a real New Mexican welcome and would highly recommend Casa Cuma.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for the warmhearted review! It was a real pleasure to meet you guys and to have you here at Casa Cuma.

We love serving everyone at the breakfast table and hearing the wonderful conversations that our guests are having while eating. It is especially nice when folks from different countries and cultures find so many similarities and within a few minutes are friends. It's an honor to be a part of that.

We hope to see you and your family here again some day, and would like to thank you once again for the great review.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is the fourth year in a row that we have visited Santa Fe around Christmas. It's a very magical place during this time of the year. This was our first stay at Casa Cuma and it was memorable. Shaan and Colleen, the innkeepers, are very warm people who treat their guests as if they are old friends. Colleen cooked wonderful breakfasts and spent extra care preparing meals for my wife who has food allergies. We ate around a communal table with the other guests who were from around the world. Our conversations were one of the best parts of our trip. Shaan spent extra time with everyone making certain they were well informed about what to do and see in the area. We often spent our free time sitting at the table and talking with the two of them about anything and everything. It’s not often that you get a chance to meet new friends. Our visits to Santa Fe have been very special. Thanks to Colleen and Shaan this year was one of our best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougcram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

What an amazing review! Thank you so much!

We consider ourselves so fortunate to have the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people. I have said it many, many times, but I truly believe that we get the best guests. Many of our guests come back to stay with us repeatedly, and it is always so nice to welcome them back. It's like having family come home.

Christmas in Santa Fe is really special, with the Canyon Road walk and all of the farolitos and luminarias around town. The lights on the Plaza and the smell of pinon burning in fireplaces everywhere are just a few of the things that make spending Christmas here extra special. We feel honored that your stay at Casa Cuma helped to make your holiday wonderful.

Once again, thank you for the amazing review and for choosing Casa Cuma as your home while in Santa Fe.

Colleen and Davidson
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,462 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
632 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#1 of 37 in Santa Fe
474 reviews
Downtown
El Farolito B&B Inn
El Farolito B&B Inn
#2 of 37 in Santa Fe
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Address: 105 Paseo de La Cuma, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: £154 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Cuma! Serving you since 1984. An easy five minutes walk to the restaurants and ten minutes walk to the Historic Plaza, the center of Santa Fe culture. We offer four luxurious rooms at the main inn, all with private entrances and portals (porches) for your use, as well as two casitas (little houses) and a full house on a ridge. Free parking and free Museum Passes, a significant saving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuma Bed And Breakfast
Casa Cuma Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing