We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Santa Fe!”

Lavender Sunset Casitas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender Sunset Casitas
Newbury Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Santa Fe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in the Desero casita for four nights. It was cozy, CLEAN and quiet. Linda and Mickey (the dog) were there for whatever we needed. Loved having a jacuzzi, laundry, and BBQ at our disposal. SO CLOSE to the plaza, but not too close, ya know? We wandered into the La Fonda Hotel and saw all of the people who were staying there, paying $300/night and more, and thought, "If they only knew there was a better place to stay." I booked 6 months in advance and got a ridiculously low rate. Plan ahead and don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I took a four day trip to Santa Fe for our anniversary, and we stayed at the Lavender Sunset Casitas the entire time. I'm so glad that we did! We booked the "Amor" casita. It was so charming and comfortable, and all of our needs had been anticipated by Linda and Nadine--from the utensils in the kitchens, to a spare fan/heater, and even robes and extra towels for the jacuzzi they have on site. We were welcomed warmly, given great recommendations for restaurants and sites to see. The neighborhood was quiet, and the bed so comfortable! The casitas are perfectly located, too--just a few minutes from the Plaza, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown that the evenings were nice and relaxing. If we ever make it back to Santa Fe (which we would love to do), we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraHendrickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, california, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Casitas are exactly as presented online. Just got back from a 4 night stay there in June. Weather was 90 degrees plus daily. We rented Flores casita and Espiritu casita. What I am going to say results more in the weather-related issues. First of all, owner was very friendly and helpful. One can easily walk to several restaurants, and a local bakery(SAGE) for morning treats. Whole Foods is a 2 minute drive. Walk to town square was .7 miles, a little too far for the hot weather. Can easily walk to Railyard area. Now to the rooms. Our room Espiritu is well equipped, with everything one could need in the kitchen and in the living area. However, the air conditioner was an old wall unit, and we needed to keep the shutters closed all day and run the AC. We were comfortable for sleeping, and returning to our unit in the late of day. The other unit FLores had the AC unit in the bedroom area only, and the door needed to be kept closed into the living area, hence making that area too hot for the 90 degree days. In all fairness one of my friends thought the unit was way too hot, and the other thought only the living room area was way too hot. In either case, both friends would not elect to use that unit again unless the AC would be upgraded for the future IN THE HOT WEATHER. Obviously, at other times of the year this would not be an issue, in which case we all agreed that we liked the stay and environment and might return. Please also be advised that there is no daily maid service, and there is no pool. There is a small outside patio area with no view with seating for 6, a nice grill, and a hot-tub. There was also a washer-dryer that could be used. Our cost was just under $1,000. for a four night stay for 2 units, all taxes and cleaning fees included, so it was an excellent value for the price. I would definitely return, but possibly not in the hot summer. I also want to state that we did not ask the owner to move out of Flores due to the heat issues, but I am guessing that wish would have been accommodated if we would have asked.Again, we were very happy to stay at Lavender Sunset, and just in case this might be an issue for other couples, we were just all girlfriends meeting up, and not "couples". I would think any traditional couple would be very happy there. We went to ZIa Cafe one night for a light salad dinner and were very happy.It's a 3 minute drive to there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughespasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I could not have had a better experience staying at Lavender Sunset Casitas. We give it unqualified raves. Flores was a spacious and cozy dwelling - nice, big, sunny room with unbelievably comfortable bed, lovely full kitchen with table and two chairs, great bathroom with whirlpool tub and a delightful private patio. I miss it! Truly, the Plaza and Railyard and many sites are within easy walking distance. The neighborhood should be mentioned, too, as it was attractive and peaceful. We never had any trouble parking right in front of our casita. And Linda could not be more warm, welcoming and informative. If we are lucky enough to return to Santa Fe some day, we would base our schedule on availability here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nonnie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The casita we stayed in was wonderful - beautifully decorated and immaculate. It was close to the plaza and several art districts so it was easy to experience the best of Sante Fe at our doorstep. The casita was so cozy and relaxing with our private patio that we ended up staying in one night just to enjoy it! We would highly recommend it as a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Sage bakery within spitting distance (fantastic bread and good espresso), Vinegrette Restaurant if you walk through the gate directly across from the B&B. Whole Foods a short walk.

It is more convenient in many ways than the hotels on the Plaza. There are some very popular restaurants close to Lavender Sunset Casitas and you are still within walking distance of the Plaza. The train station is very close - if you are flying into Albuquerque, look into taking the train to/from Santa Fe.

We had a full kitchen that we didn't use. Nice big bath that we did. Water pressure was low but still more than adequate for a shower. Nice bedding (I'm a pillow snob and was not dissapointed), nicely decorated.

To think that it costs the same as a slightly upgraded Motel 6 on a main street (the one we originally booked).

Funky neighborhood - not a bad one. Just a little "mixed". Perfectly safe.

This will be our new home whenever we visit Sante Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanrg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The location was ideal for this couple of first-time visitors to the Southwest, with no car and little idea about distances and walkability. It's an easy stroll to most places, including the Rail Runner station for travelers arriving by train from Albuquerque (great to know for our next trip!). Linda is on hand to make you feel welcome, no fuss or phoniness here. We found our casita to be clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed. Our favorite nook was the private patio, where we had breakfast to the tune of birds and the rustling of leaves in the breeze. The Sage Bakehouse across the street is a fantastic option for light meals, and the Station Café at the Railyard has outdoor seating with a lovely view of the mountains. We were looking for a quiet and hassle-free setting, and we found it at Lavender Sunset Casitas. We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Sunset Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Sunset Casitas

Property: Lavender Sunset Casitas
Address: 619 Gomez Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location! Downtown Santa Fe. Historic adobe property, 6 casitas. Newly remodeled and updated. Modern amenities, wi-fi, flat screens, etc. All 6 are little different and wonderful in their own right. All have Jaccuzi bathtubs, and cool kitchens. Beautifully and comfortably furnished. Private patios, small dogs welcome. Espiritu casita 'clean' no pets! Very easy walk to new railyard, farmers market and plaza areas. Fall is here, you can smell the green chile roasting and the pinon smoke wafting from chimneys. The crisp, beautiful, sweet cold air, painting the mountains hot gold swaths with red accents as the aspens change up the ski hill...simply beautiful! Book now to enjoy this annual march forward with us! It's also never to early to book the holiday you've always wanted in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender Sunset Casitas Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing