We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fun for everyone”

Genoveva Chavez Community Center
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wow!! Swimming and ice skating and volleyball and basketball! Could be other things to do there but we did all of those things and just had a blast. we will definitely go again when we are back in Santa Fe!

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Karri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"therapy pool"
in 2 reviews
"day pass"
in 2 reviews
"track"
in 2 reviews
"blast"
in 2 reviews
"classes"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in Santa Fe for 4 nights. As a year-round swimmer, I was delighted to use the Olympic size pool every morning for just 6 bucks a day, since my community pool in MD is not that big. It was a treat! They change the lanes from length-wise to width-wise during the week, supposedly for those who have trouble swimming the full length. ? Regardless, I enjoyed my swim each day, and used the jetted and warm therapy pool to relax after my swim. The womens' locker room was fine. Wish they had a swimsuit spinner for drying one's suit afterwards -- but hey, the pool was fabulous! Can't wait to return when I vacation in SF again.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank SAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is truly one of the nicest public recreation centers I've ever experienced. It has essentially all the facilities and equipment one can imagine. However, accessing equipment on the weekends can be challenging, as is finding a parking space. Give yourself plenty of time, or simply skip the Saturday and Sunday morning workouts. Also, the front desk staff can use a little training on guest service. It's nothing an occassional smile or eye contact couldn't cure ...

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank lawrence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Genoveva Chavez Community Center is a beautiful community facility, complete with Olympic-size swimming pool, kids pool, sauna, adult hot tub, ice arena, basketball and racquetball courts, workout room, exercise classes of all types, and more.

One can enjoy these facilities by purchasing a day pass, monthly membership, three-month membership, yearly membership or prepaid pass card good for so many visits for certain activities (such as classes or ice rink). Fees have really increased since we first started working out at the Center several years ago, however, so we don't go nearly as often as we used to, especially during the busy times.

The Center can get really, really crowded in the summer months as there are various kids' programs offered that time of year, and during the week in early mornings or right after work many of the adult pool lap lanes fill quickly. The Center also fills up for special events, sports tournaments, and private parties: you can rent the ice rink, for example, for kids' birthday parties.

There is plenty of parking, and the Center is conveniently located in south Santa Fe.

Date of experience: April 2012
2  Thank DiveMoreWorkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Chavez has something for everyone. It isn't a private gym so you may miss those touches (towels etc), but it is second to none for facilities.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank craigbruce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genoveva Chavez Community Center also viewed

 

Been to Genoveva Chavez Community Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing