We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the snapper?”
Review of Puerto Penasco

Puerto Penasco
Ranked #381 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
229 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Where's the snapper?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Used to love this place, but, recent dinner including snapper Veracruz had more olives than fish. Know oysters are out of season, so they just should not serve them when they are gray and musky. The beer is still cold, the service is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Flavorful Nice Surprise!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Very flavorful, authentic tastes, Every bite from salsa to entree to dessert. The Tacos was delicious even without any salsa. The cup of beans had flavor. Salsa had a nice bite without overwhelming the taste and spices.

A nice impressive Surprise. My husband and I enjoyed our lunch. Price was very reasonable for what we ordered. Huge servings. You may consider sharing to fit the dessert in.

Husband ordered the Seafood Relleno Special

I ordered the Tacos Costenos.

Dessert. flan covered chocolate cake. OMG

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank NM-Aviators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place!!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I love this place, great service, great good excellent micheladas. This is my favorite restaurant I'm glad to have a real Mexican seafood restaurant in Santa fe! I highly recommend this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Girl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Southside Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not expecting much, we stopped at Puerto Penasco for a quick lunch and liked it so much we brought friends back for dinner a few days later. Their specialty is Mexican Seafood and the shrimp enchillada was wonderful--stuffed with tiny, tasty shrimp and cheese. The service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was warm and hospitable. This might be a litle out of the way for tourists but it's a great neighborhood spot for the local southsiders.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank santafeshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We all liked the food though some apparently don't.”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Six of us had dinner at Puerto Penasco though it is on the other side of town from us. We all had something different and we all thought everything was really good. The menu is extensive and what I would call "Mexican Mexican" as vs. New Mexican or "norteño" food. They have a full bar as I recall but I wouldn't swear to that. I had an interesting bottled beer.

On another web site, I have read disparaging remarks about this place, so evidently some people don't like it. I don't know if it is a matter of you can't please everyone or what.

Wejust spoke to one of the couples that were with us before, and they had returned and reported that the meal they had was every bit as good as when the six of us had eaten there. My wife and I certainly will return for another try when we are in the mood for "Mexican Mexican" and have the time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank bezvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Penasco also viewed

 

Been to Puerto Penasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing