We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful gem of a find for staying near Santa...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Freeman's Cottage

Welcome to Freeman's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Freeman's Cottage
Pull in off McGregor Lane and park. Come up the walkway. . .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Welcome to Freeman's Cottage
Pull in off McGregor Lane and park.
Come up the walkway. . .
and come on in.
Put your things down in the living room (with convertible sofa bed).
where, on chilly nights, a fire will warm you,
and a cozy dining area  welcomes you.
To your left is the guest bedroom. . .
with attached full bath.
A full kitchen awaits the chef
with ample cupboard space for supplies.
To your right is the master bedroom. . .
With a large window banco (where small ones could sleep). . .
with  attached Master Bath. . .
and study.
Outside you can soak up some southwestern sun,
While here you can take a morning walk in the nearby arroyo...
and enjoy the evening serenity of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains.
Daytime attractions include nearby Shidoni foundry and Gallery,
local cultures,
and color
as well as Georgia O'Keefe's country come to life,
We hope you enjoy your stay with us! !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peggy C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem of a find for staying near Santa Fe, NM”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property was just as the owner described. A 2 bedroom with a pullout sofa in the living room. Plenty of space for me, my husband and our adult son. We had a 7 night stay and we felt right at home. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and brownies - a welcome sight after a long day of traveling. We were greeted warmly by the owner and felt that we could contact them if we had any questions.
We enjoyed the well stocked kitchen, the working fireplace and the chairs outside for relaxing. There is also a library full of local attractions and history of the Santa Fe area. The owner even provides a parking spot for downtown Santa Fe - right behind The Shed restaurant (which was also a good place for lunch), and was very appreciated when we realized how much of a premium parking is in the downtown area.
We visited Bandolier Nat'l Monument and the Bradley Science Museum in Los Alamos. We saw the Loretto Chapel, San Miguel Mission, the Davey Audubon center, the St. Francis of Assissi church, and many shops in Santa Fe. We also visited the Petroglyph National Monument and the Sandia Tram in Alberqueque. Tent Rocks was another hiking adventure that we did, and there are many other hiking options available.
Being able to take these day trips and then come "home" was a very good way to really enjoy our vacation. There was plenty of space in the house for people to be together in one area or to spend some time alone.
We would highly recommend this rental for anyone coming to the Santa Fe area - it is about a 10 minute drive from the busy downtown area. Would love to return to this area in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Peggy, Russ and Alex - We so appreciate your review. In fact, we'd like to hire you to do tours for our other guests. You hit all the high spots and more. Please come back...especially with Alex who fixes electronic stuff. Fondly, Margie and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario Y
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Our Favorite Santa Fe Home away from home””
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to spend Christmas in the snow, so we traveled to Santa Fe with my husband and our 4 children (ages 9-13) and our Yorkie and booked the Freeman's cottage.What a wonderful place to stay, we felt at home from the moment we arrived. Margie and Steve are spectacular host, with lovely accommodations! We loved the rustic charm of this Adobe guest house. Margie and Steve could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We were totally new to the area and enjoyed exploring with our hosts excellent advice. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable, it had even been decorated for for the Holidays. Wonderfully quiet very easy and quick access to downtown Santa Fe, Chimayo, Taos and Los Alamos. Strong WiFi signal if you still need to be connected! Definitely plan to return soon. Thank you for making our stay memorable, ahh and thank you for our bottle of wine and delicious brownie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you ,Rosario and Victor and children. It was a delight to have you stay with us. Do come back. Margie and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy J
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic place - very comfortable & quiet, captures Santa Fe ambience”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This home is the best of both worlds: country charm and quiet while only 10 minutes from the Plaza. It's spacious, easy to relax in, with good walking options from the front door. The owners' warm reception and hospitality greatly enhance a vacation there, and any kind of assistance is readily available. The kitchen has everything you need. Highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quiet
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wilfvogan
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for visiting Santa Fe, Taos & Chimayo”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a beautiful Adobe cottage in the quiet village of Tesuque on the outskirts of Santa Fe & close to the Opera. The owners were on holiday but their friends were there to welcome us & looked after our needs. The cottage was tastefully furnished & well equipped with nice garden & acres of land at the rear to wander over. The heating system was quick to respond to your needs & there was a log fire as well. The private parking space in Santa Fe was a extra bonus. After having busy days sightseeing this was a lovely peaceful haven to return to in the evening & have a BBQ or visit the Village Market Restaurant which was in easy walking distance. A delightful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tedinkeno...
Kenora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We haved stayed at Margie and Stephen's wonderful Freeman's Cottage for portions of three of the last four years. Over the years, we have travelled through 46 of the original 48 states. Why do we return to this address? Answer - because Sante Fe and environs are magic, Tesuque Village is an oasis and refuge, the "Cottage" is perfect in virtually every way and finally but very important Margie & Stephen Hughes are the best of hosts. Absolutely lovely people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, surroundings and amenities....Wifi hurrah.
Liked least: We had a single deer mouse visitor in 30 days. One sadly is too many.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing