We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad breakfast, New Mexican style”
Review of Tia's Cocina - CLOSED

Tia's Cocina
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad breakfast, New Mexican style”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We ate breakfast here twice before we figured out what else was available. I'd rate it good, and a good value but not fantastic. Being tourists we slept in the first few days and were still accommodated for a "brunch" time breakfast with no hassles. I had the omelet with New Mexican sausage once, and the hauvos ranchos the other time. Both were good with the chili sauce. Our service was fast, but by the time we ate no one else was there. The plaza/street seating is fun because you can watch folks stroll by as you eat and wake up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chimayo Red Chili was outstanding”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved the chili so much we asked the owner if we could take a quart home. He personally packaged it up in ice for us the next morning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_and_Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Horrid New Mexican Food”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Really, we thought there had to be a camera watching us given how bad the food and service were in this place. The only reason they stay in business is the proximity to the Santa Fe main plaza and unsuspecting tourist crowd. Every aspect was nasty for lunch (the room is pretty, kind of like a trap-door spider's lair.) With the stiff competition in this area, they should be out of business within the year. We only went here by mistake because we confused this for Tia Sophia's. Damn Google maps!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
26 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Tom O”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is the restaurant above the Low and Slow bar at this hotel. We saw the sign advertising breakfast as "Original New Mexican" so we thought we would give it a try. Unfortunately, the restaurant was fairly full and only one waiter so the service was very slow. The table next to us wanted their food cooked a special way, New York style, so that caused a problem waiting for our meal. I feel this is improper in any restaurant, as you should try to eat what's on the menu and enjoy the different things. In our case, I had the El Plato de Chorizo, a Mexican spicy pork sausage in scrambled eggs and it was quite delicious. My wife had the Chimayo omelet with green chili and it also was delicious. Chimayo chilies have a different flavor then a lot of other New Mexican chilies so it was different. It came with papas fritas, beans and great cornbread. I didn't get the cornbread but delicious warm tortillas. There is a small balcony where you can sit outside but anywhere, even inside is good, as the food is what counts. Most of the items on the menu where from the Chimayo region which is north of Santa Fe, found on the high road to Taos. Breakfast for two came to under $24.00 with coffee and except for the fair service, we did enjoy the food. The scenic view from the patio is watching people walk to the Plaza. This hotel is located on Washington street, 1/2 block from the Plaza so it's easy to get to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Just needs some polish to be great”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very good menu, very similar to the one that recently disappeared at La Tabla (same chef). (Same desperate service, too.) Very nice upstairs space with every variation on unfortunate furnishings (but they look nice). (We switched tables twice and gave up, sitting at the edge of the seats to get a good position on a wobbly table.) Nice balcony that would overlook the Plaza area if the seating was a little higher or the wall a little lower. There was only the manager and the chef there as far as I could tell the morning we visited and about seven tables occupied. Everyone seemed happy but the manager was waiting tables and apologizing frequently. The red chile was excellent, the green just good. I'd eat here again because the food was so good but I wouldn't expect everything to be as tip-top as the flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tia's Cocina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing