We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class job”

Poeh Cultural Center
Ranked #57 of 269 things to do in Santa Fe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In 1988, the Pueblo of Pojoaque established the Poeh Cultural Center as the first permanent tribally owned and operated mechanism for cultural preservation and revitalization within the Pueblo communities of the northern Rio Grande Valley. The facility itself resembles a traditional Pueblo village with its adjacent art studio buildings and outdoor gathering areas. The Center emphasizes arts and cultures of all Pueblo People with focus on the Tewa-speaking Pueblos of Pojoaque, San Ildefonso, San Juan, Santa Clara, Tesuque and Nambe. The Poeh is a place for us to share our Tewa culture with guests from other cultures through our exhibits and events, and guided interpretive tours of our exhibits, facilities and lands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“First class job”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a small museum, just getting started really. But a great deal of thought has gone into building this. There are some wonderful tall photographs of dancers in the Buffalo dance at the entrance and some beautiful works of art inside. But the real star is the path that walks a person through the history of the tribe from caveman days to the outing of the Spanish. Our grandchidren, ages 8 and 10 loved that and insisted on going through it twice. I thought it very creative, although I do not care for the sculptures of the Indians. Why are their feet so huge? They look more like trolls than people. A famous artist did them, but I have seen other of her work and hate it. I thought it was very creative to run a stream through the entirety of the dioramas, connecting them. A pleasant stop, especially if you have children, and it is free, although we left a donation. No photos are allowed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fairly pathetic, except the excellent work by the students”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

They have their favored artist -- and she depicts Native Americans in an incredibly unattractive way. Why? I have absolutely no idea, but she does and her work dominates the museum such that you will want to head for the exit. You don't have to believe me, just look at the billboards as you approach.



However, if they have student work exhibited, you should see that. Many are gifted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank devideviq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Poeh Cultural Center & Museum is not well known, but is definitely worth visiting if you are in the area. The museum is located about 16 miles north of Santa Fe adjacent to US-84/285 in the Pojoaque (pronounced “po-WALK-ee”) Pueblo (Indian reservation), a few blocks south of the Cities of Gold Casino. If you are heading north from Santa Fe to Taos or Colorado, you will drive directly past the museum.

Poeh (pronounced simply “po”) means pathway. The main focus of the Poeh museum is a series of walk-through dioramas depicting the pathway through the various seasons of ancient Indian life. Each diorama contains partial life-size figures engaged in everyday activities, complete with animals, buildings, crops, trees, streams, etc. The final diorama ends ominously with the arrival of the Spaniards in the 1500’s, which marked the beginning of the destruction of the native culture. The dioramas were artfully created by artisans from several tribes in the area. I think children would especially enjoy this display. Unfortunately, photography is not allowed in the museum. The museum also contains a small theater showing a welcoming video that features the center’s founding director, who is also the Governor of the Pueblo. There is also an area with rotating exhibits and a small gift shop.

Admission is free but donations are encouraged.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RossmoorResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!! Must see!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We loved this small museum, tucked right ff the highway. There is no fee, but there is a donation box. There is a short film, and some pottery on display (and I think for sale) but what amazed e was the beautiful "diorama" of the Native American evolution. You walk through 7 or 8 rooms with displays of "the emergence", early nomadic life, agrarian life, conquest by the Spaniards,then Europeans, etc.....the dispassion are beautiful, and in a short visit you get the spence of hundreds of years of history. Kids would enjoy it with one interpretation by adults:-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,955 reviews
1,077 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,911 helpful votes
“Interesting, free museum of the Pojoaque Pueblo”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This relatively new museum/visitors center is on Route 285 north of Santa Fe. There are very good displays showing the history of the Pojoaque Indians and a museum with excellent art and crafts. The museum is free and there is free parking in their lot. There are also sculptures around the museum which has an adobe look on the outside. This is a good stop for an hour or two, especially if traveling to Taos or Bandelier National Park.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poeh Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Poeh Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing