We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumm-o-ramen (etc)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shibumi Ramenya - CLOSED

Shibumi Ramenya
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Description: CLOSED
NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yumm-o-ramen (etc)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We visited in August 2012, four of us for dinner. We arrived 30+ minutes early for a 7:30pm reservation (it was suddenly raining while we were strolling around downtown), so we agreed to sit at the small bar instead of waiting for our table. The host was gracious, and the barkeep a good guide to both the food and drink. We sampled VERY broadly across the menu - seaweed salad, sesame greenbeans, soft tofu, cod/potato croquette, roast chicken ramen, pumpkin, grilled squid, bbq shortribs, etc, along with flights of sake and a cold Japanese beer for the non-sake drinker. It was a convivial, and delicious dinner. Pricy, but worth it in terms of quality and companionship. Wish we had a spot like this near where we live!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CopperDogMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
330 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Top Ramen in Santa Fe...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Friendly place. Was seated with a party of three on a busy Friday night. Appetizers of pork dumplings and veggie tempura were stellar. Huge ramen bowls were too big for any of us to finish but took the remaining home. Beautiful space. Somewhat noisy in the main room. Excellent service. Only drawbacks: somewhat expensive and they only take CASH, no cards...be forewarned.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunriseAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great informal dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a small restaurant just down the street from the O'Keefe museum. We arrived about 9:30 PM and were greeted by the "energetic" owner-chef-host Eric. He is everywhere making sure the guests are happy. We were totally blown away by the quality of the food. We have visited Japan and our daughter trained there in a cooking school so our reference to japanese food is good. The tempura vegetables were perfectly done. We shared a bowl of ramen (this is not the stuff you get in packages) and were equally pleased. Informality is the rule and sit at the bar or counter- there are not many tables.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
442 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“It's a fusiony kind of place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We went to (Shibumi Ramenya, 26 Chapelle St., Santa Fe, NM 87501, tel. 505-428-0077, web: shibumiramen.com) because the chatter about it was good on the Internet. When Audre called for a reservation, she was told that the restaurant is “an odor free zone” and that it only takes cash. When we arrived we found a tiny place with tiny tables very, very close together. We were there early so we had our tiny section to ourselves at first. The menu is a “tiny dishes” kind of place so we had around six and shared everything. We saw no Japanese cooks, servers or anyone of Japanese descent. The owner is an American who got into Japanese food. While the food was good, we think it is audacious of the owner to think that he can have a serious Japanese restaurant. So, we’ll call it kind of a fusion place. We ordered a pot of the barley tea which we expected to taste like Japanese toasted rice tea. It didn’t; it was kind of tasteless. Our first dish was a fusion-kind-of-combination of tastes. We ordered the “Kushiyaki Barbeque Pork Belly with Eggplant” ($8). It was very good. With that we ordered the “Izakaya Gizzards with Spicy Curry” ($5.50) that was also very good. Next we ordered the “Izakaya Natto (Sticky Beans) with Quail Egg & Radish” ($6.50) which are soy beans that are fermented into a gelatinous concoction that we liked very much. With that dish we had the Yaki Grilled Wild Salmon ($12). It was nicely cooked and we enjoyed the flavors. The next dish, “Tempura Vegetable” ($8), was the only disappointing one. The tempura batter was too thick. The last dish we ordered was the Yaki Grilled eggplant ($5) which was also very good. By this time, the tables next to us were filled and we might as well have been sitting in their laps. The restaurant was also hot so we were uncomfortable. So we asked for our check and squeezed our way out. We spent $53.75. We would chose a more authentic, less fusion, Japanese restaurant next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Ramen Zen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

OK, first credentials, such as they are: I lived in and around NYC for 30 years and ate at some of the best Japanese Restos Manhattan has to offer (don't read expensive necessarily); also traveled to Tokyo extensively with similar experience. While Shibumi may not be 100% classical, the food is of top quality and taste, from the carrot/burdock root salad to the pork gyoza to the grilled eggplant. Having read so many reviews about the "bland" ramen, I have to say I totally disagree. Each ingredient in the pork ramen was well prepared and thought out to provide a rich and complex flavor. I can only surmise that either the quality is inconsistent (as I have only eaten there once), which I doubt given how good it was, or that other reviewers are not in the zen of the dish. It is subtle and requires well rewarded concentration to appreciate all of the effort and skill that has gone into the preparation. Contrary to other reviewers I thought the price was fair given the quality of the meal. I will be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shibumi Ramenya also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing