We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a beautiful, peaceful, historic place”

New Mexico Museum of Art
Ranked #18 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art lovers will delight in Santa Fe's many famous painters and photographers.
AZ
Level Contributor
512 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful, peaceful, historic place”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

There is no building in Santa Fe I love more than this one. The chapel at the west end is a great venue for seeing chamber music performances (although the benches are hard, the concerts are short!) The garden is lovely and shady on hot afternoons. The collection is interesting and varied, and they show new art as well as historic collections. And they have one of the best and most reasonable gift shops near the Plaza.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    156
    56
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“disappointed.....only half open”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Half the museum was shut down to view and they did not let us know about the cut in exhibits. Paying full price, I would call ahead and ask if it is fully open for viewing and if not then skip it for a later time, if you are visiting Santa Fe more than once. What we saw was good, but not exceptional. The beautiful courtyard art was the highlight. Easy to walk to in Santa Fe, it took us a little over 1 hour, easily, to see the part that was open. All the personnel were friendly and very open to talking about the art. Had many different art mediums and it does represent New Mexico art very well. Visiting Art Museums in different cities and states is such a pleasure for me, but I cannot feel anthing but disappointed in this visit to the New Mexicon musem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true favorite!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A wonderful place to visit with well done exhibits and lectures - easy location and rich programming

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKnorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Museum to visit if you have a lot of time”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Although this is a good overall museum experience, I would not put it at the top of my list. It gets better each year. There are also interesting special exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Art_lover_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tempe, arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fernando Pouted, Then Was Absorbed”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My young lover, Fernando, pouted at the prospect of yet another boring, boring museum - PAHleeze. But the 6 young artists, featured in six alcoves on the first floor got him hooked, especially when one involved using an "app" to access part of the art piece. There was also a New Mexico art through time that will satisfy those more accustomed to mainstream work.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bsintempe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing