We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful mountain retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Memorial State Park

Hyde Memorial State Park
Ranked #31 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a breathtaking natural setting, this park is ideal for picnics and camping.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A peaceful mountain retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Attended our daughter's wedding at the lodge and had a marvelous time. Just 25 minutes from our hotel on Cerrillos Road in Santa Fe, the park was beautiful and offered a wonderful contrast to our mountain forests in New Hampshire.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sr_bigotes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Beautiful National Forest Lands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

A 10 minute drive from the Plaza and you are in the national forest! Fantastic for a simple pcinic in the woods or a full on backpacking adventure. Great day hikes, one hour hikes, and multi day backpacking adventures. Picnic tables, tent campsites, RV pull-ins, trailhead parking lots. Beautiful break from the tourist hordes!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been to this park a few times while visiting Santa Fe. The park is close to the city but yet you feel so far away. Yesterday we hiked the the West Circile Trail, the East Circle Trail and the trail to the waterfall. The entire hike took about 4 hours. We did the Waterfall Trail first. This was a nice, easy hike. Unfortunately, the trail creek was dry and the waterfall was down to a little trickle. It was very pretty but would have been beautiful to see a waterfall falling down the rocks.
Next, we hiked the West Cicle Trail. This trail was difficult. It took us an hour and a half to reach the peak. Straight up.....it was slow going with many rest stops so we could catch our breath. At the very top we found two picnic tables and a beautiful view. We ate lunch at the tables in the sunshine while being cooled by the nice breezes. Decending down the East Circle Trail was a quick and easy 20 mins! We did not see any wildlife on our trails nor anywhere else in the park. We're going back today for more hiking and wildlife searching. Great park but at times very crowded.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank XsuzqX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The camp sites are very close to the ski road ... so there really is little wilderness feel to the site. So if you are looking for seclusion I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

Multiple tent sites offer shelters if the weather really turns bad. There are chemical toilets on-site. Many of the tent sites offer a water spigot. The fee for the site was $10 per night, per car when we visited. Simply drop the money in an envelope and put it in the payment box.

We had a great stay and would certainly visit again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hannmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our favorite place on our recent vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came across this park on the NM state park website.
It is close to Santa Fe, but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. We camped in the north end of the park in site 35. It was beautiful and a close walk to a clean vault toilet. It was chilly that night, but we loved it! We loved how the air smelled like pine and how clean the park was. I never even saw a cigarette butt. We did a couple of the trails and especially liked the short hike on the waterfall trail. We will definitely go back the next time we are in the area. We paid the extra $10 to reserve a site, but there were lots of empty sites all around (middle of the week). I just wish we had stayed longer!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyde Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing