We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good location, terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Louisville, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good price, good location, terrible room”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We wanted to stay near the center of town and it is about a 15 - 20 minute to the center plaza, which is totally doable. The room we had was dark and dingy with old carpet and flaky walls. The towels in the bathroom were super thin and looked like they have been used a million times.
The bed sheets appeared clean but weren't ironed, why bother if you have to change them every night, right?
I realize that this is a very cheap price for an otherwise expensive town, but if you can spare a few bucks, go a little more up-market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gisela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Gisela B - We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the room conditions you encountered. Thank you for sharing your review, and please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    34
    17
    14
See reviews for
23
63
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It is only a Motel 6 so we weren't expecting luxury, but this was fine. Clean enough, with pleasant girls on reception and we had no complaints.
Considering how close it is to the centre of Santa Fe it is a bargain. The parking lot was fine and within a 10 minute walk there are plenty of restaurants - we'd rather spend our money on good food than on a fancy motel.
It's certainly not worth paying double to be one or two blocks closer nearer to the Plaza (in our opinion)
Very close to Wholefoods supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is in a good location and easily walkable to the Plaza. I do not know why several others said it was not in walking distance, unless they were reviewing the other Motel 6 that is further away by accident. The Plaza is only half a mile away making it a very easy 10 or so min walk.

The Hotel is not bad, and for the price an excellent choice for economy lodging. The bad thing is that the pool no longer exists. It states still that there is a pool, but it has been paved over now, maybe to make more parking? Stayed here on the July 4th weekend and had no problems parking here either as others had mentioned.

The room was standard and it was nice to have a safe in the room. Only issue was our toilet handle was broken when we first got there and it wasn't able to be fixed. Reception did offer us another room right away, but we had already started to unpack, so we figured we could just deal with this little inconvenience.

The hotel directory book needs updating as well, it not only mentions the non-existent pool, but also advertises a restaurant near the back that is no longer there as well.

Other than these small issues (and the big one being the pool), the hotel is worth it and I would consider staying here again if I was ever in the area...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I put 5 stars here because when you want to go to a Motel 6 you don't look for any luxury, you are just on a budget, so my review is based on that. It turned out that our room had fridge, hair drier, ironing board and even a safe! Everything looked very clean and welcoming. They also left on the table two wonderful books on Santa Fe and New Mexico to browse. For $67 many motels don't even have the hair drier. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, they helped us find all the museums and points of interest we were looking for. Couldn't ask for more. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I paid about fifty-five bucks a night for two nights. Hotel is perfectly decent for the budget traveler. Close to downtown and all the sights--but not walking distance. You'll still have to take your car and park...which will cost you (there is no free public parking in Santa Fe). Room was comfortable, clean, and had the all-important fridge. Another Motel 6 is located on the same road about ten minutes away...it is about ten bucks cheaper per night because it is farther from downtown. That Motel 6, however, is close to a fine grocery store and plenty of restaurants...whereas this Motel 6 is close only to a gas station. (If I had to do it over again, I'd stay farther away for ten bucks cheaper...because with a car, what's ten minutes...?)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoder, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We pulled in with a uhaul and vehicle-in-tow. There was no place to park, turn around or even back out. I had to disconnect the vehicle and move both of them individually. The staff suggested that I park in the auto repair shop next door..The next morning we were called at 7:30 and asked to move the vehicles because the shop was opening. Still no place to park... The motel is in fairly bad condition. The carpeting needs replaced. The pool is in the process of being ripped out, creating even less parking area.

The motel needs to warn people aboutthe parking issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Came on vacation with my boyfriend and we stayed here due to the fact that its close to downtown. Its clean, big rooms, mini fridge and hair drier. Which i was surprised cause motel 6 have limited anemmeties . Also i loved the fact that I could walk a short distance to good restraunts like Thomasitas and Cowgirl Cafe. It was nice weather. The staff were very friendly and accomidating. Id stay here agian on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Downtown
Garrett's Desert Inn
Garrett's Desert Inn
#45 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King's Rest Court
#39 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown
Address: 646 Cerrillos Rd, I-25 Exit 282 to Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3028
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Santa Fe Plaza-Downtown New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing