We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Santa Fe Treat”
Review of Dunshee's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunshee's
Ranked #11 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Big Santa Fe Treat”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My companion & I have stayed at Dunshee's many times, and it has always been a great pleasure. Its location is within comfortable walking distance of the Plaza but is not too close-you fell like a Santa Fe resident! This past time I took a stroll up northern Canyon Road & felt like I was almost in the country. Susan's delicious breakfasts and low key but always helpful hospitality are a wonderful component of the stay. I am looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mariannejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
91
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My girlfriend and I truly enjoyed our stay at Dunshee's. It was our first visit and we'll be back! Susan has a well-appointed casita with all of the touches of home. The breakfasts were delicious; homemade muffins along with fresh fruit, yogurt, healthy juices, breads, jams and hot beverages. There were homemade cookies too! The beds are very cozy and the entire casita is beautifully decorated. We were close enough to Canyon Road and the Plaza to walk to everything. We were there the last couple days in October and plan to return at other times of the year. Thanks to Susan for her hospitality and for being a super host.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I picked the location because it seemed to be near Canyon Road and we love galleries. And it is, but it is so much more. The home is beautifully furnished and located in a sumptuous old neighborhood which makes for a lovely stroll with Canyon Road only a couple of blocks away. In fact, we strolled to downtown without a problem. We stayed in the main house and really had much of it to ourselves - the large main room with seating area and dining table, plus large bedroom with seating area and fireplace. Just outside the living room French doors is a very attractive covered patio area with fireplace and a sizable garden. Perfect for outdoor dining or evening drinks. You view the garden from the bedroom as well. The bathroom is large and decorated with blue Mexican tiles and contains a coffee service. There's a small closet conveniently located nearby with fridge containing cream. We kept drinks in there. Above the fridge are mugs, wine glasses, bottle opener, etc. Susan is a gracious, friendly host and a marvelous cook. The breakfasts were very attractive and delicious and we enjoyed wonderful conversations with Susan while we ate. Anyone staying here is in for a real treat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluff, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

New Year's Eve 2001, was our first visit to Dunshee's. Alongside Susan's charmingly decorated Christmas tree, we welcomed in the New Year with a glass of wine in front of the kiva fireplace. Since then we have visited during Indian Market in August when Susan's gardens are full of color and breakfasts include homegrown vegetables and herbs. Most recently, we stayed in the Casita at the end of October. As always, the casual comfort was just what we like. The best coffee, granola, and bananas awaited on the sideboard, the refrigerator was filled with fresh fruits, yogurt, homemade muffins, artisan breads and jams, and a vase of Alstroemeria decorated the breakfast table. As good as ever!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I almost hesitate to sing the well deserved praises that Dunshee's earned from my family. Why? Because time is short and there is only one Casita and one B&B option! Still, pushing my selfishness aside, I have to tell you that, after booking a couple of days, we ended up extending our time and wishing for more. Susan is amazing and the kids were enamored with all of the fresh baked goodies. We felt both at home and pampered during our stay. Barring a completely booked up schedule, we will be back. I am hoping to make this an annual treat!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. There are parks and galleries and great restaurants nearby. You will enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelleyDD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Right off the bat, I have to say that my husband and I are unabashed fans.
We were lucky to find Dunshee’s B&B in the mid-1980s soon after it opened, and instantly fell for its sophisticated, rustic charm. Ringed with coyote fences and adobe and stone walls, the adobe Eastside compound, just off Canyon Road, has an inviting main house and flower garden plus a spacious guest house with its own shady terraces. Presiding beautifully over this colorful local gem is artist/proprietor/chef Susan Dunshee, who cares for her guests with graciousness and creativity. Since our first visit, we’ve been back nearly a dozen times. We even married at Dunshee’s 24 years ago!
Over the years, we’ve enjoyed both the Suite (half of the main house) and the Casita (guest house). We love the Suite for shorter trips and total pampering. Each morning, Susan serves a different, tantalizing gourmet breakfast, perhaps a luscious cheese souffle or delicate pancakes and fresh fruit. Then after a day of exploring, it’s back to the delights of home—the stylish rooms, witty folk art collection, rambling flower garden, and romantic portal.
By contrast, the charming Casita has two bedrooms and an eat-in kitchen stocked with breakfast treats, making it perfect for longer, more independent stays. One year we spent a memorable Christmas here with friends from Europe. We shared great times cooking meals together, hanging out, and opening Christmas gifts around a crackling fire. Ever generous and thoughtful, Susan even provided a big, twinkling Christmas tree for the living room!
Suite or Casita, we know we’ll find a welcoming retreat at Dunshee’s. It’s the perfect base for exploring historic Santa Fe and environs and a secluded haven for that afternoon glass of wine, evening fire, or quiet time gazing at the stars.

lindagb

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Dunshee's is a true Santa Fe experience. We stayed 3 nights, returning after 16 years. The B&B has a large living / dining room and large bedroom. You can walk out into a private patio and garden. It is very quiet. The living area, bedroom and patio each have a fireplace. The TV is in bedroom. Breakfast is served in the dining area. The food is excellent. It is a very short walk to the Canyon Road galleries and an easy walk into town. Susan is a perfect host -friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Highly recommended.

If you have AT&T be aware their cell coverage in east Santa Fe is weak to none. The B&B has Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunshee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunshee's

Property: Dunshee's
Address: 986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Dunshee's Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing